We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Production Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda del Port Olimpic

La Fonda del Port Olimpic
Moll de Gregal, 7-10, 08005 Barcelona, Spain (La Vila Olimpica del Poblenou)
93 221 22 10
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,554 of 6,069 Restaurants in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: La Vila Olimpica del Poblenou
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Big Production Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Looking for a good restaurant in Barcelona this restaurant was recommended to us by the hotel staff. I got there with a friend and it was quite empty (it was 7:30pm). The waiter warned me not to take so long to come backk since it could get pretty full. Didn't believed him and were back an hour later only to find just a few tables left (this is a huge restaurant with 700 seating capacity). I have to say the service was excellent, our waiter was very friendly and efficient and food kept coming promptly. We had the 26eur. menu which included 4 appetizers (nice portions), 2 entrees and 2 desserts. We ordered the goat cheese salad, calamari rings, garlic shrimps and grilled langostinos. Everything was very good. Then, and this is the only reason didn't gave them an "excellent" rate, the fish I ordered as entree was kind of cold (has to return it to be heated) and my friend's beef was too rare (she ordered medium well) but then after that there were ok. We were offered an after dinner drink and little cake squares by the house with dessert. Our bill came for 67eur. which is not bad considering we also had a bottle of wine and water. Yes, I could eat here again anytime. (Also have to try another rest. down that line called "El Cangrejo Loco"(The Crazy Crab) which also had heard strong recommendations).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    236
    97
    54
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Waterfront Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent. Service is exceptional. Seafood was fresh and well prepared. Wonderful ambiance. La Fonda was packed; other restaurants nearby were vacant; that says a lot about La Fonda,

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time and money here !!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our second day in Barcelona and we thought of trying the seafront .. It was a total disappointment .. The bread which is served at the beginning was soggy with olive oil and tomato .. Fish was fresh but we have definitely eaten better tasty fish than this .. Sangrilla didnt have much fruits was just diluted with Ice and 2 slices of tangerines. Patata bravas which is actually supposed to be served with spicy tomato sauce is served with some salad dressing and chilly powder !! Monkfish is served undone not sure is that the way u are supposed to eat it . I have always eaten fish well cooked ! We have definitely eaten better fish and hot tapas . It's a total waste of time and money ..

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“YES, YES, YES - have at least lunch here !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

MOST IMPORTANT THING - at 1:00 pm the place gets full within minutes, so get there earlier or make a reservations (really !).

The food (especially seafood) is just lovely - the lunch menu is 26 EUR per person and includes 4 startes per table (Cesar's salad is quite good, so are clams and fried prawns) and a main course (to be chosen from a quite a long and solid list - it did include a lobster :-) - see pictures).

The service is good and fast enough, with nice attitude - you will fill quite relaxed and comfortable.

The wine selection is wide enough to match almost every dish served.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good Food, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was a recommendation by a local who went regularly for family Sunday lunches. It is one of many large restaurants in the Port Olimpic area but we hit it on a bad day. A party of four, we booked early by Spanish times so the restaurant was nearly empty. We chose our meal and waited. After 45 minutes the main course for two people came, The other two had to wait another 15 minutes and both their orders were incorrect. Our waiter was then replaced and the new waiter made strenous attempts to recover the situation including a free dessert. His efforts were undone when the bill came and they had charged us for five main courses.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda del Port Olimpic also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Fonda del Port Olimpic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda del Port Olimpic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.