We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sixtytwo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sixtytwo Hotel to your Saves list
Sixtytwo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig de Gracia 62, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed there for three four days and enjoyed it! The stuff was helpful at all times: recommending a place to dine out and go out. Every time it was a blast. The room itself was pretty good. We stayed on the 3rd floor, the view out of the window wasn't particularly great as we could see blocks of flats. However the central location made up for this, so it wasn't far to all the shops, restaurants and sightseeing destinations, i.e. La Pedrera was just few steps away.
All in all, great stay and I will definitely stay there next time I'm in Barcelona!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Hotel Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Wooow! Thank you for sharing such a great comment with other tripadvisors!
The whole Sixtytwo Team will be more than pleased to welcome you again as soon as you wish :-)
Best regards from Barcelona,
Alex Tetard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    234
    52
    11
    8
See reviews for
95
375
30
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kearney, Nebraska
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by friendly, English speaking staff at check in, who volunteered to hold our bags before our check in time. Our room was spotless, and even smelled clean. Comfortable beds, quiet, good temp control.
I looked at the last two reviews and agree with "Luxurious Hotel in Barcelona" and I just didn't have any of the complaints of "Not a 4 star hotel" had (maybe they got a bad room). We had no problems with the free wifi.
We'll stay there again in September.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Hotel Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
"good spot, good hotel, good people" and let's add "good guest" :-)
Thank you so much for sharing your Sixtytwo Experience with other tripadvisors!
We will be glad to welcome you again in September.
Wish you a great summer,
Alex Tetard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

After a long gap, we finally had a wonderful time together. And, the credit goes to my husband, who booked this accommodation for our stay. What a fantastic place! Impressive entrance, luxurious rooms, amazing food, good bathroom facilities, etc ... all this was wonderful. Staff here was - the best! I really enjoyed a lot and will recommend all my friends to visit the place once.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Hotel Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Wooow! Thank you so much for such a great review.
And thank you to your husband too! :-)
Wish you the best,
Alex Tetard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked this hotel mostly because of good reviews on tripadvisor. But the truth is that there are too many things wrong with this hotel on too many levels.

The only two good things about the hotel are the cleanliness and the location. It is possible to reach any major Barcelona attraction form there either on foot or by metro. There is even a direct train line to Figueres just around the corner. Unfortunately, that concludes all the positives.

We booked a triple room figuring it would be large enough for two people, but discovered that it's barely fit for one. Beds occupy most of the room and it is hard to walk around them. There is absolutely no room for luggage. We had to be very inventive and rearrange the furniture to fit two medium suitcases. The only places you can dwell when in the room is on top of the beds. The beds are too soft and bend underneath you providing no sleep comfort. Also you can easily fall off from them if too close to the edge.

The closet has a heavy sliding doors with double mirrors. When opened it completely cuts you off from toilet, corridor and exit. The mirrors cloak the passage so it is likely to smash into them accidentally if not warned by your fellow companions.

The windows handles are removed, so no fresh air can be let in. The air conditioning hums strongly when on the minimum and thunders and roars when on the maximum. So imagine sleeping in such room without any fresh air or cooling.

The bathroom appears nice, but it has three serious flaws: 1) flushing the toilet results in a fountain-like content spraying all over the place or even you if you are not a quick jumper; 2) the sliding transparent doors leave 1-2 inches of lateral gap providing zero privacy; 3) the potential smell from e.g. "number two" spreads to room quicker than being sucked into the ventilation.

The internet was free of charge, but there was no adequate table for a laptop and no chair in the room. Since the hotel had no lobby, the only way I could use the internet was from the bed in a lying position like a teenager. The connection was so bad that I actually had to use another free access WiFi which did not belong to the hotel.

The isolation from the outside noise is good, but not from other rooms or the corridor. You can literary understand every word whispered behind the wall. Even if you switch your own noisy air conditioner off, the one from the next room will annoy you for sure. And on those rare occasions when you escape that disturbance, the motor driven blinds will make it up for you. Also, continuously while any of the lights are on, the room is filled with an irritating cricket-like noise.

I could go on counting dozens of other minor irritating things, but I believe you've got the picture. With all the noise, the lack of fresh air and the lack of space in what should be a triple room, the Sixtytwo hotel will put your family integrity or friendship to the ultimate test. If you wish to see how really close and devoted you are to each other, look no further. Otherwise, for the money they are charging I am sure you can get a much better deal in Barcelona.

