We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel,Perfect Service...*****” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sixtytwo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sixtytwo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sixtytwo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig de Gracia 62, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 518 hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersGold level
Ankara, Turkey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel,Perfect Service...*****”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

The hotel is excellently situated on Passeig de Gracia, in L'Eixample. Although we arrived early on Monday, our room was ready, and had a private terrace as we requested. As soon as we entered to our room, they kindly sent a bottle of Cava and chocolate truffles as they knew that it was our honeymoon. Hotel's services were amazing. Everyone at the front desk was helpful, friendly.We really loved this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Thank you dear guest!
What make us happy is to see you happy!
Hope to see you soon... maybe your first anniversary? :-)
Best regards from Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    199
    50
    10
    8
See reviews for
71
298
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We'd love the hotel
Small an cozy, good Staff, confortable room

THE LOCATION IS PERFECT,

WE RECOMMEND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Thank you so much for such a nice review. Short but cannot be clearer!
Keep recommending us, we really do appreciate :-)
Best regards from Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

From the fresh red apples placed on a Bulls head at the entrance of the hotel to the Honesty Bar concept - Hotel SixtyTwo is a great experience! Unique in more ways than one, it issurely worth a visit. The staff was friendly and warm which helps. Our room felt warm on the first day and without much ado we were upgraded to the next available room! That is service :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Thank you dear guest!!
Our goal is always to make you live a great Sixtytwo Experience, and we are so happy to read we have fulfilled.
Great point to share it with other tripadvisors!
Next time you visit us, be ready to enjoy our new activities: wine tasting for free on wednesdays and our SIXTYTWO COCKTAIL LOUNGE from Thursday till Saturday evening, and Fridays with live jazz&blues music.
Keep travelling positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights in late May 2010 and had an amazing stay. The location on Passeig de Gracia could not be beat. Diagonally across the street is Casa Batllo and Casa Mila (La Pedrera) is a few blocks in the other direction. Also, the Metro/RENFE stop is about 2 steps from the front door of the hotel. It is less than a 10 minute walk to Placa de Cataluyna.

Our room (406, an Executive room) faced the inner courtyard and was spacious and quiet. We requested to look at a room facing the street (202). While the bathroom was much bigger, we were informed that the room darkening shades were broken. Room 406 was a great size (by European standards and even by American standards), had a large bathroom and a cozy sitting area. With the room darkening shades working in 406, it was an easy decision to pick this room. In retrospect, those room darkening shades are terrific and necessary to keep out the bright morning Barcelona sun.

Everyone at the front desk was helpful, friendly and willing to offer suggestions or advice. Montse was particularly helpful with answering all of our questions throughout our visit. (Thanks again Montse!)

The bang for your Euro here cannot be beat. Great room, great staff, free internet during the afternoon and evening, all in a great location for not a lot of money. It's worth far more than they are charging.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
We are the ones who must say WOOOW!! Thank you so much for sharing such a great review on Tripadvisor!
We are all, specially Montse, so happy to read you have had a great stay with us!! That encourage us to keep doing the best we know!!
Best regards from Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Excellent hotel with a fabulous service.
Location was close to every where in walking distance.
Services were amazing.
Honesty bar was a very creative idea , where you can drink and write what you drank on a piece of paper.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for sharing such a nice review with other tripadvisors!
Glad to read you appreciated our new bar concept called "Honesty Bar": be honest and serve yourself as if you were at home and just note your drinks + room number + signature on our HBar form.
Hope to welcome you soon!
Best regards from Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

This hotel is excellently situated on Passeig de Gracia, in L'Eixample neighborhood about 5 blocks from the Placa de Catalunya.
For our arrival, we took the Aerobus from the airport to the Placa for 5 Euros each and walked to the hotel. As we arrived very early and on a Sunday, our rooms weren't ready yet, but they stored our luggage and gave us a map & tourist booklet and sent us on our way.
If you are looking for this hotel on Google Earth from the photo-Street View layers, it is located between the green Casa del Libre bookstore awnings. As this is a photo from last year, the Hotel Sixtytwo awnings are not visible.

We found this hotel on Expedia, and got a good rate for Sunday-Thursday. We watched the prices go up, up, up for Friday/Saturday then they were sold out for those days. I believe there was a large trade show in town that ate up a lot of rooms for the weekend.

Our room was on the street side, and had a view of Gaudi's Casa Batllo', which was charmingly lit at night. Had seen some notes of complaint about street noise. Um, seriously? Through that double paned insulated glass? Hardly. There were electronic room-darkening blinds which we only used one night, as they really made the room dark and I prefer light in the morning to so I can haul myself out of bed to start sightseeing at a reasonable hour.

The small balcony had a lovely wrought iron railing.

Our room for Sun-Thurs. was # 402, and was quite spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom was the largest I have seen in a European city hotel. Everything was very modern, and the toiletries were of nice quality. There was a tub with a detachable shower spray, typical of what we have seen in nicer hotels in Europe. Was I going to splash all over the place as usual? Yep. Can't get the hang of those things! But wait! there was a hidden shower room that was a dedicated shower with a door! Awesome! No more splashing around!
The bathroom had a large sink and vanity area, and a short roll-away set of shelves for storage. Then a closed off toilet room and the shower room, both with a shared sliding door, and the tub.

We had a queen size bed and a useful low shelf about 2 feet wide running the entire width at the foot of the bed. Generous closet space, mini bar/fridge, safe, funny orange chair, and a desk that we did not use.

