We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket hostel or low star hotel?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelona Central Garden

Save Saved
You added Barcelona Central Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barcelona Central Garden
Roger de Lluria 41, principal floor, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Upmarket hostel or low star hotel?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Having spent 3 nights in Barcelona Central Garden I have to say there are a lot of good points but also a few no so good points about the place.

The location is very good, a short walk to Place de Catalunya and the infamous Las Ramblas, ideal for exploring the city centre on foot. Finding the hostel again might not be so easy as the only sign is on the entrance pillar and is about 6 inches square. Make a note of the surrounding cafe names or you could spend a long time finding it.

The staff are friendly but in our case, not good at maths. We paid 10% deposit but this wasn't taken off the final bill (paid in advance) so the cost was more than we expected. They have been very appologetic about the mistake but not actually refunded the overcharge. Also expect to pay a 20 euro deposit for your keys.

The private room was good for a hostel although the beds were a bit like bunk beds that had been put side by side rather than one on top of the other and only 1 thin pillow. I asked for another one but they didn't have one, only a small cushion.

The toilets and showers were very clean but they seem to have a paranoia about water on the floor, no glasses allowed in the rooms in case of spillage. All fair enough but then you'd expect some form of mat on the shower floor, how are you supposed to get out of the shower without getting the floor wet?

All in all it was a pretty good experience and I would consider staying there again although it is quite expensive for a hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaGarden, Gerente at Barcelona Central Garden, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We usually don't respond to any reviews, but this time is very different as it unfairly puts our honesty into question (probably it was not his intention of this guest, but unfortunately that doesn't help us). On June 27, at 1.02 pm we received a query regarding the payment made at the arrival. The receptionist, who was only one-week new in the job, mistankenly charged the full amount of the stay instead of the Pending Balance (she should have deducted the 19,14€ deposit paid by card in February)-
Only 1 hour and 40 minutes later, we responed apologizing and promissing that we would refund the money as soon possible. We explained that we had already been trying to revert the payment on the card terminal but unfortuantelyit didn't work, so we promissed that we would go to the Bank on the next day, on June 28th. As promissed, next morning we went to the Bank, and waited until the Director received us. He said he would help us, but explained the operation would take 2 or 3 working days. Effectively, as there was a weekend in between), the money was finally taken from our account on July 3rd (therefore 3 days later). That day we emailed our guest to inform about the success of the operation.
This comment was particularly sad as on June 28th we had a 2-day trip planned with our 5-year-old niece. Unfortunately on 28th we were forced to cancel the trip as we had to remain in Barcelona to speak to the Director in person. That 2-day-trip was supposed to be the family's "vacation", something that we had planned a long time ago as we can't normaly leave the hostel unattended. We can't believe we cancelled our trip to fix this problem as soon as possible, and to receive such a review in compensation.
It is true that Maria, our new receptionist made a mistake. But it also true that our hostel did everything that was humanly possible to refund the money as soon as possible. We really don't understand why somebody would write this while we were in the process of fixing our staff's mistake.
We would like to remark that the 20€ deposit for the keys was refundable. This was the only way to prevent our keys from being lost easily. This is a very safe hostel (we had zero incidents since we opened more than 3 years ago) and we want to keep it that way. Also it would have been nice to mention that our hostel was one of the cheapest hostels (if not the cheeapest) in the center of Barcelona. You stayed in a very spacious Superior Twin room, and the price you paid was slightly more expensive compared to the cost of a bed in a shared dorm of any other hostel.
This is a small hostel, that offers many extra services (24 hr/reception, trilingual staff that will assist guests everytime it is need it, beautiful common areas, bathrooms and kitchen that are cleaned several times a day, personalized check ins, airconditioning in all of the rooms, etc)- If you consider all of the hidden costs, you will realize that the price paid was fair enough. As a matter of fact, our hostel didn't even cover the expenses during the whole past winter. Some other hostels preferred to close and some others get rid of part of their staff. We don't know what we are going to do this following winter yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    28
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
43
58
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We contacted BCG after having trouble finding any affordable central accommodation over a weekend. Despite being full, they managed to find a (very comfortable) room for us.

The staff were all very friendly and informative and the map they give you was extremely helpful. It has all sorts of information on it about opening times, prices and places to eat and drink. We tried two of their recommended restaurants in our time there and both were absolutely fabulous.

Definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a great hostel, definitely good value for money. The best thing about this hostel is the location - very near to Passeig de Gracia, Placa de Cataluyna and two major Gaudi buildings! The hostel was clean, with a lovely garden terrace, the staff were friendly. Our room was quite basic, but that was what we paid for - if I went again, I'd pay a little extra for a more spacious room. We were welcomed when we arrived and given lots of helpful advice and a map with all the main sights. The bathrooms were very nice, there is a communal kitchen with free tea and coffee, and there's free internet access. What more do you want?!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a great time here. It is an excellent place for young travellers, but also is strict in enforcing quiet times at night which was nice. The beds are comfortable, the staff go above and beyond to accommodate your needs and it is very clean. It is the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in! The bathrooms are in excellent condition. Our first night we went to see the flamenco show, and had the most amazing sangria, followed by the magic fountain. It was an excellent way to start our stay in Barcelona. We stayed for 5 nights, and would stay here again the next time I go to Barcelona!

Room Tip: If you have asthma, I would suggest not getting a window overlooking the gardens as people can be sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great Hostel in Barcelona. Centrally located, super nice and clean accomodation, nice staff. Every night there is a special, like Tapas night, Sangria night, etc. The staff gives you great advice if you're looking for restaurants, shops or whatever. Nice common area, books, free internet access a good kitchen, free tea and coffee. We had a great time there, definetely a good stay at the beautiful city of Barcelona!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights this week and it is definitely one of the best hostels I've stayed in. Have stayed in much worse budget hotels! Amazingly clean, really friendly and helpful staff, gorgeous patio and well kitted kitchen. We had a great compact clean room on first night, then got upgraded for free to huge room with balcony and en suite. Lots of activities you can join in with, excellent hostel map with transport and tourist sites marked, lovely and quiet and would definitely stay there again. It really made our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a great time staying at this hostel and felt like it was a home from home.

The directions provided by the hostel from the airport made the area very easy to find as there is a direct train from Barcelona airport. The hostel was initially difficult to find once we were on the right street and we walked past it a few times before finding it. It is in the building next door to La Trobada cafe, on the left hand side as you are facing the buildings. There is a bell to ring with the hostel logo on it.

The hostel is in a good location close to Passeig de Gracia and within easy reach of all the main sights either by walking or by using public transport which is easy to access from the hostel. There are also supermarkets, cafes and bars in the local area.

Staff were really friendly on checking in and spent time telling us about the sights as well as vital information such as the localtion of supermarkets and good places to eat and drink in the evenings. I guess if several people try to check in at the same time, there could be some waiting around the atmosphere was very relaxed in the check in area.

We had a room for two with bunk beds and found the beds to be very comfortable and the hostel spotlessly clean. The communal areas and bathrooms were always kept very clean and tidy and the kitchen was well stocked for everything you would need to cook and prepare food which can save money on eating out. We also enjoyed spending time in the garden terrace and the balcony area having a beer and some food in the evening. The hostel has free wifi as well as free tea and coffee which we were appreciative of.

I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone planning a trip to Barcelona and thank you very much for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelona Central Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Central Garden

Address: Roger de Lluria 41, principal floor, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 667 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Barcelona Central Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Central Garden Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Central Garden Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelona Central Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.