We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, classy accomodation in a quiet but central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - BCN Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - BCN Suites to your Saves list
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - BCN Suites
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Grassot 4, 08025 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 708 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, classy accomodation in a quiet but central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed with three other friends. For sharing groups it's great value. The apartment was very modern, with comfy beds and a lovely patio. The staff were also very friendly and welcoming. The only fault I could find was the lack of kettle- and we bought the wrong kind of coffee for the espresso machine. The location is 5 mins from Sagrada Familia, a 30 min stroll through lovely Gracia to "the Gaudi Park"- and perhaps 30 mins walk down to the harbour/beaches. A taxi back from Barri Gotic was about 7 euros. Will definitely book again next time I'm in Barca.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - BCN Suites, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for this lovely comment.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your experience with Eric Vokel while your stay in Barcelona.

On the other hand, I am sorry to hear that you couldn´t found the kettle on your appartment as we always provide one in each apartment.

I also want to take this opportunity to recommend you to try our apartments in Madrid, I think you will love them!!

Thanks for your attention-
With best regards.

Elena Lubián.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    124
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
181
76
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed at the Eric Vokel Apartments for 4 nights in March 2013.

There are some really strong points for these apartments. They are modern, well-located and the service, while not by hospitality professionals, is still friendly, warm and eager to help.

The apartments themselves are not by any means large, but are comfortable, with two small bedrooms, two functional bathrooms, a dine-in kitchen and a small TV room. They would be reasonably sized for a couple or family with a couple of small children. I would not recommend even the two bedroom apartments for couples travelling together - they are not large.

The fit out for the apartments is pretty good, with modern furnishings and most of the cooking utensils that you'll need. Internet is fast and free.

There are, however, some major flaws that would probably stop me coming back here. The most significant of these is the complete lack of sound proofing. You hear every noise from the road outside, and any movement in the apartment upstairs echoes through your own. This severely impacts sleep quality.

Amazingly in what is already a very noisy space, they management have chosen to pipe music into the stair-wells, so you sit in your apartment with the tinny sounds of Spanish guitar as your constant background. I asked repeatedly for it to be turned down and finally on the third day they reluctantly dropped the volume a couple of notches.

Cleaning is also a serious issue. My bathroom was smeared with old soap and there was dirt in the kitchen. I'm really not that precious on the issue and it has to be pretty bad before I notice it. The second bathroom also smelled dreadful.

Overall, you could do much worse than the Eric Vokel but I feel that there are better options out there. I will probably go with another choice next time I am in town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - BCN Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for your comment. It will help us a lot.

We were checking all the points you said and we are very sad you did not enjoy as we expect for you.

You inform us about the music and we make it lower but you are right and we could try another kind of music, maybe a kind of chill-out music.

Regarding the cleaning, it is something which we work very hard on it.

In general, we are very dissapointed for all the things you say and it could be a nice pleasure to welcome you again and make you to stay in the conditions we want for everybody.

Sorry again if we did not offer what you expect.

Kind regards,

Irina Quero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our apt had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, dining area, living area and a balcony! Very clean and comfortable. Only 5 minutes walk to Sagrada Família!! We have a chance to visit Barcelona next time, we are staying at this place for sure!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - BCN Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you comment!!

We love your stay was so great in your visit in Barcelona.

Please, do not forget to check our website to see another Eric Vökel locations, for example Madrid, and check our promos for your next visit!!

We hope to welcome you again in the future, which is something we do not doubt.

Kind regards,

Irina Quero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumont, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was my second time to Barcelona (my sister's first) and we absolutely loved our stay at the apartment. We stayed for 5 nights at the penthouse room in BCN Suites and the apartment was absolutely incredible. The size of the apartment was perfect for the both of us and even though we didn't take advantage of the balcony because of the weather, the remainder of our stay was great.

The only thing I would comment on which would be a nice to have, is for the apartment to have a TV in the bedroom (it currently only has it in the living room). Also a full size mirror. Aside from these 2 things the apartment is actually beautiful and convenient in walking distance to most places.

Thank you for our stay! We will def return hopefully in the near future!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - BCN Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you contribution!

We love you enjoyed your stay in our apartments.
Regarding your suggestions, we think they are very interesting so we will take note for the future.