The lobby was not large, but bright and always attended. The cleaning times varied from about 10-5. There was a breakfast buffet available, but we did not use this service. It was abuot 20 Euro per person, and we prefered a smaller meal.

On the first floor (2nd floor for Americans), there was an open lounge, 2 computers for general use, and an honesty bar. You were welcome to have drinks and just write down your room number, and they would add it to your bill. The breakfast buffet was served here also. We had to wait a few times for the computers to be free, but with a lovely lounge overlooking the Passeig de Gracia, it was hardly a bother.

The hotel is right next to a metro entrance- the large Passeig de Gracia station.

As Friday/Saturday were at first beyond our budget and then full, we moved to a different hotel for those nights. Unfortunately, due to the closure of the Barcelona Airport for part of our departure day, we were stuck in Barcelona for an extra day, and we returned Here to Hotel Sixtytwo. I say stuck, since we had to trudge back into town with no hotel or really a clear picture of what we were supposed to do with ourselves of for how long. The airline gave us an estimated departure time of 5 days later! We booked for one night, and it eventually turned out that was all we needed.

Our second room was on the 3rd floor facing the back courtyard. It was smaller, no separate shower room, no shelf at the end of the bed, but what must have been a large balcony was converted into a small room with a fabulous and deep room-width couch thingy. This was perfect for our day of confusion, as we ended up spending most of the day on the couch.

A couple of notes- The satellite TV was iffy, sometimes you got all the channels, sometimes some of the channels, sometimes none of the channels. The second room had A/C problems, and we couldn't get the temperature to regulate, despite several attempts from the front desk staff. I believe this was a known problem, and they did try to adjust it for us. In April it was bearable. In August? Perhaps not.

This hotel is under new management within the past year, and they have done a lovely job. It is 4 Stars, and really- the location is wonderful- so close to the metro! There are great restaurants around, and it is in close proximity to the Casa Battlo, La Pedrera and the interesting Antoni Tapies Foundation. We especially enjoyed the Cerveceria Catalunya for tapas.

We paid $162 USD per night for the 5 nights we were there. Rates higher on weekends and when they are more booked up I suppose. We paid $240 USD for that extra night at the end for a smaller room on the back.

Wi Fi was 12 Euro per day, so we did not hook up to that, prefering to use the lounge computers for free or the cafe a few doors down had free wi-fi.

We really liked this hotel, and would stay again at the $162 USD rate. That was a bargain for this class hotel in this neighborhood on this street. The $240 rate was more typical for what you would see right around here. The area is filled with every sort of lodging from cheap hostels to fabulous 5 Star wonders. We certainly don't fit into either of those extreme categories, and were very happy at Hotel Sixtytwo.

Oh- all the front desk staff spoke English and were always polite.

I think once word gets out about this hotel it will not only be more difficult to get a room, but you won't be able to get any rates under $200 USD. Book now! There are maybe 45 or so rooms.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izaka62, Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for such a positive feed back !!

All the team has been really satisfied to read you enjoyed your SixtyTwo experience . There is no doubt your review will help other travellers.

We would like to underline the fact the satellite was under some maintenance and now it is working properly, and the second room A/C problems have been fixed and we assure you a cool summer indoors (outdoors the temperatures are keep rising...).

Best regards from Barcelona and keep enjoying your holidays

Àlex Tétard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010 via mobile

I had a terrible experience with this hotel during the above incident. I emailed asking if there was any flexibility around the cancellation policy and reveived no reply. I called and was informed that there was no flexibility, I then tried to re-arrange for a later date but despite numerous phone calls and emails could not get a confirmation of this booking. I decided to cancel And book with another hotel, they have not even had the courtesy to email me back to confirm my cancellation.
Very poor experience and I am now glad I will not be staying there.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Dear PStephe1,
Maybe if it would have been possible to reschedule (with more flexibility) a new stay at the Sixtytwo, you would have been very pleased. We will definately never know...
We really do hope you spend a nice time in Barcelona anyway and be sure the Sixtytwo booking department always try to do its best, including applying cancellation policies but also rescheduling stays and compensating.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sixtytwo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sixtytwo Hotel

Address: Passeig de Gracia 62, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sixtytwo Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sixtytwo Hotel Barcelona is the perfect hotel for those who enjoy the finer things in life and who appreciate privacy and personalised service. Located on the emblematic Paseo de Gracia surrounded by Barcelona’s best shopping, it is right in the heart of the latest fashion trends and Gaudi’s most representative buildings. The Sixtytwo is an authentic boutique hotel where design and modernism harmonise perfectly.Located between Gaudi’s Casa Batlló and La Pedrera, The Sixtytwo has preserved its 1897 modernist façade and interiors and coupled them with designer furnishings. Tasteful touches courtesy of Moooi, Vitra, B&B and Philippe Starck give life to the hotel lobby and lounge, while the comfort of its 45 rooms is in part thanks to televisions by Bang&Olufsen, telephones by Jacob Jensen, taps by Tangent, Etro bathroom products, iPod stations, intelligent lighting systems and Nespresso coffee machines. At The Sixtytwo, all guests enjoy complimentary internet access. Our breakfast offer, including both a buffet prepared with fresh quality products as well as dishes à la carte cooked to order, will not leave you indifferent.The Sixtytwo Cocktail Lounge is open from 5pm until midnight. With a peaceful and cosmopolitan ambience, it is a meeting point for those in search of an extended wine list and a varied gin and tonic selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Sixtytwo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
62 Hotel
Sixtytwo Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sixtytwo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.