We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“why queue all the time????????” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Barcelona City

Save Saved
You added Novotel Barcelona City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Barcelona City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Diagonal 201 | (entrada por calle Granada), 08018 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Novotel City Breaks
Ranked #75 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
europe
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
“why queue all the time????????”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

preface: via tripadvisor were searching for quiet hotel, not in the very center, but a bit off, but within minutes of a metro station.

booking: done directly at hotel, got us a good price for 6 nights towards end of october for a suite (#1601) with breakfast included

transfer: from airport BCN to hotel about 30 minutes, price about 33 EUR, same for transfer back; if you don’t have heavy luggage, take train to City, much cheaper

location: next to GLORIES metro station, takes you to center within minutes, no need to go by bus or tram, across the road a huge shopping center, most shops there open till 10 pm every day

check-in: arrived at 1130 am, were lucky that room was available, check in could be faster, but it seems, they take it very serious; checking-in and out sometimes quite exhausting, as there are often huge masses of guests at the desk queuing

room: a corner room, at the end of the floor, facing the beach front on one side, and up to Tibidabo to the NW, with the Torre Agba dominating the W/NW scene; suite has triangular living room area, and a bedroom area, that may be sealed off by two sliding doors; each of the rooms has their own a/c and flat screen tv. the living room area has a desk, a chair, a sofa, faces the beach front and part of the City; the bedroom faces City up to Tibidabo. great view of the City also at night – all glass fronts. no noise to be heard from main road, but you do hear the elevators moving up and down all the time, provided the a/c isn’t on, the latter is louder than the noise from the elevators, though they are about 10 meters away, on the other side of the hallway.
bathroom has tub and a shower, with the latter a bit narrow, and a toilet as well; there’s a second toilet in the part of the living room area, however, so small, that somebody who is a bit obese might get stuck in there ;-)
all in all however we had some good sleep, didn’t hear any neighbors around us. the room was kept clean and tidy all the time.
the living room area displays a charm of a tunnel of the metro system with regard to lighting, it simply lacks the one or the other ceiling lighting, to avoid a kind of halloween atmosphere (were there when there was halloween ;-)
by the way, in the summer the suite gets pounded by the sun from morning till evening, so a/c on all the times is a MUST then.

service: at the reception ok, despite the massive number of guests approaching the staff there. room-service an epic nuisance, takes two to understand that we want an omelet and a pizza, the latter being far away from a pizza with regard to taste. at least the staff that have direct contact to customers – room service indeed do – should speak some decent english.

breakfast: the lines on our 6 nights’ stay to get into the breakfast area got longer and longer day by day, with a queue on friday of about 10 meters, back to the bridge, almost reaching the reception, that is minimum waiting time of 20 minutes. the hotel has a big problem, too many guests want to have breakfast in too small a place, and that even at times when the hotel is NOT fully booked. it is a massive NUISANCE when you have to wait in line to be seated, because all tables are taken, and you do have a narrow schedule with regard to sight-seeing. once you have made it in there you have to queue again and wait, for eggs sunny side up, for bread, for plates, for milk, for…, for…. absolutely unacceptable!!!! if i was manager i’d do away with the ‘wine-wall’, and place the kids’ corner downstairs, that would increase space enormously, as well as also decrease bloodpressure of many a tourist waiting in line for 20 minutes and more, simply to get some more ar less standard breakfast.
after all this is a tourist hotel, and tourists don’t want to waste time in the breakfast area of a hotel waiting for lots of things, instead being downtown to enjoy the sights. by the way there’s a nice cafeteria in the adjacent building, no queues, all food available and at hand, as we saw when passing by.
when addressing the management because of the disastrous breakfast experiences, during our stay already, we got a standard excuse, addressing us not by our name, but by some french name, and we had signed the email with our name and room number, so far for management quality.

concluding, if we had to book again, yes, room was ok, but no breakfast, save the euros and get better breakfasts at other places, nearby or downtown, to where it takes less time than for waiting for breakfast in the hotel.

tips: * get rooms as far away from elevators as possible, in case you are noise sensitive
** no need to take the hop-on-hop-off busses, all sights and attractions may be reached easily by metro.
*** metro tickets cheap when you buy eg block of 10 (less than 10 euros)
**** DO BOOK tickets for sagrada familia on ticketmaster already at home, waiting times are enormous. try to get the 0900-1100 slot, be there at 0850, enter at ‘ticket-already’ entrance at 0900, and get up the towers immediately, later long waiting times as well ! enjoy your stay.


