We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel in fabulous location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayre Hotel Rosellon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ayre Hotel Rosellon to your Saves list
Ayre Hotel Rosellon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer del Rossello 390, 08025 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Netherlands
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Modern hotel in fabulous location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Hotel Rosellon is located in the street of the same name, just 1 block from the Sagrada Familia church. We found the hotel without any problem and were happy to learn we could park the car in the on site parking garage (at a charge). The check in was very friendly and we soon made our way to our beautiful, spacious and comfortable bedroom. Opening the blinds revealed an amazing view of the Sagrada Familia. Furthermore a large shower, plenty of place for our luggage and an excellent breakfast buffet. The metro is right around the corner.
If I have to name some minus points, it would be the beds that are quite hard and the fact that there is only 1 chair in the double room. Also, the room is not cheap, but that is true in most of Barcelona. All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are planning to visit the famous church.

Room Tip: Get a room on the rear with view of the church (extra charge may apply).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media at Ayre Hotel Rosellon, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to evaluate us. We are very glad that you found our hotel facilities nice and helpful. We will take your suggestion in consideration about the bed in order to improve the quality of our guests' stay. We appreciate your opinion and we hope you come back soon!

Kind Regards,

Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    296
    57
    25
    6
See reviews for
96
366
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I've just returned from a 3 night stay at ayre hotel Rosselon. I had the most amazing time in Barcelona so for anyone thinking taking a holiday there just do it!
Firstly the roof terrace is amazing! The best view possible of sagrada familia. The hotel seemed very quiet so often had the whole terrace to ourselves although it lacked any type of atmosphere for such an amazing space.
The location is also brilliant. 2
Minutes from a metro station and sagrada familia with lots of tapas restaurants and supermarkets on the doorstep.
The rooms were basic, clean and comfortable. Nothing that blew me away but certainly nothing to moan about either.
The only thing that slightly let this place down was the service on the front desk. Having stayed in a similar hotel in Paris where the staff had a fantastic knowledge and of the place and provided excellent service, the same couldn't be said here. Basic things like directions to a local restaurant, help on getting some snacks after a boozy night out and ideas for a good nightclub to go to seemed like hard work and we were misinformed about a few things.
Also make sure you iron everything before you go as they charge very hefty prices for their ironing service and don't allow you to borrow an iron.
All in all I would recommend this hotel and Barcelona for a lovely weekend break.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations at Ayre Hotel Rosellon, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Nikki,

Thank you very much indeed for your great review! We are so happy that you had a great time in town while you were staying at our hotel. We are surprised you got misinformed at our Front Desk. We apologize for the misunderstanding, though we hope that the courtesy characteristic of our staff had made you feel welcome. We do wish to make it up on your next stay here so we can surprise you!

Kind Regards,

Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was here for 4 days in April 2013. Of the 10 hotels I stayed in on this trip, this was one of the best. With a few concerns I list below.

The staff was excellent. Helpful, patient and conversed easily in English.

The brunch was top notch. Hot meals prepared on request. Champagne and a solid bar of expected items. Add the Nespresso coffee to make the experience grand.

I had a large room with twin beds. The twin beds were my second choice because double bed seemed too hard. Maybe two people on the same mattress stretches it to be extra hard.

My 1st day the room I was given was very small with a small double bed. But the staff corrected that ASAP to give me a room that was much better.

The church ( Sagrada Familia ) is a block away. I almost skipped the tour due to the large lines. But then I learned that a ticket purchased on TicketMaster.es gives immediate access without the line. Print the tickets at the La Caixa bank ATM across the street from the Church.

The location is a 30 minute walk to the center of town. But the metro is on the corner and its a 10 minute trip ( Blue and then Green ). I was door to door in less that 20 minutes to the farthest part of La Rambla. Very nice metro system. Easy to understand.

PS: Buy the T10 ticket from the desk at the airport or other main station, then skip the ticket machines.

Warning:
Taxi to the airport (Terminal 1) was 39.20Euros. Higher than I had expected.
And the rush hour traffic can be a problem.

The blue metro to the train is much cheaper and more predictable. The Aerobus is a good alternative, but then you have to take that same two hop trip to Catalunya with your baggage.

Room Tip: If you get a room you don't like, talk to the staff. They are very willing to help make your st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations at Ayre Hotel Rosellon, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! We are very happy that you liked our F&B service and our hotel overall. We appreciate your leaving your personal directions so you can help our next guests to make their experience a more pleasant one.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope to host you soon again!

Kind Regards,

Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent hotel. The location is just amazing, overlooking the sagrada familia which is great from the roof terrace. Located a 5 minute walk from metro stations which takes you to la rambla, playa de catalunya etc in less than 10 mins. Also around the corner is a lovely little park which also gives unbelievable views of the sagrada familia. Beware of over priced resturants/snacks from the stalls around this area as pricey due to touristy area but still good to try if you dont mind this. Our hotel room wasnt huge but perfect size for 2 nights. Extremely clean and great bathroom with huge walk in shower. Music plays throughout the corridors which is cool, nice atmosphere. Didnt book breakfast but it all looked good, although would urge you to go out and try the patissaries or cafes close by instead. All in all good value for money and best location. Glad i stumbled upon this place.

Room Tip: We had room 310 which overlooked a little side street with a butchers shop, bakery and a little bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations at Ayre Hotel Rosellon, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Jessie,

Thank you very much for your complete review about our hotel!

We are sure your comment will be very helpful for the next guests who stay at our hotel.

We really appreciate your opinion and we're glad that you had a great experience with us.

We look forward to your next stay with us!


Kind Regards,

Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

A fantastic little hotel. We were so happy to be given a room with a stunning view of the segrada famillia- you could even see right down to the sea. Rooms were small but comfortable. The bathroom was a good size with a lovely shower and really close to the metro! Roof top terrace was lovely- unfortunately the pool was closed, but it is a bit early in the year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations at Ayre Hotel Rosellon, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your good review! Indeed, on clear days the view from the superior rooms is just fantastic. We are waiting for the weather to get warmer so we can open once again our bar service at the terrace.
We feel so glad you had time at our hotel!
We'd love to have the chance to host you again on your next trip to our city.

Kind Regards,

Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Was there for 4 nights, arrived very early about 7.30 am, requested for early check in. Was very surprised that it was granted with no additional cost. Liked the decor of the room, modern but very warm. Had great view of the Sagrada Familia that was 5 minutes walk from hotel.Lots small quaint Spanish restaurants, fast food restaurants, supermarkets and very near to metro station. Very friendly staff. Only gumption was the shower cubicle was very tiny.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayre Hotel Rosellon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Hotel Rosellon

Address: Carrer del Rossello 390, 08025 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#66 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#66 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Hotel Rosellon 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ayre Hotel Rosellon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Hotel Rosellon Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayre Hotel Rosellon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.