We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dinner but a little disapointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'arros

L'arros
Passeig Joan de Borbo 12, Barcelona, Spain (La Barceloneta)
(+34) 93 221 26 46
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,661 of 6,427 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: La Barceloneta
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good dinner but a little disapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had two dinner specials with different paellas and an a la carte paella. I definitely suggest the dinner specials, if only because the a la carte paella (19 euro) was the same size as the dinner paellas. With the dinner special (15 euro) you got an appetizer and a dessert, plus a main dish. So the dinner special is a much better value.

The paella was fine, but we have had better paella elsewhere. The rice was slightly dry and the amount of other fillings (fish, seafood, vegis, etc.) was a bit slim.

The staff was friendly and the atmosphere was nice. We sat inside, but in slightly warmer weather it would be very nice to sit outside.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    105
    45
    29
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kiev
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Undercooked paella”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I wasn't good idea to come to this restaurant, we ordered 3 paellas and all had undercooked rice(((( the price for each was 18-19 euros which is quiet expensive. Service wasn't bad, but general impression is unsatisfied.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great paella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

After a disappointing paella at 7 Portes, we searched for a truly good paella and found L'arròs. It lived up to our expectations. We finally had great paella. The outdoor seating was enjoyable. I also liked the attention we (and the other diners) got from the owner. It made us feel appreciated.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Good food and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We got an outside table at this restaurant. The staff were friendly and helpfull. We just had bread and main course here but were given anchovy appetisers. I had slow roasted lamb which was beautiful, it was so soft, tender and sweet. The sauce an vegetables that were roasted with it were lovely, my husband had a seafood paella which he said was brilliant. At the end we didn't want and dessert but were given a free glass of cava each, lovely pace.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We chose this restaurant because of the Tripadvisor reports advising that they offer individual paella - a rarity in Barcelona. There is both inside and outside seating (we chose inside) and offers excellent service and food; best evidenced by the Spanish businessmen who were lunching with clients. If it is good enough for the local businesmen to take clients to then it is certain to be good!

We had the seafood paella which was excellent and a salmon/bacon/gorgonzola combination which sounded unusual but was delicious.

It is located on a road that leads to the beach which is where we headed after the meal. On the way to the beach we passed many restaurants lined up one after the other that were filled with tourists - no way did they get the excellent local meal that we did!

Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'arros also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to L'arros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'arros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.