We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money quick lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crusto

Crusto
Valencia 246, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
934 870 551
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,158 of 6,910 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Eixample
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“value for money quick lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We bumped into this place accidentally, while we were looking for a good, casual lunch following a full morning of sightseeing. Crusto offered salads, cold soups, quiches, sandwiches as well as cakes and desserts. We ordered a couple of options from the menu but in a very friendly manner, the lady working there told us, in basic english, that its better for us to get the menu of the day which was only 10 euro. With 10 euro each, we got 3 different choices (one was a small delicious cake) plus a drink EACH! The food was very good, not junk or overpriced, the atmosphere was very relaxing and the service was very good (the lady even explained how they prepare their delicious cold soup!!)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    27
    10
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhinebeck, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Bread in Barcelona?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I'm certainly no expert on Barcelona baking but this was the best among many bakeries I tried during my visit. It's a small cafe inside (limited seating) but feel free to order something to go and take it to a park for a picnic. Coffee and pastries or bocadillos in the morning were a highlight.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exellent pastry and small bites, top artisanal Bakers!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have had an incredible experience every time we have visited our beloved Crusto! The atmosphere is warm and full of light, the staff is very sweet and helpful and the pastries are "out of this world" ! The best bread we have had in Barcelona, I highly recommend you try the "integral" !!! The pastries are perfectly sweetened (not overly sweet) and the coffee must be flown in from Italy, because I have had hands down the best cappuccino in my life there! As a home cook and world traveler, I highly recommend you visit this little diamond on Valencia…and when you're done, try the flagship store on Muntaner….you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
international
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“a little gem of a bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Every time we are in Barcelona, we make a little stop at Crusto. It's a very nice atmosphere, nice and trendy, but also cosy enough to make you feel at home. The bread is simply delicious and you can tell is fresh and home made (you can actually see it being made in the back!).

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best sandwich/bocadillo ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

When I was in barcelona for the first time with my family, I took them to crusto and from there on we had to have a breakfast there and only there. The interior of the place already tells a lot about the quality of the food and service. my mom and aunt had the best sandwich ever, the reason was very simple the bread with seeds was not dry cause they squeeze tomato sauce and put olive oil on it. So the taste of all sandwiches is just amazing regardless of the different type of "jamon"and cheese. basically all that we tasted in 4 visits was great, not to mention delicious pastries. The price was reasonable even less than we expected.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crusto also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Crusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crusto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.