We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude owner, great/awful food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Dentelliere

La Dentelliere
Ample 26, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)
93 319 68 21
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #485 of 6,365 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $22 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: El Barri Gòtic
Santa Barbara
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rude owner, great/awful food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We went to La Dentelliere on the advice of the proprietor of our B&B plus positive reviews on TripAdvisor. The owner was extremely rude--she was apparently upset because we ordered only one entree, though there were empty tables near us--meaning we weren't taking up space others would use--and we spent 38 Euros. She asked snidely if that was all we were ordering and generally acted like we were scum. The gaspacho tapas was good enough, the plum and goat cheese starter out of this world delicious with a flaky pastry underneath, the entree of cod on pureed potatoes nearly inedible. It had about half a cup of mayonaisse on it, the fish was mushy and it was bathed in oil. I felt queasy afterwards. In a city full of great restaurants, pass on this one.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    68
    10
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Visited the place for dinner with kids. Size of servings were enough to share two between three kids. Food just wonderful - everybody were impressed. And left some space for outstanding desserts.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely worth a vist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We LOVED this restaurant. Small, less touristy than, say, La Crema or Les Quinze Nits, and the food we had was much better. The service was charming. The two young people waiting tables had enough English, and were polite and friendly. But what was outstanding was the food. We began with tapas-sized entrees, but who could have believed a green salad could taste quite so wonderful? The mains were equally good--cod and mashed potatoes with an exquisite dressing, and a Thai-influenced fish in coconut milk--rosaldo if I remember rightly. Dessert was sublime: an apple tart that looked way too big for one person but was in fact so light that it vanished in a flash, and a mango sorbet and coulis that was so light I wanted another. With a very nice bottle of wine the whole thing cost sixty-something Euros. Do eat here! And thanks to the Tripadvisor reviews that let us know about La Dentelliere.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food. Good vibe. Good prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

While the food wasn't out of this world, it was very very good. We ordered off the tasting menu and had tapas, salad and and entree. Portions were small but plenty. The steak and chicken were delicious but the price was unbeatable for the food. Wine prices are excellent too. Barcelona food can be expensive so this was a great find for what you get. Our best meal so far.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Don't miss that one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We spent 3 weeks in Barcelona, found that restaurant on our second night there, we wnet back four more times. The food is very good, servicde is kind, the owner speaks Spanish, English and French. Plates are nicely arranged, food is fresh and innovative. Prices are really affordable for Barcelona. Don't hesitate to try the evening special, for a bit under 17 euros per person ( not including drinks) you have a full meal, including an entrée, main course and dessert. Or go "à la carte" which is not expensive either. The duck confit is outstanding by the way. Hope you will all enjoy the place. It's one of my top 5 restaurants. Perfectly fit for a romantic diner.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dentelliere also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Dentelliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dentelliere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.