We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“favorite place in spain!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marcelo Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Marcelo Barcelona to your Saves list
Casa Marcelo Barcelona
Carrer Rera Palau 2, 1-1, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #6 of 303 Barcelona B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“favorite place in spain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

we spent two weeks traveling spain, and casa marcelo was our last stop before our flight home. this bed and breakfast is magical and i will DEFINITELY be returning back! it's immaculately clean, beautifully decorated, quiet, cozy, and so close to everything you need in barcelona. can't wait to return on my next trip to spain! thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    93
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
55
368
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in the Casa Marcelo BnB. The house is very well maintained with all facilities.Although the bathroom needed to be shared, it was never an issue. The location of the house is absolutely perfect, close to all the "to see places" in Barcelona. I really liked the El Born area ( where the BnB is located), which is beautiful and lively yet not cramped with tourists.

The hosts Marcelo and Olivier were very warm and caring. They helped us out with our itinerary and told us a few not so known places to go in Barcelona, which turned out to be quite nice.

Overall a fantastic experience and a great stay.:)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronshoej, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

staying in casa Marcelo was one of the best experiences during our stay. Charming residence and a wonderful balcony room. the greatest location in the Born area! you will not find it better!! Marcelo and his staff was most helpful and we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

La Casa de Marcelo is in a great location of the Borne District. A good starting point and walking distance to the Gothic Quarter, Las Ramblas, the beach, and the metro. I loved how the location allowed you to experience the city like a local without the mania of being engulfed in a sea of tourists.

Olivier and the staff were charming, helpful, and accommodating. The rooms and interiors were aesthetically well done and impeccably clean. The spartan breakfast of coffee, fresh juices, bread and spreads with fellow travellers was a nice way to start the day.

I would highly recommend this anyone who is planning a trip to Barcelona. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooroopna, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We can't thank Marcelo and Olivier enough for our lovely week in Barcelona ! As it was our first visit to this amazing city,Marcelo was very informative with maps etc. on arrival.He also booked Sagrada Familia ,so we didn't have to queue.Everything about this place is a delight ,.The decor(a mixture of elegance and quirkiness) the breakfast,the service,Not just the lovely owners Marcelo and Olivier,but also their wonderful staff Nick and Clara!! The bed was very comfortable and the shower was good.It is in a very nice area in El Born and close to great bars and places to eat,as well as many museums,shops etc. We feel like we have made new friends!As I was unwell Olivier made me a lovely camomile,lemon and honey tea which was so sweet of him. We will never forget them,and would love to see them again one day.We had come from a month in Provence,and feel this was the cleanest place in our whole trip.Thanks again Marcelo and Olivier.

Room Tip: We had room 3 at the rear which was reasonably quiet,with an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was a perfect B&B in every way. The location was ideal for exploring the ancient winding streets of the the Gothic quarter and for being close, but not too close, to the busy beach area at Barceloneta. Marcelo's hospitality was peerless; he sat us down on arrival explained the area, gave us excellent restaurant recommendations (hat tip to Casa Delfín in particular) and ensured we felt right at home. He even helped us book Sagrada Familia and Museo Picasso when we weren't able to decipher the websites (I would recommend booking all tourist sites in Barcelona in advance as it allows you to skip the queues). Every part of the B&B was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. The breakfasts included fresh bread, a bounty of fruit and freshly prepared coffee. We want to return in the summer months with a group of friends - we would not consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: When booking check first which room you have chosen. Some are not en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Husband and I traveled to Spain for the First time in October of 2013, Barcelona being our first stop, we could not have asked for a more warm and welcoming start to our trip. The various hosts were very accommodating to our arrival and departure schedule, holding our luggage, letting us check in early, providing maps to city, recommendations of where to eat, to shop etc. Stayed for a total of 3 nights, 4 days. There is 1 full bathroom, 1 1/2 bath. Some of the rooms come with their own bathrooms, but we didn't mind sharing. The whole flat was very clean, felt like we were guests at a friends house. They have one little but charming balcony off the main dinning room, which overlooks a beautiful busy neighborhood area in the El Born area. The breakfast is fantastic. They provide this beautiful whole grain bread with cheese, fresh fruit spread, fresh fruit juice and fresh fruit. Little did we know this would be the only time in our 16 days in Spain we would ever see anything that resembled whole grain yummy bread (you really can't get anything else but white bread, and when 3 meals a days usually incorporated said bread, you start to miss your fiber :) ) Don't expect eggs and bacon - you will not find that in Spain unless you know where to look! But regardless, the food was just right here! Marcelo himself was there most mornings, being personable, and taking time to help answer our questions. We only did 1 B&B while in spain, and I am glad we did, since it afforded a small look at what it might feel like to actually live in this vibrant city. You are about a 20 minute walk through the El born area and the old Gothic area to get to La Rambalas (which I think if highly over rated and actually enjoyed the El Born and Gothic area much more). It is about a 10 minute walk to the beach, and there is a metro stop about 5 minutes walk as well. Overall, great place, If you want a B&B experience I would stay with Marcelo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Marcelo Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marcelo Barcelona

Address: Carrer Rera Palau 2, 1-1, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B with charming and intimate atmosphere, located in the city center: the borne district. Within 15 minutes by foot from the Gothic district, the cathedral, the Ramblas, the Picasso museum and the beach. Marcelo is looking forward to welcoming you at his house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Casa Marcelo Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Marcelo Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Casa Marcelo Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marcelo Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.