We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A culinary journey not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Codium

Codium
Villarroel, 88 | Eixample, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
+34 934 51 09 50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #218 of 6,000 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $39 - $65
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Fremantle, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A culinary journey not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We came with our best friends from England We all love to cook and eat and to experience different styles of cooking Our degustation lunch here was two and a half hours of pure delight and a welcome refuge on a rainy day The service is welcoming and the waiter informative The food innovative and delicious and a bargain at €40 Dont miss this place when you are in Barcelona if serious eating is your thing.
Perhaps it would be nice for the chef to come out so we could have applauded him personally but here is our thanks virtually anyway.We will sing your praises to anyone visiting here

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    144
    30
    7
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“superb meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This restaurant is a little out of the way from the tourist part of the city, but is well worth seeking out as the food is innovative, and extremely good value for money. It is only a few minutes walk from the nearest metro station.The ambiance however was a little subdued for a saturday night which was a bit disappointing, although the warm service from the engaging host made up for this. if this was in the centre you would need to book weeks in advance at this price point

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent creative food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We just came back from a wonderful meal. The service was excellent. We ordered the specials: 1) anchoves in toasted bread with pomodoro, 2) oysters, 3) red snapper with shaved saffron sweet potato in a green sauce, 4) roasted lamb in a semisweet sauce, 5) a wounderful strawberry desert...all with an excellent bottle of cava...marvelous!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a great restaurant , fabolous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I enjoyed Codium very much , i found it through tripadviser and what a find ! All the dishes were spectacular , starting with the aperitifs , i have to say that the tuna tataki with wasabi ice cream was the best i ever had . For the second dish we ordered the rice with lobster , also delicious !!! But my favorite was the desert which was a chocolate coulan . The staff was very friendly and surprizingly the restaurant was quite empty . Till next time codium

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

On the last day of our trip to Barcelona, we went back to Codium, which we visited in the beginning of this year. We remembered the signature dish "tuna tataki" but we were very surprised to find out the waiter actually recognized us. We decided to go for the degustation menu. For only 40 euro this is an amazing deal, considering the quality and presentation of the dishes. Combined with the personal service, I would highly recommend visiting this restaurant to any food lover.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Codium also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Codium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Codium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;