We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Ethiopian Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Addis Abeba

Restaurante Addis Abeba
Calle de Vallespir, 44, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
+34934094037
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Restaurante Addis Abeba is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 6,910 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Ethiopian Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Being a big foody but never having tried Ethiopian food before, I was keen to visit Addis Abeba from TripAdvisor recommendations.
What can I say? I wish there were 6 stars! Amazing amazing food served on a pancakey type bread in lots of flavours to try a broad range of new foods. The service was impecable - they offered us a free additional vegetable dish, tea and after-dinner liquor, all with a smile! I had to physically stop myself going back there during my trip as there were so many other places in Barcelona to try - a must visit!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    73
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food (veggie too) near Sants train station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have lived in BCN for 30 years and found this place by accident. It is on Calle Vallespir, just a short walk from Sants train station. There are lots of ethnical restaurants in this area, but this place is run by Ethiopians and their culinary offer was amazing. It is small and cosy with friendly staff and very different from anything I have experienced in this city. There are no "tables" and no knives and forks.... So your food is delivered on a huge round tray, with a type of corn bread dripping over the edges... Wash your hands because you are going to eat with your fingers and share this tray with your partner!!! Amazing tastes, amazing experience to share food and if you want it to be simply vegetarian, their offer is super from simple to spicy.
The price is great too, 12€ per person - we had the "menu degustacion" TWICE!!!, with 2 beers each, dessert and coffee - far too much food :-). Take my advice and pop in if you are in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I really like Ethiopian food, and between the two Ethiopian restaurants in Barcelona, I prefer this one, I just like the food a bit better. The place is cute and the owners are friendly, although occasionally a bit overzealous (if I have told you the first time that everything was really nice, I'll probably won't change my line although you ask two times more ...)
I don't have any complaints, although people really have to know what they are getting into:
Folks, you're going to a restaurant with low wooden stools and you will eat with your hands, so be prepared!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Dinner in real Ethiopian style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Some reviews on Tripadvisor made us curious about this restaurant when we looked for a nice place to it in the neighbourhood of the bar we were having a drink. The restaurant doesn't have tables and chairs, but typical Ethiopian "hats" for tables and benches and hand-crafted wooden stool to sit on. The menu is simple (only 4 combinations) and makes sure you get a good selection of all the food they serve. The food comes really quick and is served in little piles on a big pancake. You eat with your hands! For this reason there's a sink in the back.
Go here for a rather quick meal if you'd prefer something else than the usual Western food. Because of the traditional furniture this restaurant doesn't seem suitable for elderly people or people having back problems.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Ethiopian food in barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

If you want to have a first introdution to ethiopian food, that's the place. They use mediterranian ingredients, and the mix with ethiopian cusuine it's fantastic. Best part the restaurant itself, the atmospheremis so cozy, it's small but you can find locals & ethiopians all. Mixed.

Just for a different night out

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Addis Abeba also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurante Addis Abeba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Addis Abeba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.