We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow and dirty.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of GoCar GPS Guided Tours

GoCar GPS Guided Tours
Passeig Pujades 7 (bajos), 08018 Barcelona, Spain
+34 932 69 17 92
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$24*
and up
Ranked #200 of 546 Activities in Barcelona
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: GoCar is an entirely new way to explore a city. These nifty yellow convertibles talk to you and take you on a city tour you'll never forget. The advanced navigational capabilities of the GPS deliver an informative tour, high-lighting specific locations throughout Barcelona as you drive. Just follow the friendly audio directions and relax
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Slow and dirty.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Not as fun as I thought. You notice the pollution in the city as every bus chucks fumes straight out in your face. And also my husband had to get out and walk when we went up steep hills.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoCar_ToursBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GoCar GPS Guided Tours, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear JulieP

The majority of our customers consider that the GoCar is a lot of fun and had an amazing experience. Its unique, funky and sportive design makes it look really cool but of course it means you’re a little bit below the regular height of a normal car. We’re very sorry that fumes were such an issue for you, the Barcelona traffic and the air quality is absolutely normal for a city this size and we can’t control that, but we will definitely pass on the constructive criticism to the city council.

However, upon arrival all of our customers have the possibility of taking one of our electric cars which are higher, have no fumes or noise emissions and are very city-friendly. On other hand we are deeply sorry that your husband had to walk the steep hills, we specify this on our safety briefing before you leave. We have small engines so that there are no driving restrictions, but this does mean a couple of places on our tour the car can struggle with the last few meters of a steep climb.

Thank you for having chosen GoCar as your city guide and especially thanks for your feedback as your comments upon our service will allow us to improve the experience for future customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    55
    13
    7
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Go Car Barca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Excellent way to independently travel around the city and see parts of Barcelona you might not otherwise get to. It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

The tour / guide is easy to follow, the car is easy to drive and it's a cool way to get around town. Barca is easy to drive around and the car's are easy to park too.

We had a great afternoon and would definitely reccommend it to anyone!

Chris & Lee, Manchester.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Go-car barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great way to see the city with a selection of routes and easy to park for free in scooter spaces to get out. Good fun and easy to use. We loved it! Make sure the sat Nav is in the correct language before you leave!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We rented two cars during our family vacation. It was a great way to see the city. Although the drivers in Barcelona obey the traffic laws it was somewhat challenging and at the same time exciting to maneuver the streets of the city. The GPS in one of the cars did not work but we were able to follow the tour with the GPS of the second car. I recommend the adventure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This experience was a highlight for the six of who rented them. If you are traveling with friends, you will spend most of the time laughing! Kids: If you have kids with you, you must do this!! An adult must drive, but the child becomes the navigator, lots of fun. Each GoCar is equipped with a GPS, so you just do what she says! If you see something and get off track, no problem, she'll straighten you out. Important: rent these on a Sunday when there are fewer cars and busses on the road. My suggestion is to head through the Barri Gothic (the GPS choice through Las Ramblas) to the beach, park and walk around then head up to The Church of The Sacred Family. Park, look around, have lunch, then drive back. Stay in your group and you will spend a lot of time laughing! it is a riot!! Tip, keep your camera out when you start, not in the trunk!! The tour length is up to you, but don't do less than 2 to 3 hrs. We did 5 because of lunch.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GoCar GPS Guided Tours also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to GoCar GPS Guided Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GoCar GPS Guided Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.