We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda del Port Olimpic

La Fonda del Port Olimpic
Moll de Gregal, 7-10, 08005 Barcelona, Spain (La Vila Olimpica del Poblenou)
93 221 22 10
Improve this listing
Reserve with
La Fonda del Port Olimpic is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,532 of 6,036 Restaurants in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: La Vila Olimpica del Poblenou
Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Restaurant was full with locals, food was great, especially the " black" paella. Service was efficient and friendly and the price not cheap but also not expensive. The portion are generous A great place by the Olympic port .

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    228
    92
    49
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Service and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Happened to come across this restaurant on the off chance as all the others nearby had hosts that were so pushy standing outside! I have to say our experience was fantastic. Food was amazing, atmosphere was brilliant and the service was second to none even though they were busy. All the staff made us feel welcome and they all made the effort to speak to us in English. Would highly recommend this to anyone who is after traditional Spanish sea food.5*

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We loved this gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were starving and staying in the Olympic Village so just wanted to find a restaurant and eat good food. We managed to fend off the overjealous greeters trying to lure you into their restaurant and came across La Fonda. To be honest, we chose it not only because of its menu but also because of the fact that no one tried to lure us in!

We chose some tapas and a fresh grilled fish. The bass was presented to us and looked very fresh. We told our very friendly waiter that we wanted our fish cooked lightly (i.e. do not overcook our fish!) and he understood what we were saying. When we were ordering tapas, he very politely told us that we were overordering --- we appreciate that!

The jamon iberico he recommended was the best ham we had in all of barcelona. Moreover, the octopus galician style was excellent - so tender and tasty! the calamari was great as well. The sardines/anchovies were definitely too salty for us though. When our fish came out, it was PERFECTLY cooked and so tasty with its garlic and red pepper sauce!

To end, we had the almond cake squares which were delightful. It was a great experience overall! A special shout-out to our seats, we were seated on the bottom part of the restaurant near the entrance so we could see all of the tourists walking by and stopping to stare at the biggest fresh monkfish arranged outside the tent of the dining area. It was very funny to watch people interact with the monkfish!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not fresh seafood and overrated.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I came to this restaurant after seeing the reviews and this'turned out the most disappointing dining experience in out trip. First of all the seafood quality is not as good as what we've read on the reviews, especially considering it's featured as a seafood restaurant. We ordered a platter of assorted seafood which costs around 28 euros. What we got contains:three or four little tiny mussels I've ever seen in my life, several thin meatless crab legs, one razor clam, meatless as well, and two fish fillets, which were greasy and not fresh. The platter come out festive but once you get to it, you'd find that the shells of the seafood took most part of the plate and you are left with just very little real food which is not as fresh at all. We also ordered a pealla because we don't want to leave with half full stomach since it's already late and this would be the last meal of our day. The fisherman pealla is okay but nothing special, only for the purpose of filling up our stomachs. One other downside is that if you get around the city by metro, please avoid visiting during late night. It's a ten minutes walk between the restaurant and metro stop and we barely see people on the street, it's a walk that you dont feel safe to take. We got targeted by two guys when we got on the subway at the Olympic port stop and almost got robbed. The route seems not so many passengers int late night and could be scary if you got targeted.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We came here on recommendation of our hotel and the food and service was superb, we had 4 different tapas to start then the mains and a sweet each and with drinks the whole lot cost less than 65euro. we cant fault that.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda del Port Olimpic also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Fonda del Port Olimpic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda del Port Olimpic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.