We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moments at Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Moments at Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Passeig de Gracia, 38-40, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
+34 93 151 87 81
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Moments at Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #349 of 6,428 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Eixample
Description: Key to Chef Ruscalleda’s success is the inspiration she finds in fresh produce; her culinary team search daily for the season’s finest. The Moments menu features traditional dishes from the Catalan cookbook such as arroz caldoso (rice dish with broth), fricandó (veal stew) and suquet (fish stew). The dining room is an ultimately chic space; gold and amber touches glint in the bright daylight and shimmer in the evening.
Barcelona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Really not logic price for the service you get. A good restaurant is not only the food, it is the decoration, it is the attention, it is the table situation, it is also the lighting, and it is much more...
They charged us practicly 180 € for each person and we had a drunk man (they said... He was an habitual clients!!) besides us all the dinner time which was really anoying and disturbing, and anybody controlled him. Lights were too focus on the face of one person. Meal was good but we were not even offered for the current menu, only the gastronomic part. Price too expensive according to the level shown of the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    47
    19
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“outstanding chef!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

One of the 3 best restaurants in provincial Barcelona. This is a proper, eloquent, 2 michellin star rated establishment. I have eaten in Moments since it first opened and it is constantly evolving forward towards culinary perfection. The main chef Raul Balam is always present, and thats very comforting knowing you will be spending a hefty sum. In this restaurant you pay for the amazing decor and the best location in Barcelona, and obviously the best food.
The larger tasting menu is the best way to immerse yourself in this modernised catalonian culinary symphony. My favourite dishes are the potro- horse meat, and the carillera, which I believe to be one of the finest most delicate meat dishes I have ever had. The cheese selections and pairings are outstanding and so are the snacks. The wine list is extensive and coherent. I keep coming back because it is always good, the service and the maitre impeccable. A gold standard.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing memorable birthday meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Initially we were hoping to try the Michelin 3 star restaurant in Sant Pau, run by Carme Ruscalleda, but since we didn't have enough time to make a day trip out of it, we decided to try the Barcelona restaurant that is run by her son Raul.

Wonderful service right from the get go. We had the tasting menu with the paired wines menu. A few dishes came without wines and we weren't told, until we had to ask (awkward). Otherwise the Sommelier did a great job with the pairings (even had a beer mixed in). Dishes were all delicious and beautifully presented. Ultra fresh seafood dishes. The duck was better than the sauce filled meatball. Amazing desserts (4 course all together), best cheese pairing plate I've ever had (highly recommend at 10 Euros).

I did email them earlier during the reservation and again to confirm the reservation a few days earlier, that it was a 40th birthday and if they could do something special for the occasion (eg. dessert dish, etc), but nothing was done or mentioned at all. The chef Raul did come out to greet us afterwards with the maitre d' doing the translation. Overall highly deserving of the 2 Michelin stars.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Beautiful interiors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Service was attentive, competitively priced. An oasis of calm in Barcelona walking off the busy streets you are greeted by calmness and funky interiors, professional staff. Understated luxury.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A deserve 2 Michelin star. Creative and delicious.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

My first dinner in Barcelona! Great wine recommended ! A Priorat ! Taste is unique and creative! Service us excellent. See my pictures and u know how delicious. Go for tasting menu.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moments at Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Moments at Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moments at Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.