We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice environment and amenities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Barcelona City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Barcelona City to your Saves list
Novotel Barcelona City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Diagonal 201 | (entrada por calle Granada), 08018 Barcelona, Spain (Poblenou)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Novotel City Breaks
Ranked #105 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice environment and amenities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The hotel location is close to the Metro station L 1 as well as the tram. There are more central locations but Novotel's is rather convenient. The building is nice, rooms are modern and qualitative except for the pre-cast plastic shower and sink in the bathroom. AC is smooth and effective. On top of the roof swimming pool, bar, fitness club are simply awesome with a breathtaking view over the nearby Agbar Tower and the whole town actually.

Reception desk is a disappointment: always understaffed, at least during our 3 days stay, with overworked and less than cordial staff. Long queuing every time one needs an information is indeed frustrating. After all this was not an overcrowded Post Office or Railway Station.

We had the disappointment of reserving 5 bikes and discover the next day at the time of using them that one of them actually was unusable! They had not been checked!... And no apologies, nor specific help or alternative solution was even brought to our attention by the hotel staff. No doubt our worst experience in an Accor hotel.

Breakfast was served in a huge meeting room at the basement. We couldn't believe it! It used to be a regular practice in mass consumption Spanish hotels in the 1970s, I never imagined I would witness such a shameful practice in a Novotel nowadays (bear in mind that breakfast is charged 18.70 €). To be fair the very limited choice of food was always fresh, of very good quality and waiters constantly made sure everything was available. At the entrance of the breakfast hall, the "greeting" lady was not welcoming at all but waiters inside the hall were rather helpful and striving to smile.

As in many hotels , one is provided with a magnetic card acting as a key to the room. Unfortunately, for some reason, this card was very quickly becoming ineffective. I first thought we had done something wrong but given the laughters in the elevators with other guests getting blocked in the elevator due to failing cards, I guess we were quite a few to be recurringly bothered with this.

Drainage of our shower was ineffective causing water to spill over the bathroom. Despite 3 calls and requests at the reception desk nothing was done.

In a nutshell the main issue of this hotel was the very poor service level provided to guests as well operation failures.

Being a frequent user and a fan of Accor hotels, I still want to believe we have been very very unlucky.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor regarding your stay at our hotel.
I am sorry to hear that the stay didn't meet your expectations due to the disappointment with some of our services. I can assure you that the manager was informed about the problem with the bikes and we had taking steps in order to improve the service we want to give to our guests. And prevent future occurrences. We implemented a new procedure in every case that a guest wants to rent a bike. We are really sorry because we do not do our best in the moment you stay in the hotel and your comment helps us to improve our quality service. We wrote you a direct mail after your check out to explain the situation and solve the incident. We hope you had received it.

For the other comments we make a meeting with the different departments to fix all necessary.

As a sign of our concern, we would like to apologize for these incidents and be sure that in your next visit it will not happen again. Please, accept our apologize again.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in your next visit to Barcelona.


Yours sincerely,

Laura N


Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    1,081
    177
    44
    28
See reviews for
1,103
485
93
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

4- for the overall quality of the hotel.

Friendly staff, clean rooms and nice location. However, just as a small critique, the materials used to decorate/furniture were not the best quality. A big plus is that there's an AC that you can adjust according to your need and blackout curtains so that you can block any light coming in.

The rooftop is not too big, but it's quite beautiful and the view is nice on a sunny day. You don't need to go too far for shopping as there's a shopping mall just accross the street as well as several restaurants and cafes as you walk around the block.

Metro is just within 4 minutes walk away.

I will go back here next time too!

Room Tip: As far as I can tell rooms ending with 17, 18 or 19 are right in front of the elevator (you'll h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Jan,

Thank you for your positive commentary. It is a pleasure to see that you will surely stay in our hotel during your next trip to Barcelona.
Our modern style hotel is pretty new as it opened in April 2010.
There is a large range of restaurant in Glòries and even more in the rambla Poblenou which is within 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

Our 19th floor terrace is magnificent. It offers breathtaking panoramic views of the city that you can enjoy while working out in our gym or while having a nice drink in our Zity Bar.

