We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appropriate choice, but with remarks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Catedral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Catedral to your Saves list
Catalonia Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ dels Arcs, 10, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Appropriate choice, but with remarks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The location is perfect and safe. The hotel is very clean. Staff were mostly helpful.

Double room ought to have one queen or king size bed as the picture implied in the booking website. However, they were two single beds brought together and it was not comfortable as they were sliding away. The towels were not soft at all. No slippers. The restaurant/bar is located in the first floor near the rooms and there were a couple of parties held there those lasted until midnight where it was too noisy that we couldn't sleep. Therefore, I would recommend having a room away from the bar.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    230
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
138
355
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
World
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

I repeat: best service ever. I had three big bags with me and had to go to the train station plaza catalunya - was a hassle to walk alone or take a cab -and guess what? Amazing Victor at the reception put my luggages on the caddy and walked with me to the station on to the quais! No backpain, no sweat. Victor is the best.

And not to say the two other reeptionist: one let me stay in my room till two pm and the night receptionist gave me an awesome room.

Bravo. And thank you.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Hotel in a very convenient location for Barrio Gotico and Catedral. Reception and room service very satisfactory and professional. Rooms are small but well equipped and clean, bathroom is big. We did not try breakfast (bit expensive) and restaurant. Everything to visit is at walking distance. Suitable for week end visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Bridge, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Catalonia Catedral is a very nice boutique hotel in a wonderful location in the charming Barri Gotic. In spite of its proximity to so many crowded sites, it's very quiet. The staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. We spent 5 nights here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Young and enthusiastic staff greeted me. Clean, proper room. Very centrally located in the Barri Gotic, a quarter where my Spanish connections otherwise warned me against not to roam after dark. No worries, only had business/sight-seeing in daytime anyways and was at walking distance from the Ramblas and medieval sights in Barcelona. Good food in the restaurant; I had to double-check bills, though, when checking out as the system of 'charging-food-to-rooms' did not seem perfected yet. No worries either, if I hadn't checked, I would have been under-charged ;-). The receptionist very sweetly asked me to write a review, as the hotel 'only had been working a couple of years and we like to learn'. That's the spirit! Kudos to Kyle et al :-).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

we stayed for two nights. location is perfect , very close to catalunia plaza.in the middle of all the shopping area. however, the aircondition did not work so we were very cold on our first night. a big con for me were the wool blankets instead of duvet covers which are not sutible for a new four star hotel! breakfast was a bit poor.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

The room was fantastic and the location wonderful just a short walk,the staff were amazing,our second time stay at this hotel,we appreciate the time we got to spend here,I hope we will come back again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Catedral

Address: C/ dels Arcs, 10, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enovated modernist building, Catalonia Catedral Hotel is located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona.The hotel is by the Cathedral, Plaça Sant Jaume and the unavoidable Portal de l’Àngel. After a day of shopping, cultural visits or just walk down city enjoys a drink in the lobby bar or the international cuisine in the warm Restaurant or just rest of the bustle of the downtown without leaving it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Catedral Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.