Room Tip: If you have money to throw away book a luxury deluxe room which is probaly the only good room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Hotel Manager at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your "Sixtytwo Experience" with other guests.
We really do appreciate you underlining our prime location and our cleaning service.
Unfortunately, it is clear that this was all and believe we are really sorry for that.
It is a pity we were not able to know all these points during your stay. We could have shown you were the Sixtytwo lounge is, leave you the openning window system, take your empty luggage in order to give your more space, check the wifi system or give you an ADSL cable in order to give you a prime connection, etc.
Some structure issues were definately not easy to solve, but many others it would have been a pleasure at least to try.
Believe the purpose of our day work is not to irritate you, but the total opposite.
Sorry again for all what went wrong.
Wish you the best in your future travels,
Best regards,
Àlex Tetard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Great location. You are just in the middle of the action.

This place has seen better days, overall look is tired and in need of serious TLC. Toilette smelt of raw sewage, in fact it was really strong.

I travel to Barcelona on a regular basis due to business commitments. During my one night stay there was no Internet at all, despite been promised that it would only be a matter of hours which was not the case. I had to make alternative arrangements to get vital work done.

At check out I left my details for the director to contact me and discuss this issue further. As did not hear anything I called the day after and was told that I'd be contacted during the same day, to my utter disappointment this was not the case.

Based on this experience I will never stay again.

Thanks for reading, Gabriel

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Director General at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Gabriel,
We are really sorry for all the inconvenience you had during your stay. We are used to give for free to all our guests a good wifi connection. It is correct we had a serious wifi problem during your night stay and we were 16h without offering that service.
As explained on both emails sent directly to you, sorry again for answering you 48h after your departure and we keep our promise to offer you a great deal for your next business visit to Barcelona.
At your entire disposal,
Àlex Tetard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

i would say the location is about the best thing about this hotel, as the area is surrounded by high end shops & lots of local cafes and restaurants to discover, and has a few touristic attractions 5 minutes away for those of you who are interested in them.

The area passeig de Garcia is bit quieter than other area's in Barcelona which i liked there's a feel of sophistication

the room needs major renovation, the bed mattress was very old and uncomfortable, the bathroom door was broken, the whole design of the room is old! and needs to be revamped!

it didn't feel like a hotel but more like a barely serviced apartment room, the staff are sometimes friendly and sometimes are just not feeling it. the television is very tiny and useless.
i wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: "The executive room is just fine, don't go for the upgrade nothing special"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Director General at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for underlining the fact that The Sixtytwo has a great location. We take all your words into consideration and inform you we really try to keep our rooms updated. Be informed for example in these next 6 months new TVs will be available in our rooms with a new channel offer.
Wish you the best in your future travels.
Best regards,
Àlex Tetard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sixtytwo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sixtytwo Hotel

Address: Passeig de Gracia 62, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#16 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#76 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sixtytwo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sixtytwo Hotel Barcelona is the perfect hotel for those who enjoy the finer things in life and who appreciate privacy and personalised service. Located on the emblematic Paseo de Gracia surrounded by Barcelona’s best shopping, it is right in the heart of the latest fashion trends and Gaudi’s most representative buildings. The Sixtytwo is an authentic boutique hotel where design and modernism harmonise perfectly.Located between Gaudi’s Casa Batlló and La Pedrera, The Sixtytwo has preserved its 1897 modernist façade and interiors and coupled them with designer furnishings. Tasteful touches courtesy of Moooi, Vitra, B&B and Philippe Starck give life to the hotel lobby and lounge, while the comfort of its 45 rooms is in part thanks to televisions by Bang&Olufsen, telephones by Jacob Jensen, taps by Tangent, Etro bathroom products, iPod stations, intelligent lighting systems and Nespresso coffee machines. At The Sixtytwo, all guests enjoy complimentary internet access. Our breakfast offer, including both a buffet prepared with fresh quality products as well as dishes à la carte cooked to order, will not leave you indifferent.The Sixtytwo Cocktail Lounge is open from 5pm until midnight. With a peaceful and cosmopolitan ambience, it is a meeting point for those in search of an extended wine list and a varied gin and tonic selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Escapio, Splendia, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Sixtytwo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
62 Hotel
Sixtytwo Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sixtytwo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.