We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayre Hotel Rosellon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ayre Hotel Rosellon to your Saves list
Ayre Hotel Rosellon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer del Rossello 390, 08025 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good stay....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Modern, purpose built hotel 3 minutes from Sagrada Familia, 3 minutes from the metro and about 45 minutes walk to La Ramblas. The Bulding has a number of attractive features; large bedrooms (well that was the case with our rooms with view of Gaudi's cathedral), large bathrooms with plenty of shelving space to put toiletries, pleasant cafe/bar that served delicious prawns and tasty potatoes bravas, with a neat sitting/lying area adjacent for studying the cathedral and a largish terrace area on the top floor for viewing the cathedral with sun beds.

Breakfast, part self service, part waiting service, included a very good individual fruit salad with a large variety of fruits, the usual continental breakfast items and a choice of eggs, bacon sausage etc.

The service at reception, from the waiting staff and from housekeeping was efficient, friendly and helpful. However, there were some issues. The main problem for me was the heat; it was too hot. I checked with reception about reducing the temperature but was told all rooms were set to 21 degrees but I could switch off the heating. I did this but it was still too hot even with the slither of ventilation made possible by opening the one openable window. It's a pity that the other door/window is permanently locked, not just because of the ventilation but also it makes it impossible to take decent picture of the Sagrada Familia through the messy windows (that isn't a complaint about the windows, it would be very difficult to keep them shiny!).

Despite some niggles I liked this hotel and would recommend it

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations at Ayre Hotel Rosellon, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review.
We are glad you loved our facilities and you had a great trip while staying at ours. We´d definitely love you back staying here at ours!
We took note of your suggestion about the temperature and the Management is actually aware of the issue. We're trying different formulas in order to improve the comfort of our guests within our capabilities. Regarding the windows, we are sorry you found the locked. We are forced to do so because of previous noise complaints and locking them was the best way to soundproof them. Our rooftop terrace though is always open and there is possibility of taking great shots of the Sagrada Familia without the barrier of a glass.

Thank you again for your valuable opinion and we look forward to welcoming you again!

Kind Regards!

D. Vásquez
Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    261
    47
    20
    6
See reviews for
85
320
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I spent 2 nights in this hotel in September 2013.
It's a good comfortable modern hotel, conveniently located near the Sagrada Familia.
On the downside:
- Rooms on the street side a very noisy, despite modern double glazed windows. I had to change to the other side of the building. They charge significantly more for the quiet rooms, pretending they are bigger, which I find upsetting. Truth is that the quiet room are facing the back of the Sagrada Familia (which, to be honest, looks like the Chernobyl sarcophagus).
- I was not impressed by the staff, rather unprofessional in their attitude (one of a few examples: you are checking-in with one employee, then another guest comes and interrupt, and this employee then takes care of this other guest for a few minutes before taking care of me again - the whole situation was terribly rude, and an embarrassment).

Would I get back? Unconvinced, but why not,

Room Tip: Avoid street facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations at Ayre Hotel Rosellon, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving us your opinion.
We're delighted to know that you found our hotel comfortable, modern and well located. We are also glad to know that our staff could solve the noise issue you encountered so you could rest quietly.

We feel bad though to know that you were not impressed by our views to the unique Heritage-of-the World Sagrada Famlia. Impressions may vary from person to person so we respect your opinion and we would like to thank you for your honest review. We suggest trying standard rooms next time you stay at ours which also enjoy a good level of comfort and design.

We would also like to apologize about the impression you got about our staff. We do not understand what could have occurred so our clerk may have given priority to a different guest during your check-in unless there was a good reason to do so. We would love you to give us a second chance and demonstrate how good our staff service actually is as our attention is one of the best-rated features of our hotel.

We look forward to your soon return.

Kind Regards,


D. Vásquez
Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We booked this hotel online due to its proximity to the Sagrada Familia. We were pleasantly surprised and pleased with our selection. Opt for the breakfast (extra cost and well worth it). Great staff and superb location and excellent value.

