We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super, but know what you're booking!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Emma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Room Mate Emma to your Saves list
Room Mate Emma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer Rossello 205 | Eixample, 08008 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Super, but know what you're booking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was a special place, booked for 4 nights for a special occasion. Yes, the staff are kind, thoughtful and amazing, with attention to every detail and even bubbly for us when they realised. We were there during the general strike and our room had a window onto Carrer Rossello so we heard all the noise in the early morning of 14th November as the strikers gathered. The staff advised where to go to avoid trouble the next day. Breakfast was super and convenience fine. However, the hotel is super-chic, urban but not very comfortable if you want a decent chair to sit in at the end of the day or a good light in the bedroom to read the guidebook and plan your next day. There was a desk which would be good for a laptop, WIFI throughout and plenty of electric points, so ideal for a business visitor. We found restaurant Balthazar nearby, see separate review.

Room Tip: We upgraded to'Superior' which meant we had a room overlooking Carrer Rossello and included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Customer,

On behalf of the entire team of Room Mate EMMA, I would like to convey our sincere thanks for taking your time to explain to all readers of Tripadvisor your experience in our hotel during your stay in Barcelona.

We are pleased and grateful to know that with our daily efforts and our work we contributed to make you enjoy your trip and that neither the unexpected issue of the general strike that took place in the country ruined this special occasion for you. This really makes us want to continue improving to make all of our customers to have a memorable stay with us.

It would be a pleasure for the entire team to welcome you back in EMMA whenever you return to Barcelona.

Sincerely,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    298
    41
    14
    8
See reviews for
63
407
43
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Dynamic team fulfils all request timely and professionnally.

Rooms are clean and quiet, the view isnot spectacular, but the interior is designed in a fresh and pleasing manner.

Bed mattress is comfortable and internet is for free and fast.

Will come again on next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your comment about your stay in Room Mate EMMA and we are specially grateful for the words dedicated to our staff work.

The whole team is really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are very pleased if we have helped to make your stay in the city a little bit nicer.

Do not hesitate to contact us again if you ever come back to Barcelona.

Kind Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Room Mate Emma after a very good experience at Room Mate Mario in Madrid on our last trip to Spain (2010). Super friendly staff, excellent breakfast, and super location/neighborhood. Convenient to subway and Plaza Catalunya. Lots of excellent restaurants within a short walk. We stayed four nights, went to Ibiza, Mallorca and Sevilla then came back for two nights. STRONGLY recommend a room that DOES NOT face the street where there was a lot of noise well into the early hours of the morning.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Customer,

On behalf of all Emma team we would like to convey our sincere thanks for taking your time to share with other tripadvisor users your experience in our hotel during your visit to Barcelona.

We are glad that your second experience in a Room Mate Hotel was pleasant and we wish we helped you to enjoy your stay in the city.

Do not hesitate to contact us again if you wish to come back to Barcelona.

Kind Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at Roommate Emma for two nights for my sister's 30th. I emailed in advance to check a few details and got a quick and helpful reply - and we got a nice email a few days before we arrived to say they were looking forward to seeing us which was reassuring and welcoming.
The hotel is a fair walk from Playa Catalunya (with bags at least) but is right by Diagonal tram stop. It's also near Passieg de Gracia which has loads of restaurants, bars and shops - as well as Casa Batllo Gaudi House. We arrived early but luckily our room was ready and the helpful staff let us check in early. We had a superior room with a window onto the street outside - the room was bright and colourful without being over the top. Comfy bed and powerful shower. I would recommend ear plugs though as Friday and Saturday nights in Barcelona can get a bit rowdy!
We didn't have breakfast but the free wifi worked perfectly which was really handy. There was no coffee or kettle in the room but there was a mini bar. It would also be nice to have a bar or cafe in the hotel itself.
Overall I'd recommend Roommate Emma - it was good value for a stylish room and helpful staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Madame,

The entire Emma team would like to thank you for the comment you made about your stay in Room Mate EMMA.

As you well explain one of our strengths is the location, the design ant the service so all the team is very happy that you and your sister enjoyed your visit to Barcelona and we wish you had a memorable experience celebrating such a special event with us.

Please feel free to let us know if you want to return to Barcelona.

