We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Fish

Big Fish
Carrer Comercial, 9, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (El Born / La Ribera)
+34 932 68 17 28
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Big Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,147 of 6,870 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $43 - $54
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: Our concept is to offer the best wild fish which has been bought at the best harbours we have in Barcelona. In BIGFISH we work with two kinds of cooking; the Mediterranean one, which is based in fish and season vegetables and the Japanese where we prepare the best sushi you can ever try it´s an explosion of delicious flavors. Our sushi is the best quality because we work with the best kind of fresh tuna fish in the market. (Bluefin). Bluefin is the best tuna fish in the market, and the one who japanese only look after for its quality, for this reason we work with this kind for making Sushi and for cooking. Everything goes well with a little selection of wines, very well done, perfect with all things we offer you.
Salta, Argentina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We tried it because it was a few steps from our hotel and we had a pleasant surprise.
Full with young people. Great food. Try the little octopuses, the sushi and the fish.
It was very nice to seat inside as it is ouside, "al fresco"

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laliplace, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Big Fish, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Many thanks for your sweet comment, we do love happy customers that appreciate our hard work. We truly hope you enjoyed you stay in Barcelona. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    83
    39
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a very enjoyable lunch at Big Fish. Would recommend if you enjoy sushi. The staff were friendly, they spoke English and recommended and helped us with our choices.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laliplace, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Big Fish, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thanks so much for recommending us, we do our best every day to offer best quality meal and best customer service possible. We are pleased you had a great time with us. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Refreshing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Delicious! Having had more traditional Catalan food and tapas for the preceding days, Big Fish was a refreshing and delicious choice.

Had no reservation, but there were just two of us and the staff graciously found us a table. The restaurant, inside and out on the patio, was busy.

Wine was great and reasonably priced, food was fantastic. Had a couple of the appies, some sushi, tenderloin and a dessert - all were flavourful and fresh. Service was prompt and friendly. definitely recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laliplace, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Big Fish, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thanks so much for recommending us, we love our customers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Amazing sushi and athmosphere, beautiful room, nice people. Perfect!... If you have a friendly budget ;)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laliplace, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Big Fish, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Top end fish eatery with informal upbeat vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Not cheap, but the fish was beautifully cooked and melt in the mouth. The atmosphere is friendly (staff consisting of hunky swarthy tattooed men and very friendly young girls). We arrived early evening and the restaurant filled quickly, taking the staff by surprise, service suffered. As the evening wore on they relaxed and became more happy, friendly and attentive. Beautiful setting. A good place to go if someone else is paying!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laliplace, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Big Fish, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your coming and leaving such a nice comment! Although we do believe that prices are reasonable since all the products are high quality. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Fish also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Big Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.