We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Eddy's Guest House Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Eddy's Guest House Barcelona to your Saves list
Eddy's Guest House Barcelona
Girona 46, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 312 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

This was in a good location and had some charm but:
The guy on duty was creepy and ineffiecient at check in
The breakfast was awaste of time and disgusting
The room was not serviced during the stay
I did not feel the place was clean
I also did not eel welcome

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    32
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
8
24
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

I too had to read all these long reviews about every hostel i checked and eventually "landed" on Eddy's, so let me save you guys the efforts and note the most important stuff:

Location - simply the best - no doubt, no other hostel compares. walking 5min. to the very center and 1min to a subway station.
Service - VERY polite and helpful! we got the feeling we could ask for anything we needed.
Rooms - neat and clean, well furnished!
Other guests - friendly, good atmosphere.
Bathrooms - always available and intact, hot water, no pluggings (trust me, very important!)
Value - the main reason for choosing Eddy's was the price, then it became the value and the return!
Barcelona in general - ay ay ayyyyy... see you in 2011!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

This wasn't our first time in BCN and we decided to book this Guest House first of all due to its "reasonable" price and the good reviews it received on various websites.

The location is the only positive thing about this place, it's an easy walking distance to all major sights but if you're not into walking you can easily use the efficient metro system which is within some 200m from the Guest House.

Our arrival was weird for starters, we immediately found the place and it wasn't a problem to us. The rooms are placed on the second and the third floor and we had to wait for someone to appear for us to recognize where we were supposed to have our accommodation. This person was nice but obviously had no idea of our reservation and had to contact another person to check who we were. After they confirmed our reservation of a double room WITH private facilities they brought us to shabby and tacky - Egyptian-style- painted blue- room (it had digital TV, all in Catalan and Spanish, of course...) and left us to wait for our check in time...?!

The first thing we noticed was that the PRIVATE or ENSUITE facilities were actually a CURTAIN SEPARATED IMPROVISED cubical out of which the constant and VERY LOUD sounds could be heard at all times - some kind of PUMP serving to drain the water from all the tubes of our "bathroom" since it was obviously an improvised toilet and lacking its usual features. The noise was driving us crazy and especially during the night when we had the impression that the pump in question was actually used as a WAKE UP alarm since it would off every few minutes. This was officially the very worst part of the whole stay + the WI-FI internet which we could only use if we got out of our room, since inside there was almost no coverage at all.

Once you try to reach the staff, they're usually not there and just leave some phone number for "emergencies" - if you're lucky enough you could find someone during the breakfast time, even though we didn't know who was in charge. Since it all looked a bit suspicious (only taking cash, people acting as if it was their home or sth, advanced payment in cash...) I requested a receipt and never got one...

I would definitely never ever recommend this place to anyone I know.... I'm aware that some people are more relaxed and don't care that much about anything while travelling but in opinion 70 euros a night is not the price I wanna pay for sth like this, not ever again, to say the truth I don't get that "good price-quality value" because it's not.

Next time I'll book an airport hotel, 4 stars 50€ and won't care much about the location because it seems that even the positive side of this place was lost by another negative and very unpleasant feature of this accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

I stayed in Eddy's Guesthouse at the beginning of September 2010 while looking for a flat in Barcelona (3 nights) an really enjoyed the stay.

Location:
Perfect if you want to discover the city! The hotel ist only a 5-minute-walk away from Plaza Catalunya, the Ramblas and the Passeig de Gracia. This means it is in general not a quiet area, but the noise at night was really easy to bear.

Design:
The whole hotel has a special design with each room uniquely furnished and decorated. The elevator seems to be from the last century and still works - everything is very charming.

Rooms + bathrooms:
Every room has free Wifi (can be used the whole sty without any extra costs), however, the connection was not good in every room.
The single rooms are very small, but large enough for a few days. As far as I know the double rooms are a lot bigger. Some rooms have private bathrooms, others have to share one with one or two other rooms. The bathroom I shared was cleaned every day and well equipped with everything you need. They even offered shampoo and shower gel ;-).

Prices:
For example 40€/night/single room. If you want to have a nice private room, you probably won't find something equally cheap and comparable in Barcelona.

Breakfast:
The breakfast is always included in the price and served until 11.30h. It's typically Spanish which means that It mainly comprises sweet components: toast, several types of jam and chocolate cream, butter, little biscuits or pieces of cake, freshly made coffee......and also fresh fruits. Nothing special, but absolutely ok for the price.

Service:
Only 2 or 3 people are working in the hotel, amongst others its German owner. They were all very nice, caring and helpful. When I decided to leave earlier than actually planned it was no problem to achieve a compromise concerning the price to pay. As you normally have to cancel a reservation at least 3 days in advance I consider this very complaisant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico DF
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Eddy's Guest House means being a part of Barcelona's way of live. I felt very comfortable like staying at my place.

I found that I was looking for ' close to the downtown, cleaned and nice rooms, international environment, friendly customer attention and a quiet place to relax and talk with other travelers from around the world '

I highly recommend to anyone who wants to live several days in one of the most marvelous and modernistic neighborhoods in Barcelona

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Great staff, they are always trying to help you!!!, good location (Plaza Cataluña is almost 15 minutes walking) but if you do not want to walk you have almost in front of the hostal a subway station or any kind of public transportation.The hostal is into a wonderful old building with a great decoration that makes you feel confortable. Several seighseeings are really close to the hostal. Value for money!!!We had a great time, Free wi-fi, ..I totally recomend it!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

The reviews and pictures looked fantastic, home away from home. et c.
Sometimes I think (as in our case) one is lured there, and "sorry double booked"
(after several emails in the same week!!!) Booked into an Upgraded other hotel.
turned out to be rooms in a separate building attached to a backpackers. No facilities,
breakfast, internet, teamaking facilities etc. and blocks from the office. Owned by the same people. And Eddys and this building certainly more than 10 minutes from La Rambla,
disappointing.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eddy's Guest House Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eddy's Guest House Barcelona

Address: Girona 46, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 312 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eddy's GuestHouse Situated in the heart of Barcelona, 5 min walk from Plaza Catalunya (where the airport bus stops). located in el Example in an old, gothic style building typical to the neighbourhood. The residence provides a quiet, relaxed atmosphere that you can call home throughout your stay in the city. All of our spacious rooms are uniquely and tastefully decorated and a continental breakfast is served. Come and sit on our balcony, sip your coffee and watch the city go by at Eddy´s Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Eddy's Guest House Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eddy`s Guest House Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Eddy's Guest House Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eddy's Guest House Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.