Sincerely,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It isn't often that you leave a hotel giving a hug to the staff. But, that was the case with Room Mate Emma. Everyone on staff was so helpful and friendly-- the front desk, housekeeping, the breakfast servers, etc-- it seems that they all wanted to do what they could to insure that every guest had a great stay.

Room Tip: Interior rooms away from the street were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Anne Marie,

We are deply grateful for the nice words you have dedicated to all of our staff and it is been a really big pleasure for all the Emma team reading your beautiful comment.

The most important thing for us and what we work for is to try to ensure that all our guests enjoy their stay and make them feel comfortable with us like they are visiting their friend in the city. So we are very happy knowing that we made you feel like home.

We hope we could welcome you back in EMMA whenever you decide to return to Barcelona.

Best Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you ever come to this hotel, you'll sure be treated with a warm welcome and they will give you all the help you need. I stayed there for three nights, and then I was out a week and then I came back for one more night. Barcelona was a stop during my honeymoon and I must say that the Emma hotel make our stay in BCN even more magical.
They offered us a special treat by upgrading our room at practically nothing. To be honest, I booked at a very reasonable fare in the first place (early booking) so I didn't hesitate to take that offer).

The room was big, comfortable bed, two sinks, bath tub and shower, the TV a little small for my test but the programming was good. A lot of space too to place your shopping, bags, suitcases, large closet, couch, chair and desk...the mini bar looked good but we didn't used it.

The hotel it's REALLY close to two subway stations, and to some touristic places like The Gaudi house's, and there are many small delis and cafes with great food and coffee.

When we came back for our second stop there, they remembered we stayed the the previous week, and the staff left a letter in our room welcoming us back and sending compliments on our honeymoon. They also left us a little something up in our room . I can't say that they will do this for all honeymooners, but they sure make our last day in Barcelona a very special one.

We were familiar to the Room Mate hotels because me and I my wife have stayed in the Grace Hotel in NYC (actually we stayed there for a couple of nights before getting to BCN, another great experience).

So, to sum up, GREAT staff (specially Martina, she is SUPER nice, warm and always willing to help with a great smile on her face)

Room Tip: Asked to be put in a high floor to get a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

The whole Emma staff would like to thank your for the nice words you have dedicated to our team, specially to Martina who is been really happy to know that you value her work positively and who has demand us to convey her sincere gratitude to you.

Our main purpose is to provide a quality service and every member of our staff works hard and strives directions to this goal. Knowing that we succeeded and we have helped, not only to make you enjoy your stay in Barcelona, but also to celebrate such a special occasion as a honyemoon has to be, make us feel more than satisfied and that motivates us to continue working to offer magical and unforgettable stays to all our guests.

We wish you keep us in good memory and we will be pleased to help you again if you ever decide to visit this city again.

Kind Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I just returned from a 4-night stay in Barcelona, and I really enjoyed Room Mate Emma. I thought it definitely lived up to expectations (I picked it based on reviews here) and it provided real value for money - my room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The breakfast was really good, as was the free wifi. The hotel staff were all extremely friendly, helpful and personable, always willing to answer any questions. I loved the cool, zen decor in my room at the entire hotel, and it was always a pleasure to return after a busy day touring.

I think the location of this hotel is excellent, actually perfect for me. I loved the fact that I could easily walk to many of the tourist sites I visited, thereby getting a real feel for the city. It's really close to a convenient metro station, and the area is cosmopolitan but calm.

All in all, this lovely hotel had a great, positive impact on my enjoyment of Barcelona. I would definitely stay there again, and would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

As the acommodation manager of Room Mate EMMA and on behalf of our entire team I would like to convey our sincere thanks for taking your time to explain to other tripadvisor readers your experience in our hotel during your stay in Barcelona.

I would also like to express how proud all the staff feels knowing that we have met your expectations. This really help us to know that our daily efforts in each of ours departments are reflected in customer satisfaction and help us to continue in improvements to offer all our guests the best experience in their stays with us.

If you ever decide to return to Barcelona do not hesitate to contact us again. It will be a pleasure to all of us to welcome you again in EMMA.

Sincerely,

Georgina Albarran
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Emma

Address: Carrer Rossello 205 | Eixample, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#95 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Emma 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Room Mate Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Emma Hotel Barcelona
Room Mate Emma Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Emma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.