We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayre Hotel Rosellon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ayre Hotel Rosellon to your Saves list
Ayre Hotel Rosellon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer del Rossello 390, 08025 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We booked this hotel for one night as we were embarking on a Med cruise the next day and what a great choice it was.

Having been to Barcelona before and not having the opportunity to see inside the Sagrada Famiglia Basilica, we chose this hotel based solely on the proximity of the hotel to the church and wow!! - it couldn't have been closer!

We felt as if we could touch the steeples from our window...absolutely amazing view. And as I had booked entrance tickets to the church on line from Australia, it was a 3 minute walk to the church - how handy dandy is that.

Hotel was spick and span..clean as a whistle and the staff were probably the best hotel staff we have ever come across - super friendly, very polite, always ready to answer any query and genuinely nice.

Hop on Hop off bus stop was also just around the corner, as were many great bars and restaurants. Here again the staff shone with their helpful recommendations of where to eat.

No negatives for Ayre Hotel Rosellon - we loved staying there and we will hopefully return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations at Ayre Hotel Rosellon, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Ms Pang,

What more can I add to this incredible comment about us?. Thank you for your kind review about our hotel.What is fantastic is to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, since that is exactly what we strive to achieve, to give our guests a one-in-a-kind experience. Your clear description about our hotel and staff will help to future guests and we can assure you that we are going to keep working to improve these experiences.

Our warmest greetings,

N.Garzón
Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    260
    47
    20
    6
See reviews for
85
319
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My husband and I had a nice stay at Ayre Hotel Rosellon. I think the best part of this hotel is the front desk reception. Every worker was extremely friendly and helpful, and their English was nearly perfect. They all deserve a raise, in my opinion.

The hotel itself is in a good location. We didn't have a room that faced the Sagrada Familia because we wanted to save a little money any way we could. The view from the terrace is pretty fantastic, so even if you don't have a room that faces it, you'll get breathtaking views of it any time you make your way upstairs. It's a bit of a hike to La Rambla and el Barrio Gotico. We ended up getting a T-10 pass for the metro, and that made it a lot easier to get to all the different areas. We didn't find any good restaurants within a ten-minute walk, so that was a little disappointing.

The only reason I didn't give this a higher rating is that the room was small and pretty uncomfortable. The bed was really uncomfortable for my taste, and there were only two pillows, that were both VERY thin and flat.

Overall this was a good stay, but I think we'd probably try somewhere new if we're lucky enough to return to Barcelona. I'd prefer to stay in the L'Eixample neighborhood because we found the restaurants to be significantly better and it's a little more central to all things touristy. Hotels tend to be a little more expensive in that area, but I think it would be worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, at Ayre Hotel Rosellon, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking time to write this splendid review about our hotel and employees . Your words related to our staff make us extremely happy and gave meaning to what we do. We are very sorry to hear that you could not have a perfect stay due to the bed and the room itself. We provide an extra mattress which is composed of a latex layer for those who feel too hard our beds and furthermore, we can give pillows as many times as they are needed, with different shapes and thickness.

We would like to make it up on your next stay with us so we would be really glad to be your hosts soon again!

Thanks a lot again for your valuable comment,

Kindest Regards,

N.Garzón
Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

From the rooftop terrace, the Sagrada Familia is front and center and only two blocks away. The room was pleasant and the staff were truly friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was far and away the best we had on an 18 day trip to southern Europe. We spent three nights in this hotel and would happily return here. I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations at Ayre Hotel Rosellon, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Laura,

I am really touched by reading these kind lines about our hotel.Thank you very much for recommending us!
It really makes us glad to know we were one of the best experiences you tried during your trip in Europe. And the breakfast buffet is indeed a delight, isn't it?
We look forward to your next trip to Spain so we can share more happy experiences with you.

Warmest greetings,

D. Vásquez
Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boroughbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great medium sized hotel. Easy check in/out. Great front of house staff, friendly and helpful.
Breakfast choices good, freshly cooked to order, great range of fresh fruits, hams,cheeses, croissants and breads. Not sure about choice for gluten intolerances so suggest asking.
Our room was fab, simple, clean and good view of La Segrada Famillia. We were on the 8th Floor. Room was quiet, no street noise. Air con worked well and quiet. No tea/coffee in room but 4 bottles of water (2 still 2 sparkling) provided gratis in fridge.
I can recommend the Apple Martini in the bar!
The roof terrace is a great addition with seating and views! There is a bar up there but didn't seem to be open as there was maintenance work. Nothing that interfered with residents though.

