We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad breakfast & strange staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Barcelona City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Barcelona City to your Saves list
Novotel Barcelona City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Diagonal 201 | (entrada por calle Granada), 08018 Barcelona, Spain (Poblenou)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Novotel City Breaks
Ranked #105 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Belgium
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Bad breakfast & strange staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

It started bad. At the reception the (french?) recepcionist gave us the key and said "that's it", to what I replied "no, that isn't", and had to ask him about breakfast time, opening hours of the pool and the gym .. and even so half of the information he was giving wasn't accurate
.. and it ended bad. We had to pay before we were allowed to check the invoices. First time in my life I have such an "approach"

The worst thing of the hotel was, by far, the breakfast. Not only was overpriced, but the quality was average (a few yoghourts had reach the expired date, coffee and orange juice had "strange" tastes) and the room was DIRTY. My wife sat three times on a very dirty chair, the tables were "sticky" and the floor .. well, you don't want to look at the floor, trust me.

On the positive side, the staff at the pool was fantastic, always friendly and helpful ..they made you feel really welcome to the hotel. Just a pity that the pool wasn't open till 9 AM for a morning swim

About the rooms, they were clean and spacious, and had the most silent airco I've ever experienced. Unfortunately the very noisy elevators two rooms further disturbed a bit the "silent" experience.

The gym was just half ok. Three treadmills, one of them broken, one bike and a couple of other devices. Strangely enough there was no possibility to get any drinking water, and after 30 min running in the heat ....

Actually we had a great time in Barcelona, but will try to forget this hotel (with the exception of the pool & the staff up there) asap

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    1,081
    177
    44
    28
See reviews for
1,105
485
93
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SOUTH AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Barcelona at the Novotel at the end of a 6 week trip and was in need of a bit of 'luxury'. In general, the hotel was lovely. Really clean and looks to have been recently updated. The rooms were spacious and once again really clean (altough like most Novotels these days, could do with new pillows!). There was a big bathroom with a shower over the bath (we did originally check into a room that had a walk-in shower, but no view so we asked to move and ended up with a shower over the bath but better view). Airconditioning in the rooms was great and a welcome feature and very cold. The pool / lounge / bar area on the roof was fantastic although quite windy. The view from our room was fantastic - looking at Torro Agbar and the Sagrada Familia and towards the hills of Barcelona.
We only ate dinner at the hotel once and wished we didnt. Well overpriced burger that I am sorry to say, we could have gotten better at a fast food joint. The meat wasnt cook through, there was a piece of lettuce and a piece of tomato and a handful of undercooked chips. The menu choice was far too limited, and not even a wine list could be looked at. The staff commented that they didnt offer one. Head out for dinner - it was really disappointing.
The location of the hotel was not as I was anticipating. Although close to public transport, with a tram stop just outside and metro a hundred meters away, it was just too far away from the hussle and bussle of the old area (it was about a 40-45 brisk walk) that I wanted. You couldnt just walk outside and wander around in the laneways, you had to catch transport to get there. However, Glories shopping centre is across the road (which has a massive supermarket with really cheap alcohol and snacks to stock the mini bar fridge) which was convenient with some great shops that open until late. In hindsight, I would stay at the Pullman at the beach, or closer to the old town next time.
Just a hint that if you catch a taxi from the old town, just ask for Torro Agar. Everyone knows it and its just across the road from the hotel. It was about 8E from the old town area (or the Port) to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the corner looking at the Barcelona Hills (Glories end of the hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, BCC Quality Deaprtment at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Leo,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment in TripAdvisor.
We are glad that the room with view at Torre Agbar and Sagrada Familia was at your convenience and that you enjoyed our hotel.
In what may concern the dinner, we are a little surprise about your comment. We will make sure that it passes to the kitchen department in order not to happen again. Regarding the menu choices, we are aware that it could be a little limited and are already trying to find solutions in order to improve the quality of our services.
We apologize if the location was not at your convenience.
We hope that your future stay in Barcelona will be more pleasant as the previous one.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimbergen, Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

as the title states, the hotel in itself is more than OK, located right next to the famous Torre Acbar, and next to the metro station from where you can visit any place you want in Barcelona. But from a Novotel, we expected more from the family room, which was really far too small and didn't even have a cupboard to put our clothes in. And breakfast was far from original and didn't stand out whatsoever. The pool/relaxing area on the hotel roof is a nice plus, and we did enjoy a great meal at the hotel's restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, BCC Quality Manager at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear all,

Thank you for leaving your comment in TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the location and the rooftop area of our hotel.
In what may concern the family room, we do propose bigger ones that have a separate area for the parents and the children. Our entire previous guests were always very satisfied with those bigger family rooms.
Regarding the breakfast, we apologize that you did not find it at your convenience. We are trying to match all our clients’ preferences. IT has a lot of meals and normally our guests appreciate it.
We hope seeing you again in your future trip to Barcelona and that your stay will be more pleasant than the previous one.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Novotel City Barcelona on a pre-cruise. The hotel is very well located near a metro station and just facing a nice little shopping center (Glories). We had a room on the 11th floor for 3 persons (2 adults and our 13yo daughter) with a view on the Aqbar tower. The hotel is in a Business Area so it is very quiet. The room was very spacious and comfortable and much larger than europeean standard. The room like the hotel was super clean and impecable. Service at the hotel was very good and staff very helpful. There is a pool on the 19 floor (roof), nice setup with a bar and long chair and of course a gym. Pool is am ok size but the water was very cold. The view from that floor is impressive. Only issue was with elevators, the room key is required to select your floor, several time we had to swipe the card several times to select our floor. Would definitively go back.

Room Tip: View to the Aqbar tower and upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, BCC Quality Manager at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Serge,

First of all we would like to thank you for leaving such positive comments in TripAdvisor.
What a pleasure seeing that the room, the rooftop area, our staff and service was at your convenience.
Regarding the key system, it is for the safety and security of our clients that we decided to have this system. The only thing is that if you put the card right to a mobile phone or any other electronic material, it could desactivate the card which could result by some issues using it in the elevators.
Again, thank you for sharing your comment and we hopeseeing you in your future stay to our lovely Barcelona.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Since we are a family of five, we cannot travel in Europe without getting two rooms. Novotel has a special rate to accommodate families like us. We also always purchase the package that included breakfast and have not been disappointed. Our kids loved the roof-top pool.

Room Tip: If you need adjoining rooms, it is best to call or email when you make your reservations to confirm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5560GM, BCC Quality Manager at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear all,

Thank you very much for sharing your lovely comment in TripAdvisor.
What a pleasure seeing that our special family rooms were at your convenience and that the breakfast and roof top pool were well appreciated.
We hope seeing you on your future stay to Barcelona.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Barcelona City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barcelona City

Address: Avenida Diagonal 201 | (entrada por calle Granada), 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#73 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#103 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barcelona City 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Barcelona City Hotel has 264 rooms (including 22 suites) and is located right in the heart of the city on Avenida Diagonal (one of the city's main streets), next to Plaza Glòries and 55 yards (50 m) from the Jean Nouvel Tower. The hotel features a Claravía restaurant, a bar, 6222 sq. ft (578 m2) of meeting rooms, an outdoor pool on the terrace with panoramic views of Barcelona and a fitness center. Easy access to the hotel via Ronda de Dalt and Ronda Litoral. (The swimming pool is open only from 1st June to 20th September 2011) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Barcelona City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barcelona City Hotel Barcelona
Novotel Barcelona City Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Barcelona City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.