We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glass Door!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grupotel Gran Via 678

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grupotel Gran Via 678 to your Saves list
Grupotel Gran Via 678
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via Corts Catalanes, 678, 08010 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Glass Door!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Very friendly staff on reception and throughout the hotel. We did see people given a drink on arrival but we were not offered one? Breakfast was delicious with a good assortment of choices. the prices at the bar were very reasonable compared to that on the square. The hotel is about 15 mins from the square and the airport buses. Brilliant location!
The room was no bigger than a postage stamp with very little space around the bed. The small windows looked into the rooms opposite so we kept the curtains closed. We were not able to tell what sort of day it was until we got out of the room as you couldn't see the sky due to the closeness of the opposite rooms. Not really what you want when in Spain.
The bed was positioned within a foot of the bathroom door which had a semi frosted sliding door. The toilet was to the right as you went in, right up against the door meaning you could be seen clearly sat on the loo. Not a good look when your partner is lying in bed. Lovely bathroom furniture but the window was in the shower and couldn't be opened properly because of the shower head. Very badly designed.
The room was modern but very basic with no mirror or drawers to put anything and a very small wardrobe.
The hotel was very clean and so were the rooms
We had a good few days but spent very little time in the hotel as it wasn't somewhere we wanted to be lacking comfort, natural light and the glass door was definitely a no no.
My son and partner stayed at the same hotel in December and had a lovely big room but still with the glass bathroom door (however they neglected to tell us that bit lol) Obviously not all the rooms are of the same size and quality.
I wouldn't stay there again even though it is a very nice hotel. the room really let it down.

Room Tip: Avoid room 309
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    212
    47
    8
    7
See reviews for
83
252
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

This hotel is located in a central location - not too far off La Rambas. It was really clean, modern and the breakfast was fantastic - lots of choice! The staff were also very helpful. Check in was a quick process (we arrived in the morning and dropped our bags to the room straightaway). The rooms are small but the bathrooms are more than adequate - it's an ideal place to stay for a short visit where you want to base yourself somewhere central and take off for the day to see the sites - then return back to a clean bed/bathroom and a hot shower!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

I travelled to Barcelona in April 2011 having surprised my girlfriend for her birthday.

I booked the hotel as part of a package with Cresta Holidays (part of the Thomas Cook group). The hotel was fantastic. We arrived early at around 11am. Not surprising that our room wasnt ready, however the reception staff offered to keep our luggage and provided facilities to freshen up and get changed. They told us the room would be ready at 2pm. We then made the most of getting our bearings in Barcelona itself.

The staff gave us maps and directed us to Placa Catalunya and Las Ramblas which is only a 5-7 minute walk from the hotel.

We arrived back at 2pm and as promised the room was ready. As well as this, a glass of Champagne was given to us both which was a nice touch.

The room we stayed in was 203 on the second floor. This overlooked Gran Via. The room was amazing. Very modern. The glassed bathroom was unique and something I have never experienced before. There were speakers in the bathroom and the best shower we have experienced in any city hotel. The bed was also extremely comfortable.

Breakfast the following morning was equally as impressive with a vast selection of continental and cooked options. Plenty of tea and coffee on request.

The lunch menu was also very good with large portions and reasonably priced.

We had cocktails on our last evening in the bar. The waitress offered to do us surprise cocktails which were not on the menu - they were both lovely and a really nice touch.

The staff could not do any more for you. They were very chatty and made our stay extra special.

The hotel has a lovely terrace and a small swimming pool on the roof with very comfortable sun loungers.

If I had to make one suggestion would be for a soap dish or holder to be added to the shower room - however this is nit picking because I do not have anything negative to say.

I would, without hesitation suggest that if visiting Barcelona you stay in this hotel. It is a short distance from Las Ramblas and in a beautiful area. The rooms are luxurious and the whole hotel is spotlessly clean. You will not be disappointed.

When we return to Barcelona we will definitely be coming back to the Grupotel Gran Via.

The hotel was simply perfect in everyway. See pictures attached.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Great attendance, cordial crew, confortable room and a great breakfast, for a fair price.

Besides that, very well located, near of everything in the city.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

The hotel has an amazing location at a good price - right in between the old city and the Eixample area and within walking distance of most sights. The rooms are a bit snug and there is just a thin plastic translucent partition separating the bathroom which makes it awkward even if you are sharing with your intimate partner. The free wi-fi did not work on our phone and the hotel just shrugged and said 'it works for everybody else' which was not very helpful. the breakfast buffet is very sumptuous and the staff there are very cheerful and flexible - they let us have breakfast even though we got there after the closing time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Staff very friendly especially one of the girls at breakfast. She was fantastic. She went out of her way to give us all the information we needed to have a full and exciting break away. The noise from the road was very bad and no chance of having a sleep. We never complained because we were delighted to get away and make the most of it. Dont be fooled by the picture showing the bar. They got a good photographer to fool people. It is a tiny area showing the table and chairs and they are actually outside. Very disappointing. Dont fall into the same trap as us. Expensive hotel for what your getting. I expected a nice bar with light entertainment.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights pre cruise. The room was clean, a little on the smaller side, and the staff was friendly. The free wi-fi was a great added benefit. Breakfast was included as part of our package and the buffet was adequate. Please be careful though in the lobby, while we were there a women had her purse stolen off of the table as she went to get something from the buffet. She thought it was safe as her husband was sitting at the table but two men walked in a grabbed it. This could happen anywhere, it's so important to be vigilant when traveling. Afterwards, we did notice a security guard posted outside. Also, I didn't really like having to pay extra to use the safe.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grupotel Gran Via 678? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Gran Via 678

Address: Gran Via Corts Catalanes, 678, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#66 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#89 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#100 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Gran Via 678 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new 4 stars hotel is located at one of the main Barcelona’s avenues, only 350 meters from the distinguished Paseo de Gracia, Plaza de Cataluña and Ramblas. The Grupotel Gran Vía 678 emphasizes by its modern facilities and its stylish decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grupotel Gran Via 678 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Gran Via 678 Hotel Barcelona
Grupotel Gran Via 678 Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grupotel Gran Via 678, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.