We hope to make you enjoy another stay in our apartements!

Kindest regards,

Irina Quero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good location between two different metro lines-Clean and well stocked apartment utensil wise, however our 'nice balcony' had a bed in it so we could not use it. The 'I-pod dock' was actually a usb port on the back of the television. The heating came on in the middle of the night and no instructions on how to reset. The sofa was actually a sofa bed and was uncomfortable. 'Complimentary toiletries' consisted on one tiny bar of soap and one small tube of shampoo.
So really quite basic overall and if they want to call them selves 'boutique', they will have to up their game and provide an apartment worthy of the title. So I wont be recommending these apartments to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - BCN Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to apologize for all the inconveniences we caused you as we understand you did not enjoy your stay in our apartments. In another way, comments like this help us to be better.

Regarding the I-pod port, we inform you we do not have them and that we are currently checking all our websites and agencies to avoid wrong information about our facilities.

About toiletries and amenities, we are working on it and try to offer to our guests something better.

Finally, it would be great to receive a personal e-mail to our e-mail address because, all the things you said are very helpful for us, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you in the future in our apartments in Barcelona or Madrid.



Kindest regards,



Irina Quero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spent 7 nights here on a family trip of 5. After reading the great reviews here and then having stayed there, I was very much disappointed. Location is not bad being a short walk away from the La Sagrada Familia and the Metro, plus the supermarket just off the street was a real bonus. However, there weren't a lot of food options in the evenings which meant that we had to stay out till late to eat elsewhere before returning.

The apartment itself was well stocked with utensils and electrical equipment. It was also generally tidy and well kept. As there were 5 of us, one of us had to use the sofa bed which was uncomfortable and really could not provide a good night's rest at all. The mattress was so thin you could feel the springs indent your skin!

The common bathroom smelt of sewage and nothing was done about it despite having reflected this to the concierge. Furthermore, we had an awful shock on our first night when we ran out of hot water whilst my mom was in the shower! Apparently the 15L hot water tank was supposed to provide sufficient hot water for 6, but clearly this was not the case. Imagine water turning ice cold in the middle of winter! For the rest of our stay we took hurried showers so as not to run out of water.

Receptionists were extremely helpful and friendly and were always there to tend to our needs whenever required.

Overall I'd say it was a fair experience at this accommodation and I probably wouldn't recommend it for more than 4 travelers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - BCN Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for your comment.

We are very sorry you had a regular-bad stay with us for the uncomfortable things you mention.

Please, take note we will see all the points you mentioned to improve them!!

It would be so nice to welcome you again and make you to stay in our apartment and enjoy as we want for everybody.

Our apologies if we did not offer what you expect.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent four nights at Eric Vokel BCN suites. As we now have teenagers having the extra space and comfort of these apartments was fabulous. However, the hot water supply was not sufficient for the four of us to have successive showers. So if possible, split showers over morning and night or allow time for the hot water to reheat between showers. The tasteful decor and comfort of the apartment added enjoyment to our holiday. The after-hours check-in worked seamlessly for us. We purchased the special package which included a simple breakfast at a local cafe and one day of travel on the on-off tourist bus. I believe this was good value. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - BCN Suites, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for your comment of your stay.

We appreciate you had a great stay with your teenage guys, enjoy our special offer and the city tour and you expent a great journey with us!

Please, do not hesitate to check more promos in our website and welcome you in the future.

It would be a great pleasure to inform you we have more apartments, for example in Madrid, with great distributions for all your family and enjoy a new trip in Spain!!

Kind regards,

Irina Quero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - BCN Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - BCN Suites

Address: Grassot 4, 08025 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 708 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - BCN Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eric Vökel was born in Copenhagen. Architecture and design are his life. He regularly works with major Nordic design studios and during one of his trips stopped off in Barcelona: he was captivated by its architecture, culture and Mediterranean colour. Such was the impact the city had on him that he decided to stay and carry out his latest project: Eric Vökel Boutique Apartments. Each of the apartments has been personally designed and decorated by Eric in a style that is a unique mix of functionality and the beauty of Nordic design with all the creativity and spontaneity of Mediterranean design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Escapio, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - BCN Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Bcn Hotel Barcelona
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - BCN Suites Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - BCN Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.