We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right at Home!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Catedral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Catedral to your Saves list
Catalonia Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ dels Arcs, 10, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Right at Home!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel's staff went above and beyond our expectations! Catalonia Catedral's greatest asset is its highly professional, incredibly helpful and friendly team of well-trained staff. Other benefits of this hotel are its great location, its modern and spaciously designed rooms and bathrooms, a super terrace and clean rooftop pool with amazing views, but undeniably it was the welcoming staff that made the trip so enjoyable. We stayed at a total of seven hotels on our two week holiday in Spain and felt most at home at Catalonia Catedral and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone. They also served the best cafe con leche!!! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    230
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
138
355
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We just got back from a 4 night stay at this hotel, which I'd booked as a result of reading all the positive reviews here on tripadvisor. And it didn't disappoint. From the moment we arrived, with the ever-smiling staff on reception (and "the best bellboy ever" -- Victor (his own words, not mine ;-), we were made to feel welcome. I would highly recommend it to anyone going to Barcelona.

It's located right in the centre of the "gotic" district, a stone's throw from the cathedral, five minutes' walk from la rambla (the main touristy strip) but without the noise, and right in the heart of a mostly pedestrian zone, so no noisy traffic around. also a five minute walk from Catalunya square, where you can pick up a taxi or the autobus turistic tours (highly recommended, btw) and virtually any time of the day.

We had two rooms on the third floor (my teenage boys in one, and me and my husband in the other). The boys' twin bed room was more spacious and had a larger bathroom than we did, but both rooms were nice. Beds were hard and very comfortable, and there was a large minibar fridge with room for us to put our own milk and water in. The bath/shower was nicely stocked, although for some reason they don't have hair conditioner! No balconies, sadly, but with a window that opens all the way, for those people (like us) who prefer fresh air to air conditioning.

We were told there was free wifi in the bar area on the first floor (where, incidentally, it didn't work for any of us on our ipods/ipads), but we did get perfect reception in our rooms, which was a nice bonus.

Breakfast (which we hadn't paid for in advance, as we don't all eat breakfast every day, and simply paid for as/when we did) was fantastic -- broad range of foods, ranging from the traditional hot breakfast (bacon, eggs, hash browns, etc.), fresh melon and pineapple, fruit juices, to cereals, cold cuts, cheeses, etc. etc. In short, something for everyone. At 12 euros for adults and half that for kids, it's not cheap, but we found it convenient, especially as breakfast is served until 11am (we like to lie in in the mornings!). Plus, with my fussy eating family, we didn't find many other decent places to eat that weren't exorbitantly expensive.

There's a pool on the roof (small, but great to cool down in after a long day of sightseeing in 35 degree weather) where you can order drinks and food for most of the day and lounge on the comfortable sunbeds and wicker chairs.

If you're going to Barcelona, I would highly recommend this hotel, which gave us everything we needed to make our stay perfect. We'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The kids' room (324) was twin beds and much larger than our double bed room (323). Our windows w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Had a slight hiccup with the booking which I will explain later which is why I haven't rated it 5.
The location is absolutely fantastic to explore the main tourist areas in Barcelona. It is in the Barric Gotic, stone's throw from the Ramblas, plenty of nice bars etc. around, practically on the shopping street, both Sangrada Familia/Batllo and Barceloneta are easily accesible by metro if you're not inclined to walk. It is also very easy to access via the airport shuttles to Placa de Catalunya.
The staff were very helpful, spoke good English and gave us personalised tips on things to see/ do.
Rooms were excellent and clean. Very modern feel and yet warm.

Unfortunately for the first day of our stay, Catalonia Catedral had a flooding problem and moved us to their sister concern which, truth be told, was not bad, but not up to the standard this was. We were quite disappointed at that, but the Catalonia Catedral staff arranged for holding our bags, moving them between hotels and upgraded us to a superior double room which was all they could do really to try and mitigate the problem.
All in all a very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We found this accommodation good value, although we chose not to have breakfast. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and we were glad to have the tea/coffee service. All staff were courteous and we were glad that most spoke fairly good english. We did feel the staff attending the bar, outside dining area were understaffed, as they were very busy the whole time. We also had trouble with with wifi. It would be much nicer if available in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay, went with a group of girls and we found the hotel modern and spacious. The location is brilliant, several small squares close by for alfresco dining, las ramblas a few minutes walk away aswell as plenty of bars. The architecture is simply stunning! Definately a good choice of hotel for those seeking comfort and style.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Having been to Barcelona a number of times I have stayed in a variety of places, if you want to be central to the bars, restaurants and the numerous attractions this is the perfect hotel. We only had breakfast in the hotel once and would recommend that its better to eat in one of the many places in the area.

Rooms are clean and modern, pool is a decent size for a city hotel in this area, and the staff could not have been more helpfully and really added to what was an excellent stay.

Defiantly going back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just returned from a combined trip to Barcelona and Paris. The Catalonia Catedral hotel is situated PERFECTLY. It is a lovely hotel - well situated in the Bario Gotic, right around the corner from the Barcelona Cathedral, far enough off of Las Ramblas to not be crazy busy, but close enough to get there in less than 5 minutes. We walked everywhere from our hotel - and it seems we could not get lost on our way home, even if we tried. The rooms are clean and fresh, cool and QUIET. We were on the fourth floor. We were in a standard room, which was spacious enough for me and my husband- not overly posh, but truthfully, we were barely in it. The staff were lovely, accomodating and very helpful. A smaller market than the Boqueria is a block away - and there are many places within a two minute walk to grab a bite. Breakfast was good - but a little expensive, so we only did it one day. I cannot recommend enough!! Will stay there when we go back- with kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a slightly higher room - 3 or 4 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Catedral

Address: C/ dels Arcs, 10, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enovated modernist building, Catalonia Catedral Hotel is located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona.The hotel is by the Cathedral, Plaça Sant Jaume and the unavoidable Portal de l’Àngel. After a day of shopping, cultural visits or just walk down city enjoys a drink in the lobby bar or the international cuisine in the warm Restaurant or just rest of the bustle of the downtown without leaving it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Catedral Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.