We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelona Argentine Steak House” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Parrilla Alfonsina

Restaurante Parrilla Alfonsina
Diputacio, 379, 08013 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
+34 932 46 91 68
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 30% *
Restaurante Parrilla Alfonsina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
*Some exclusions may apply.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #179 of 6,373 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $29 - $43
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Eixample
Miami
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Barcelona Argentine Steak House”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My view is that this small restaurant just east of the city center is overrated. Price is reasonable as Barcelona restaurants go but anyone expecting a Morton's or Palm quality steak surely will be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    181
    55
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Excellent restaurant recommended by friends. Steak was beautifully cooked and my wife had a lovely piece of salmon. The service was exceptional.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Delicious freshly prepared empanada's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We decided to visit Parrilla Alfonsina based upon it's ratings on tripadvisor. The restaurant is very quaint and authentic. We made an early (for Barcelona) reservation for 1pm lunch. We were the first table to arrive but it filled up quickly. We chose the lunch special which included freshly baked bread, meat filled empanada's, baked cheese (my favorite), beef steak served with fried potatoes and also a bottomless glass of house wine. The price was around 45.00 EUR for two which I consider fairly reasonable. I have to admit I enjoyed the empanada's and baked cheese much more than the steak. The steak was good but not the best I have eaten. In fact it was a little tough. I would recommend this restaurant but if I returned I would probably just order tapas. Thank you Restaurante Parrila Alfonsina for the homemade lunch!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Danmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meat since I was in Argentina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had the sirloin with potatoes and cream of spinach.
The sirloin was extremely tender and perfect made, and I believe its the best meat I have had since I lived in argentina back in 2006.
The winelist could be a bit more extensive, as it only had wines from Valentin Bianchi.
Perfect dinner and will definitly go back next time i visit Barcelona

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Meat extraordinaire !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A small pearl hidden away in Barcelona
If you like steaks/meat this could be the best place to go in Barcelona. The focus is on the meat which is excellent and cooked to perfection. The place is small with limited seating and does not pretend to be anything else than what it is a temple for the meat
Do not expect much focus on the side orders but appreciate instead the extremely high quality of the meat
We had some challenges making the reservation as the very kind and smiling staff "prefers" to speak Spanish but the challenges of the language aside they still managed to serve us very well and gave us one of the best restaurant experiences in Barcelona !
If you are not a vegetarian you HAVE TO VISIT this fantastic restaurant
BTW - you can enjoy and get rid of your hunger even on a tight budget as the prices are ridiculously low !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Parrilla Alfonsina also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurante Parrilla Alfonsina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Parrilla Alfonsina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.