PS: why ** ? if all had been perfect, i'd give ****, the room was ok, but breakfast, as well as room service (pizza....) an epic nuisance, so 50% off, else i don't need any services from the hotel, as a sightseeing guest

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    694
    872
    142
    36
    20
See reviews for
892
394
78
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent 4 nights here with our three kids, and got two rooms with connecting doors. Nice rooms, delicate bathrooms and view to the Agbar tower. The hotel is situated near a metro station, and the mall Glories is a 5 minutes walk away, with restaurants and shopping facilities.

We only had one meal at the hotel, a room service dinner. The food was ok. We did not eat breakfast, as the restaurant was too crowded and noisy.

We booked the hotel because of the pool, and we were very disappointed when they told us that the pool was closed for the season - this was in the beginning of October. We found no information about season closure on the hotel's web site. Fortunately, the kids got a swim in the sea.

Room Tip: For families, call in advance to make sure you get rooms with connecting doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked 2 rooms and cannot fault anything about them.

The rooms were average size ideal for a max of 2 people.... I personally did not like the 'floor to ceiling' window (but thats me) .. others will differ.

We arrived after Midnight and were disappointed to find the Hotel bar was closed with neither food or drink available.

Checkin was late and night and staff were friendly and no problems.
House Cleaning staff were TOP CLASS (other hotels please take note) .. they worked without being obvious.
Big Thank You to Luggage Man .. very friendly (and TALL !!!), and to the girl behind the bar (sorry don't know her name .. but she wore glasses)
Girl on Check Out (12.00 - Thurs 25th) not very friendly when I queried the bill.

Would I stay here again or recommend the hotel to friends .. YES !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here in a superior suite with 2 children in August The staff were great and the room even better. The kids loved the games room. Plus points - room includes a nespresso machine and the hotel offers free wifi throughout the hotel. Breakfast, due to the number of people staying, was in the large basement conference room and felt like a cafeteria. location is slightly away from the main part of the city, but not too inconvenient and taxis not expensive.

Room Tip: splash out on a Superior Suite - the rooms are large and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Fine, typical Novotel style hotel. We 2 adults and 2 children (11,8) took a taxi from the airport to the hotel for 34 euros on a Sunday evening. The checkin was quick and friendly. The children got some playing cards and a dinosaur. Room was clean and a normal city hotel size. Our kids slept on the couch bed, that I wouldn't really recommend for older and/or heavier kids. Our bed however was very comfortable. We used the room service to order some pizzas, that weren't very good. Otherwise we didn't really have any complaints. The hotel is also in a good location, close to a mall and public transport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in October and were very pleased with the hotel. Comfortable rooms, spotlessly clean, good facilities including wifi that was available in the bedrooms and not just in the foyer. Very pleasant and helpful staff, and a name check for Jordi on the front desk who went to great trouble to try to obtain tickets for a game at the Nou Camp (For this however I would recommend just getting the metro or the no. 7 bus to the stadium and buying them yourself at about half the agency price, as we did eventually).

We didn't eat in the hotel apart from a tortilla and a burger on our first night when we got in about 11pm (food excellent and well presented from the bar). We found that breakfast was a fraction of the price in local cafes, but that's always the case with hotel restaurants.

We will stay here when we go back to Barca.

Room Tip: Some traffic noise with windows open so aim for a high room if you like having the windows open at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a very busy hotel with groups and air crews. With all this going on the staff kept their cool and were more than happy to assist where and as required. Long waits the lifts. We had a suite which was spacious and worth spending the extra for. Tourist bus, hop on and off, stop is just across the road which makes it ideal for sightseers. Big shopping center across the road also makes for a great location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Barcelona City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barcelona City

Address: Avenida Diagonal 201 | (entrada por calle Granada), 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#79 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barcelona City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Barcelona City Hotel has 264 rooms (including 22 suites) and is located right in the heart of the city on Avenida Diagonal (one of the city's main streets), next to Plaza Glòries and 55 yards (50 m) from the Jean Nouvel Tower. The hotel features a Claravía restaurant, a bar, 6222 sq. ft (578 m2) of meeting rooms, an outdoor pool on the terrace with panoramic views of Barcelona and a fitness center. Easy access to the hotel via Ronda de Dalt and Ronda Litoral. (The swimming pool is open only from 1st June to 20th September 2011) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Barcelona City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barcelona City Hotel Barcelona
Novotel Barcelona City Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Barcelona City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.