We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well served pinxtos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golfo de Bizkaia

Golfo de Bizkaia
Calle Vidriera,12 | Gothic Quarter, Barcelona, Spain (El Born / La Ribera)
+34 933 42 54 11
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Golfo de Bizkaia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #639 of 6,675 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: Maritime inspired in concept and design, Golfo de Bizkaia is an intimate space, very informal, which is divided into two parts. A space dedicated to the bar of tapas and another place to taste typical dishes of Euskadi, but in casserole format. Near the church of Santa Maria del Mar and a few meters from the Paseo del Borne./ Concepto y diseno de inspiracion maritima, Golfo de Bizkaia es un espacio intimo, muy informal, que se divide en dos partes. Un espacio dedicado al bar de tapas y otro para probar platos tipicos de Euskadi, pero en formato de cazuela. Cerca de la iglesia de Santa Maria del Mar y a pocos metros del Paseo del Borne.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“well served pinxtos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

A good place to go if you do not feel hungry, you will eat anyway when presnted with these munchy pinxtos. Small place with limited places, a barrel outside for those that want to stand there and smoke while eating/conversing. Friendly staff, good neighbourhood.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    53
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“gooooood tapas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Good tapas, in a modern fashion - you take tapas to your plate and then pay... very very good tapas - the kind that you get in a bar.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, great introduction to Pintxos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This was our first Tapas expeirience and we just wandered in off the street while looking for Xampanyet (which was also great). The staff immediately sensed our inexperience with pintxos and told us how it worked (it is indeed a toothpick counting place, to get started just ask for plates and something to drink). The salmon was great, we asked for croquettes that came right out, nice tempranillo wine, and I'm pretty sure were were the only tourists - mostly locals and families. Reallly great experience in the Born district. After mountain of toothpicks, the bill was quite reasonable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunice, Stredocesky Kraj, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“verry happy to find this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

i`ve visited this place two times and always was satisfied. only the fried gamba in cheese and ham could be served in more pieces ;)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“We thoroughly enjoyed it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

It was recommended by the front desk of our hotel and we were not disappointed. My wife said she wasn't hungry when we walked in and would only have a glass of white wine. The house pour happened to be excellent. Four wines later we had enough toothpicks to build a small house. The pinxtos were excellent, the Jamon had a thin slice of green pepper under it which gave it an even better tast than usual. The staff was friendly as well as the crowd. Our bill came to just under 50 Euros. It was a Monday evening and the place was pretty full. El Born is a great neighborhood with many choices, but we will definitely return to this Basque style Tapas Bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golfo de Bizkaia also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Golfo de Bizkaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golfo de Bizkaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.