We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Parrilla Alfonsina

Restaurante Parrilla Alfonsina
Diputacio, 379, 08013 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
+34 932 46 91 68
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 30% *
Restaurante Parrilla Alfonsina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
*Some exclusions may apply.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #176 of 6,365 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $29 - $43
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Eixample
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Couldnt believe our luck when we found that Alfonsina was just round the corner from our Hotel and it was my Birthday. We both had a lovely lovely meal with great service, complimentary birthday Cava and amazing steak all partaken in a very chilled and relaxed atmosphere. prices for steaks start about 18 euros which for a special night out is no problem in fact i wish i was rich enough to eat here regularly. nice mix of clued up tourists and locals

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    180
    55
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
“nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

i really cant understand, why it is so hight in this top, be careful, it can be disappointment! Steak was normal, service nice, romance 0. May be for some other people it could be better, but for us it was first and last time!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews - superb steaks..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Based on Tripadvisor reviews took my son for special 21st birthday meal. Arrived close to 4pm and they were closing but they kindly let us eat and I am very glad they did!. Whole meal really was excellent, steak superb and overall really good value. Worth the trip to get there. Very friendly and attentive staff. A real gem!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best steak ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Although I'm not a steak fan but this steak is a must try in barcelona. We were surrounded by the lovely welcomes upon arrival. The complimentary hot bread was realy good that I asked for another basket. Don't miss the fried stuffed meat for appetizer. For main dish I got the ribeye steak with no sauce as recommended by alfonsina. Being a 30 minutes away (by walking) from La Ramblas to get there, I would recommend getting there by taxi.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Just like friends we have known for a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Beyond all the great food Alfonsina and her husband (the owners) made us feel like family. Perhaps we had a connection because we have also been to Buenos Aires. This is a charming restaurant. We were the first reservations at 8 pm, but Alfonsina got us comfortably seated and chatted with us for a few minutes before other guests arrived. The food is great. The steak is the best I have had in Europe (which is not a very high bar), but are almost as good as the best in Buenos Aires. I had several in Buenos Aires that were not as good as this. I had the largest steak, but could have had the smaller size because we also had the excellent pasta stuffed with pumpkin and the sweet breads. I may be the unusual person who likes sweet breads, but they are big in Buenos Aires. Even the least expensive bottle of Malbec (about 13 euros) was quite good. Few places in Europe can you have great appetizers, salad, steak, drinks, wine, and desert for $40 per person. Of course, you could easily spend a lot less. It is a small place where you get a lot of attention. Speaking English is no problem here nor is reading the menu. It is also a five-minute easy walk from the Metro station in a very well-lit area. I recommend a 9 pm dinner or later.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Parrilla Alfonsina also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurante Parrilla Alfonsina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Parrilla Alfonsina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.