We got the train from the airport. Takes about 40 mins, one change onto metro depart at La Segrada Familia. Exiting metro turn back on yourself, cross road, straight over to next block and turn right. 200m on left is rear entrance to hotel.
You can buy a 10 trip ticket on metro for 2 persons (you use the same ticket).cost about 11-12 euros. A great way to get around. You can also download a metro phone app which is really useful.
We found a fab restaurant in the Gottic quarter Called Bliss Barcelona. Frequented by locals and businessmen. The food and service spot on and really sensible prices + wifi. Its on a small side street off a square. We paid 12-14 eurose for a beer,fanta lemon, cheese plate which was the best Ive ever had, and included, 4 types of cheese, toasted bread, salted figs, raisins, apricots, strawberries, lettuce, jam. Amazing!
Take some good shoes, you walk miles.
Suggest booking La Segrada Famillia and Piccasso museum before you go as the queues are dreadful and the former you queue in the sun. Best time to visit morning or early evening. If visiting the Cathedral its free before 1pm but they are restoring the bell tower so I donated anyway!

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the side of La Segrada
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations at Ayre Hotel Rosellon, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a complete review about our hotel and our city. We're really happy that you had a wonderful trip in Barcelona and that we were a key part of it.

Thank you also for recommending our Apple Martini! I'll extend your congratulations to the bar staff and the rest of the team who helped build a great experience for you.

We look forward to your soon return!


Kindest Regards,

D. Vásquez
Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Taxi from airport to hotel cost approx 30euros, hotel is lovely, we had a view of the segarda familia which was amazing, it was spotlessly clean, with a safe, fridge and hairdryer, no iron or kettle though, we recommend you do the hop on hop off tour bus as tourist attractions are spread out, it's 27euro for one day or 35euro for two days, we did two days and it was the best money we spent, we seen everything and choose what we wanted to do as and when, we visited Barcelona stadium which was 23euro and well worth the money, we really enjoyed it, we also visited Tibidabo which is the highest part of the mountains, there is an amusement park there but we just went for the views which were breath taking and a photo opportunity, they only thing with visiting here is when u get off the bus u need to get a tram up the road (4euro each but we got taxi back for only 5euro) and then another tram up to the very top, which is 7euro with your entrance fee, it's quite easy and well worth the effort, there's a beautiful church there u can visit free of charge, the beach is beautiful and well worth a visit, we found drinks expensive and places spread out so I'd recommend buying a bottle at the airport and having a drink before u go out , over all we loved it and thanks to the tour bus felt we crammed as much in as was possible, u must visit the food market on la rambles it was so colourful and eye opening all the different foods and was very popular with tourists and locals, have a great time and not that we had any problems but keep your belongings safe and eyes in your bag, it's so busy xx

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations at Ayre Hotel Rosellon, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Kelly,

Thank you very much for taking time to write this review. We're sure your tourism guidelines for our city will help many of our future guests. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in the city and that we were part of your great Barcelona experience. We hope to have you soon back with us!

Kind Regards,

D. Vásquez
Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Being in such a great location in the city, it was kind of hard not to book here. I knew La Sagrada Familia was one block over, but didn't realize its magnitude til I got into my room. The staff was very accommodating, friendly and always ready to answer any question you have. Front desk personnel and bartenders, spoke great English. Rooms were very clean and the air conditioning rocked!! If I were to go back to Barcelona, I would book here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations at Ayre Hotel Rosellon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking time to write this wonderful review about us. We're pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. The views from the superior rooms are really worthy!
I'll extend your congratulations to the rest of my team as it encourages us to keep on working to fulfill and surpass your expectations.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Kind regards,

D. Vásquez
Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a triple room with a direct view of La Sagrada Familia. It was wonderful! Better than we could have hoped for. The location is very nice as it is just a couple blocks to the cathedral and the metro stop is just a block away. The cleaning staff did a great job in our room and all the people working at the front desk were very nice and helpful. We arrived at 3am and the staff was very nice and quick with the check-in process. They also informed us of how to acquire tickets to La Sagrada Familia and helped us look up available tours for the following day. The only downside to our stay here is that the wifi is not great. We could only connect about once a day and that was only after much frustration trying to connect. However, we did find that everywhere we traveled in Spain had the same wifi connection issues. Also the views from the rooftop terrace are incredible!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations at Ayre Hotel Rosellon, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.We're really glad you loved the splendid views from your room! We appreciate your positive comments about the cleanliness and attention of our staff as it encourages us to keep on working everyday to give a unique experience to our guests.

We apologize for the WIFI issue you went through. At the moment this is being taken care of and we expect to have it solved soon.

Thank you again for your recent stay and we hope to welcome you soon again .

Kind regards,

D. Vásquez
Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayre Hotel Rosellon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Hotel Rosellon

Address: Carrer del Rossello 390, 08025 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#71 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#80 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Hotel Rosellon 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Ayre Hotel Rosellon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Hotel Rosellon Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayre Hotel Rosellon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.