We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Catedral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Catedral to your Saves list
Catalonia Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ dels Arcs, 10, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't hesitate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night in December ’13 after staying near Sagrada Familia for a few nights. The location was an absolute winner; the quaint Spanish balconies towering above a designer clothes shop, and a short walk away from Plaça Reial, where Jamboree Jazz club is (really good if you like live music). I can’t praise the staff enough – they were charming, helpful and just pure class. Here’s why: When we first got there, we had two twin beds instead of the double bed we had booked; the same mistake was made at our previous hotel but as it was our last night in Barcelona we really wanted to change rooms. I sat at the bar (very designer chic) with an appropriately large Sangria while the room change was made and we were quickly relocated to a lovely modish double room at the end of the hallway. We checked out in a hurry on the morning of New Year’s Eve and I accidentally left my phone in the room – only realising when I got to the airport. But here I am, a few days later with my phone in my hand. They found it for me and sent it over to the UK securely with little to no hassle at all. When I come back to Barcelona I’ll definitely stay here – I might even cartwheel into reception just to show them how great they are.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    230
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
138
355
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed during August over the bank holiday and was very impressed with the hotel overall and the location. It's right across from the cathedral in a very central location and, the best thing about it for me, it had a roof top pool which was great for cooling off after a long days sightseeing. Rooms are a reasonable size for a city centre hotel and very clean and quiet, especially considering you're right in the centre of the city with great access to all attractions, transport, restaurants and the beach. Very friendly staff, helpful and efficient. Would recommend as a smart modern hotel in a very central location

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a really good hotel, and one of the best we've stayed in.

Location is excellent. Short walk to Las Ramblas and the cathedral. The nearest metro is close.

The room was immaculately clean, well-serviced, and quiet. No problems with noise whatsoever. Decor was smart and modern.

Staff were friendly and very helpful. We left in quite a rush and I forgot my keys for home. I sent them an email on arrival home and they returned my keys within two days and at no cost.

Excellent and I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
R.Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed during December when the area in front of the Cathedral is bursting with Christmas Market life, and we loved this. The markets are busy but good fun and there are some great restaurants and bars right on the square. The staff gave us a warm welcome and we were escorted to our room. We were offered maps, travel advice and a welcome glass of Cava. Upon entering the room we did find it to be smaller than we expected but as the staff we so warm we didn't want to complain. Really good shower and plenty of towels but no robes which I always assume will be included. We had a drink at the bar (took 10 mins to get served because the lone waitress was serving food as well) but she was most apologetic and friendly so we didn't mind. Great selection of gin and vodka for cocktails but they are on the expensive side. Found the mini-bar to be much better value. Breakfast was delicious. Upon checking out we realised we could have upgraded for a very reasonable amount and we wished they had advised us of that option at check-in as we definitely would have handed over our cash. Overall a gem, you won't believe how amazing the location is until you stay there. The decor is clean, edgy and fun. A great place to stay and I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed at Catalonia Catedral for two nights in December 2013. From the moment you walk in through the front doors, you realise you step into a tranquil oasis. Friendly, efficient, helpful staff. Rooms immaculate - I did not stay for consecutive nights and was given the same room upon my return. Pool area fantastic, decent breakfast - (book at reception EUR12 as opposed to EUR19 online). Hotel located 100m from cathedral in Gottic area. Easy transport access - Placa Catalonia - walk down Las Ramblas, turn right and almost there. X-mas market in square in front of hotel - awesome. STAY HERE if you want to have a fantastic place to explore Barcelona. Thank you again to all the hotel staff. I shall be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Cannot have enough praises for this hotel. A modern, tastefully furnished and decorated hotel, in the center of the Gottic quarter in Barcelona - 100 meters from the Catedral and 100 meters from Passeig De Garcia - its main shopping street.
Add to that a very friendly staff and the ever helpful and resourceful concierges - Victor and Adrian and you are truely set.
Every tourist attraction in central Barcelona is within a short walking distance, lots of wonderful restaurants and shops in the area. Highly recommended. Will re-visit for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were on short vacation in Barcelona, mid of November 2013.
The location was just perfect. 200 ft away from the city Cathedral. The rooms are big enough to contain two parents and 5 yo child. Nice, clean, very well maintained hotel.
The staff was friendly helped promptly with every request we had.

Room Tip: Take a high floor. Breakfast is a little expensive, while food quality was average
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Catedral

Address: C/ dels Arcs, 10, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enovated modernist building, Catalonia Catedral Hotel is located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona.The hotel is by the Cathedral, Plaça Sant Jaume and the unavoidable Portal de l’Àngel. After a day of shopping, cultural visits or just walk down city enjoys a drink in the lobby bar or the international cuisine in the warm Restaurant or just rest of the bustle of the downtown without leaving it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Catedral Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.