We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay For Sure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Catedral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Catedral to your Saves list
Catalonia Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ dels Arcs, 10, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stay For Sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

To echo others' comments, this is a superb hotel with even better staff. The location is excellent with a gracious tone. Food is top notch and reasonable. You can't say enough about the staff from check in to the restaurant, completely on top of their game for efficient and friendly service. If in Barcelona you can't go wrong staying here. I'll be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    230
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
138
354
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

After reading excellent reviews for this hotel we decided to book to stay here. The first thing you will notice about this place is the staff, they are so friendly an professional possibly the best hotel we have ever stayed in for that. Nothing is too much to ask, we were checking out early on our final day (a little earlier than when breakfast is due to start) we asked if anything would be available to eat for a slightly earlier time and we were told they would open early just for us or pack us some breakfast to take away with us- which was just so nice of them. At breakfast time you had plenty of choice, I had my birthday our there and they even have Cava open so we had a Buck's Fizz!
The location of the hotel is fantastic too, situated in the heart of the gothic quarter very close to the Catedral, this hotel is very quiet given it's location as it is situated around the corner from the main areas and also a very short walk to the infamous Ramblas.
Also a nice touch is the roof terrace with pool, the weather was very nice or early May and we sat and sunbathed on the roof it was lovely.
If we ever come back to Barcelona (which we will because it is a stunning city) we will definitely book to stay here again, it ticks every box.
Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We arrived by bus from the airport and the hotel is a short walk from Placa de Catalunya down Av Portal de lAngel. At 11am we were expecting to leave our bags but after a quick check the staff told us there was a room ready which was great as we were 3 hours early!! We unpacked were furnished with a map and went out for sightseeing and lunch. On our return a few hours later we found the toilet in our bathroom was broken, within 10 minutes we were relocated to another room. First room was 308 the second was 407. Only slight differences between the rooms were the first had a bidet, and a view of that was not overlooked. The second was slightly bigger with a smaller bathroom but our window met the walkway opposite which meant passers by could see straight in. We kept the curtains drawn and it wasn't much of a problem. The room facilities were good, very big comfortable bed, tea and coffee, mini bar, toiletries and hair dryer. The room was perfectly clean and there was also a turndown service including chocolates. The Shower was by far the best feature of the room.
We did not have breakfast as we thought €19 was a bit pricey, however we found two doors away we could get a croissant and a coffee for €1.95 or brunch sandwich and a drink for £4.95, which was great for a quick simple bite before sightseeing.
The hotel is seconds walk from the Cathedral, a few minutes walk to the roman walls and about 15 minutes to the sea front. The Ramblas is nearby and Catalunya Metro station I would say is the closest
We used the pool and rooftop area to relax and sunbathe which was a nice bonus on a warm day.
We were able to leave our bags after checkout and were reassured of their when they were tagged and we were given a receipt. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a lovely stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choose us for your stay in Barcelona.

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was wonderful!

We take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilities.

We constantly strive to exceed our guests expectation and it is extremely satisfying to read that our efforts do not go unnoticed.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Catalonia Catedral Hotel.

Kind regards,

R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the north
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Perfect location for sightseeing and shopping.
this hotel is beautifully clean, has good furniture and bed linen and excellent quality pillows.
The swimming pool is an added bonus after a days hard sightseeing.
we had room 403 top floor.lovely room with a private terrace.the terrace had a door leading directly onto to the pool area.the terrace was furnished also.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The location can't be beat; the tasteful contemporary renovation is attractive and comfortable, but it is the knowledgeable, hard-working, friendly staff that makes this hotel a gem. The front desk can recommend a full range of eating options, from local tapas hangouts, to gourmet restaurants, to dining options in highly engaging historical buildings. They troubleshooted our travel arrangements with persistence. But it is the lavish breakfast - the very best we found in Barcelona and three Andalusia hotels ranging from 3-5 stars - that makes Catalonia Catedral extraordinary. The food is stunningly presented and constantly refreshed; the choices in every category are large and outstanding; the table settings and convenient service are a pleasure; and the staff's attention to questions and individual guest needs and desires exceed expectations. A great way to begin each day!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the street - Carrer dels Arcs - provides pretty constant entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choose us for your stay in Barcelona.

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was wonderful!

We take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilities.

We constantly strive to exceed our guests expectation and it is extremely satisfying to read that our efforts do not go unnoticed.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Catalonia Catedral Hotel.

Kind regards,

R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Quiet hotel in the city center. Good cleanliness, good breakfast. Non-heated swimming pool, comfortable beds, but not stable - easy to slide off. Helpful staff and a drunk bartender. Despite the small flaws I recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate the time taken to write your comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. We take into consideration your review to work in those aspects that need to be changed.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, for giving us another chance to exceed your highest expectations.
Yours faithfully,
R.Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights and it was very good. Nice receptionists, clear and quiet room and good service. At the top floor is great sitting with swimming pool. Position near the catedral is big benefit.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choose us for your stay in Barcelona.

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was wonderful!

We take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilities.

We constantly strive to exceed our guests expectation and it is extremely satisfying to read that our efforts do not go unnoticed.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Catalonia Catedral Hotel.

Kind regards,

R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Catedral

Address: C/ dels Arcs, 10, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enovated modernist building, Catalonia Catedral Hotel is located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona.The hotel is by the Cathedral, Plaça Sant Jaume and the unavoidable Portal de l’Àngel. After a day of shopping, cultural visits or just walk down city enjoys a drink in the lobby bar or the international cuisine in the warm Restaurant or just rest of the bustle of the downtown without leaving it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Catedral Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.