We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strong, Thick, Spanish Chocolate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Granja La Pallaresa

Granja La Pallaresa
Carrer de Petritxol 11, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,077 of 6,499 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: El Barri Gòtic
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Strong, Thick, Spanish Chocolate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Wonderful, hidden, Spanish cafe tucked away down Carrer de Petritxol street in the Gothic area of Barcelona. When our family went, there were two older gentlemen running the shop, I believe one was the owner, who was WONDERFUL! The hot chocolate was more of a thick, dark, chocolate pudding than the kind of hot chocolate I know. We are a family with three boys, and one cup of the famous hot chocolate with churros, along with other goodies would have been a better idea, than a cup for everyone. We enjoyed our first morning in Barcelona here, along with this Spanish tradition.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    92
    30
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
“BITTER DARK CHOCOLATE SERVED IN A RUN DOWN SHACK”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I have no idea what the fuss is about. This place is awful!
You buy your churros at a shop a few doors down and bring them into here to get the chocolate to dip them into.
1. The dipping chocolate for churros is always thick, bitter, plain chocolate. If you are expecting a yummy milk chocolate, forget it. This dark chocolate is horrible and thick.
2. The place itself is a bit of a dump. We were sat on 2 very uncomfortable seats and the table was actually just a slab of marble balancing on a wooden platform.

Do yourself a favour and don't bother with here. We tried 3 different chocolates and they were all horrible.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Merienda tradicional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is the place for Catalan (or, rather, Barcelonian traditional "merienda" or mid-afternoon snack. Not very comfortable, but you must do it if you want to feel local. Try the "suizo" or "suïs", hot chocolate with a generous topping of milk cream, the house speciality. Opening hours can be strange for a foreigner, so check in advance or be prepared to go another day (it's right in the city centre)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous afternoon snack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is a great place to stop for a break while walking around Old Town Barcelona. We ordered the famous Churro con Chocolate and it was wonderful! You dip the churro into the cup of chocolate. The chocolate was so thick and rich - not too sweet and without being bitter. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“What Fun! A Cup of Chocolate and Fresh Whipped Cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I can't decide if I liked the real whipped cream better or the chocolate. I want to try one more time before I leave Barcelona. I might try the chocolate by itself just to get the true taste....the whipped cream definitely changes the texture and taste of the chocolate. And, I might see if they have the traditional "sponge cakes" instead of the churros. All in all, my friends loved the cup of chocolate and cream. The chocolate is not hot and the cream makes it only warm. It did not matter, it tasted heavenly. It is on my favorite street in Barcelona ---narrow,a bit hard to find, difficult to pronounce ....but with unique shops along the way including a other sweet shops.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granja La Pallaresa also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Granja La Pallaresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granja La Pallaresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.