We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The open air, tree-lined avenues and mimes at its end” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Rambla, 96

La Rambla, 96
La Rambla, 96, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)
* +34 (0) 93 3018179
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,051 of 6,406 Restaurants in Barcelona
Neighborhood: El Barri Gòtic
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: El Barri Gòtic
Saint-Martin, French West Indies
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The open air, tree-lined avenues and mimes at its end”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This summer, 2012, the Ramblas were very lively, but the artwork in stands along it was interesting and varied. And the streets stemming from it proved well worth the exploration, revealing both tasty and fine pastries, comfortable walking shoes, and very diverse types of boutiques.
The mimes, all quite different and surprising, produced laughs, and enjoyment whilst relieving tension from the heat and heavy flow of traffic on this busy avenue. I would need to go back to explore the streets on the sides of Las Ramblas in more detail.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great for one visit or the young”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We visited La Rambla with our college age children and they loved this stretch of pedestrian only shops and entertainment. It was filled with kids their age who seemed set on outshocking one another with their clothes and hair. They returned after my wife and I went to bed and stayed well into the night reporting a good time had by all. My wife and I returned with them the following night, and I can report that there is no need to go back a second time. Nothing new, no changes in the street entertainers or shills trying to part you with your money. You walk up and down this stretch in about an hour and it is food, drink and junk souveneirs. Nothing else here other than outrageous people and scantily clad young girls. Which is not a bad reason to keep going now that I think about it!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
“FAMOUS, INTERESTING, FUN, BUT PRICEY..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This being our second time here and coming off a ship which came in at the same time as several others, which meant thousands of tourists making their way to the street of La Rambla at the same time causing large crowds which was uncomfortable at times, and was probably a pickpockets dream come true. However we made the most of it and found it hadn't changed much apart from the prices, all the way up there are many stalls on either side selling just about everything at various prices some good some bad. And anything connected with Barcelona FC had a corresponding price to match, going down some side alleys we found some interesting shops selling various nick knacks, about halfway up you come across a very colourful Fruit & Meat market which is a very nice way to spend a couple of hours, going along La Rambla they have some stalls selling small live animals of all things, in between this you have the many "Street Entertainers" doing various things like living statues, monsters, clowns etc.
As for eating well, it's a buyers market but ! Beware the little outside cafes have these signs outside saying things like " Soup, Tapas, Paella, 3 in 1 for just 12 Euros each" Which seems a bargain until you sit down and attempt to order this and are politely told the "Offer" has just finished, so you order some snacks which seems quite cheap. Until, as i did and ordered a litre of beer and a fresh orange juice for my wife, and discovered the snack was cheap enough. But my beer cost 12 Euros and my wife's juice cost 8 Euros, meaning my beer cost roughly £10 & £5 respectfully, so beware of this little scam..I also think one walk up and down here is more than enough in a day as there is so much else to do in Barca, and do watch your valuables from pickpockets and the famous spot the ball with the three cups as it's an old gypsy scam and no one wins and like any major city it's full of illegal immigrants out to make a living from gullible tourists, other than that La Rambla is a fun place to visit once in a lifetime...

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fun Area and Lots to See and Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is the area to stay as it is close to everything and accessible to the subway. Many great places to eat, people watching and shops. Make sure to shop down all of the little alleys, those were great boutiques and unique shops. I think the red line is the way to go if you are only going to be in the city one or two days. You can see alot and you can pick it up in Las Ramba as well.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

After walking around the Gothic Quarter, we found La Rambla. Very nice place to walk around, shop, and eat and drink at the restaurants around the side walk and watch people. There are always too many people walking so its very easy to get robbed, just be aware of the pick pockets! Other than that, worthy seeing it!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rambla, 96 also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Rambla, 96? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rambla, 96, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.