Room Tip: Opt for a view of the Sagrada Familia
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations at Ayre Hotel Rosellon, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Gene,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We're really glad you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.
Its complete selection is ideal to recharge energies and start your day magnificently.
Thank you for recommending it! We hope you had a great year-end and we look forward to your soon return.

Kind Regards,

D. Vásquez
Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Excellent place to stay in Barcelona for travel, vacations or business. Great service, very nice and friendly staff and best value compared to other hotels within the same category and price range. I strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations at Ayre Hotel Rosellon, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Milan,

Thank you very much for recommending us!
We are really glad that your enjoyed your stays in our hotel.
We are looking forward to sharing more experiences with you when you come back.

Bones festes i fins aviat!

Kind Regards,

D. Vásquez
Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Ayre Hotel Rosellon is so perfect. It is just located on the opposite of La Sagrada Familia, and you can see the La Sagrada Familia inside your room. Although the room is relatively small, the service is so good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations at Ayre Hotel Rosellon, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate your taking your time to write us this brief review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found our service to be good.
We hope we have the chance to welcome you again on a future occasion.

Kind Regards,

D. Vásquez
Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Here is a good, clean, comfortable hotel in Barcelona. Well priced but with an unusual 25 Euro/day premium for a view of the perpetually swaddled-in-wraps and Potain-encircled Sagrada Familia. What you see, above humdrum city rooftops, is a heavily bandaged Gaudi icon, which is much better seen from the ground, about 200 meters away from the hotel. That said, the hotel has friendly, responsive staff, an ample breakfast with hot entrees to order, and a Nespresso machine that works when not attacked by hordes of guests simultaneously. The location is outstanding in terms of access to metro and bus, and within easy walking range of the Passeig de Gracia and the magnificent Sant Pau Hopital, now a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The room was comfortable and clean but bottled water was offered only on Day 1, and bathroom slippers had to be demanded. These were relatively minor minus points for an otherwise very pleasant stay. A recommended, value-for-money proposition.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view but not necessarily one of Sagrada Familia; in its present state, it isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations at Ayre Hotel Rosellon, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Arjun,

Thank you very much for your sincere opinion about our hotel.
We are glad that overall you had a great stay and you enjoyed everything our city has to offer from the comfort of our hotel.
We look forward to hosting you soon again!

Kind Regards,

D. Vásquez
Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I can highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a very good quality hotel with a great location, it is in a perfect area to get around the city. We used to the Metro (ony a few minutes from the hotel} to get around the city. The rooms are of a very high quality and very comfortable beds, We had a view of Sagrada Familia from our room window, great way to wake up in the morning.

The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful and understood and spoke English very well. The only thing that was a disappointment was the lack of staff in the bar, We went to the bar a few times , but unfortunately there was no staff available. I do not wish to end on a negative note. This was our first time in Barcelona , and the hotel and its staff made it a very pleasant experience. And I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a modern and high quality hotel. My wife and I will be returning in the New Year and will be using this hotel. Sharon & Anthony

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations at Ayre Hotel Rosellon, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Sharon and Anthony,

Thank you very much indeed for writing these lines for us. It really motivates to know that our guests are having good time while staying at ours.

We're glad you enjoyed the views of the church from the comfort of your room. They're really breathtaking!

We apologize for the absence of staff during the time that you were in the cafeteria. Our front desk is always willing to take your order while our waiters are busy serving other guests.

We appreciate your recommending us and we would be really delighted to have you staying with us again on the future.

Kindest Regards,

D. Vásquez
Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayre Hotel Rosellon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Hotel Rosellon

Address: Carrer del Rossello 390, 08025 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#71 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#81 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Hotel Rosellon 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ayre Hotel Rosellon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Hotel Rosellon Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayre Hotel Rosellon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.