We are truly looking forward to your return.

Best Regards,

Terence G
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Excellent location, close to public transport; very good breakfast spread with lots of choices. The hotel is clean and really nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only complaint I have is the quality of the pillows. Most hotels, even the Holiday Inns, now give you a pillow menu. It is a shame that the management has opted out of spending for good quality pillows. Sleep, for most people, is very important and pillows and beds influence this greatly. The quality of sleep an individual had the night before determines the mood for the following day. So if pillows are important to you, bring your own.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Jocelyn,

Thank you for your commentary. I am glad you enjoyed our hotel services and amenities.

I feel very sorry that the pillows did not suit you and you can be sure that your commentary has been taken into account. Did you advise reception of your problem?
If no, I am sure they would have been able to help you in an efficient way as our clients' satisfacton is our every day challenge.

I hope you will however trust us again if you come back to Barcelona, and that you will finally enjoy sleeping in our venue.

Best Regards,

Terence G
Guest experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Arguably the best Novotel I ever stayed in! Or probably one of the best 3-4 star hotel I ever stayed in Europe.
Excellent location (1 block away from Glories Metro). Just opposite from Glories shopping center with excellent choice and Carrefour supermarket. 10 mins walk to Rambla de Poble Nou for excellent dining choice.
Free wifi with decent speed, excellent service. Bed is slightly on the firm side to my liking. I prefer a softer bed.
I didn't take the breakfast option because there are so many good restaurants nearby
Ines and Jordi in the front desk are excellent! Helping me a lot with check-in process and answering my tons of questions. Very very friendly
In single statement. My FIRST CHOICE hotel in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing Torre Agbar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

It has been a real pleasure to read your commentary, thank you for the time you spent writing it.

I am happy to read that you were fully satisfied of our service and that we are your first choice in Barcelona.
Our reception team members will surely hear about your commentary and they will have the congratulations they deserve.

We are indeed very well located and "la rambla Poblenou" is a must see in Barcelona. The restaurants it proposes are very typical and tourists and locals really share the moment which creates a comfortable atmosphere.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you again very soon in our venue.

Best Regards,

Terence G
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Second time in Barcelona and this hotel was ideal for getting around the city and exploring. Near metro, bus stops etc. so very handy. Staff were friendly and the room was clean and good bed. Only complaint was that there was always a long line for breakfast. Pretty good though for the money.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Lorraine,

Thank you for the time you spent writing this commentary. I am glad you've enjoyed your second trip to Barcelona.

It is a pleasure to read that you found our staff to be friendly. Our very professional staff is here to make your trip easier and even more pleasant.

We are very well located indeed, next to all the transports Barcelona can offer and we even have a touristic bus stop next to our hotel.

We will be very happy to welcome you again on a third trip to our wonderful city if you ever decide to do so.

Best Regards,

Terence G
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Barcelona City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barcelona City

Address: Avenida Diagonal 201 | (entrada por calle Granada), 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#73 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#103 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barcelona City 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Barcelona City Hotel has 264 rooms (including 22 suites) and is located right in the heart of the city on Avenida Diagonal (one of the city's main streets), next to Plaza Glòries and 55 yards (50 m) from the Jean Nouvel Tower. The hotel features a Claravía restaurant, a bar, 6222 sq. ft (578 m2) of meeting rooms, an outdoor pool on the terrace with panoramic views of Barcelona and a fitness center. Easy access to the hotel via Ronda de Dalt and Ronda Litoral. (The swimming pool is open only from 1st June to 20th September 2011) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Barcelona City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barcelona City Hotel Barcelona
Novotel Barcelona City Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Barcelona City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.