We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praktik Rambla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Praktik Rambla to your Saves list
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Rambla de Catalunya 27, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE LATE CHECK-OUT
Ranked #72 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great hotel. Excellent location and value for money, and the staff were very nice. It's in a beautiful old building that's been renovated to a high standard. Would recommend this to any friends visiting Barcelona

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest,
We are glad to know that you spent a good time with us and hope to welcome you back in the next occasion!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    427
    81
    24
    8
See reviews for
188
589
60
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Amazing boutique chic hotel at budget prices. The history and architecture of this building is truly awesome. Hotel Praktik Rambla is ideally located to explore Barcelona and within walking distance of many of the tourist attractions. Guaranteed you will love it!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest,
It is good to know that you enjoyed staying with us while visiting Barcelona! Hope we can stay with us in a next opportunity!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed in the Hotel Praktik Rambla Friday to Sunday with my 10 year old son as we were going to see Barcelona FC in the Camp Nou for his birthday. From the outset the staff were helpful, thoughtful and attentive. The room provided (balcony room at the front) was lovely and my son loved the huge shower and very comfortable bed, architecture and great communal area on the 1st floor. Very stylish boutique hotel in a superb location (minutes from the Placa Catalunya), Casa Butilo and La Perdera, shopping area, metro and some very good restaurants. I would most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and will stay there next time with my family. Thank you Hotel Rambla for a memorable stay - Barcelona won 5-1 and Messi scored twice and my son was ecstatic; followed by a trip to the Sagrada Familia and Picasso Museum the next day. Wonderful weekend. Jon. Marlborough. England.

Room Tip: The Balcony room was light and airy and not too nosiy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear guest,

We are pleased to know that you had an amazing time in Barcelona! It is always good to hear that our guests enjoy staying with us, so it will be our delight to welcome you again with your family in the next opportunity!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Pros: -
The location of the hotel was great and we appreciated the free T-10 ticket we got through booking on the hotel website. Because of the convenient location, we even had 2 left over trips on our ticket.

We got there via the Aerobus from the airport and left to Madrid by train because it was easily accessible to the Cercanias train at the Catalunya station and one stop to Sants (if I don't remember incorrectly).

The hotel is in a lovely building & the rain shower was good (those were the major factors in our booking). Wifi also worked ok.

There was a nice bakery where we had breakfast most days just on the corner of the next block called Rambla31.

Cons: -
The room was rather small (double) and hardly had any natural light. If you opened the windows, they faced out into the lightwell where an opposite room faced as well so it was not possible to have them opened without the curtains closed. The superior rooms must be significantly better in this respect.

There was no wardrobe, fridge or kettle in the room. I asked how we could get hot water and was directed to get some from the cafe next door but this involved balancing 2 cups and carrying a boiling jug of water from the cafe to our room on the 2nd floor. We ended up buying our own kettle from El Corte Ingles nearby.

No cupboards - There were a couple of hooks on the wall and a low shelf at the end of the bed for hanging/ storing clothes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

As the hotel is located within an historical building, the walls are protected by laws and we can not modify the original size of the bedrooms but, depending on the availability, we always try to give our guests superior rooms which are much bigger than the standard and can be facing Rambla Catalunya or our back terrace. Also, extra hangers are given to our guests on demand.

Hope we can welcome you back in a next occasion!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Service: Firstly, I'd really like to compliment their patience in acceding to my many requests and changes in booking dates. I have good expectations of them then and when we arrived at Barcelona, they did not fail me. The staff at the counter are ever friendly and helpful, lending us a personal electric kettle as we had toddlers with us. Second, the room we got (double) was very spacious. The kids had ample space running around, watching Disney. The hotel architecture was nice with high ceilings and warm lighting.

Location: It's quite central within 6 minutes to Placa Catalunya where tourist information, VAT refund office, metro, tourist hop-on/off buses and day tours and aerobus stops are. However, if you are travelling with kids and several luggages, I do not recommend that you take the aerobus to get to Praktik Rambla. A taxi ride cost us close 30 euros which was very convenient and safe.

Food: We did not pay for breakfast but there are many cafes and restaurants including Starbucks, Pans & Company just beside and some good bakeries to the left across the road. So there are varieties to choose from around Praktik Rambla.

Overall, a wonderful place for those on an average budget and we'd like to thank Praktik for a wonderful stay in Barcelona.

Room Tip: The ones facing away from the streets are so quiet, we had peaceful nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review! Our work is to provide our clients the best service and it is good to hear that you appreciate! We are glad to know that you had a good time with us and hope to welcome your family in our hotel in a next occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

On a first visit you could actually iss the entrance squeezed between 2 restaurants but once inside the tiny lobby , just look up and admire the architecture.
This small hotel is charming, the rooms are comfortable and very modern, black and white, but with the high ceilings of the old house. I have stayed here twice and the staff are always friendly, the rooms are clean. The best thing about it is its location on the Ramblas de Catalunya: central, convenient, shopping and other sightseeing within walking distance, an ideal departure point for discovering Barcelona.... and so reasonably priced! I'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed as some of the single rooms can be a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing us again for your vacations in Barcelona! We are glad to know that you enjoy the architectural decoration of our hotel and the work done by the staff, as well as the location. Looking forward your 3rd stay!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived in Barcelona during a rain storm and taxi strike; not a great way to begin a holiday.
However, after two and one half hours, we arrived at the hotel. Even with the delay, we still arrived before noon, but our room was ready just as we arrived. We had Room 302, on the front of the hotel with a small balcony and a king bed. The room had enough storage for the three days we were there. We did not unpack our luggage for the T/A cruise, only our carry-ons that were sufficient for the short stay. The rain shower head in the neat green tiled bathroom was fantastic; especially after a day of walking the Gotic and Parc Guell. As for the staff, they were great! The young lady who initially checked us in was very personable and helpful. In the afternoon, I met Johannes and he is all that other reviewers say. I told him that I had heard great things about in on Trip Advisor. His reply,"I'm only doing my job". Oh, if only all of us had that attitude, it would be a better world. The outside terrace on the 1st floor is a great place to have a drink and read or just relax at the end of the day.

Overall, we found the hotel to be all we expected, the staff to be friendly, courteous and very helpful (this, by the way, includes the housekeeping and maintenance staff). and the location perfect for availability of restaurants, department stores, bus stops, and subway stations.

As a few others have mentioned, the addition of a small refrigerator in the room, would be great. To have a cold soda available without having to trek outside the hotel would be fantastic.

Thank you to all of you at Praktik Rambla for making our stay enjoyable and relaxing.

Room Tip: If you enjoy watching the pedestrian and late traffic, the rooms on the front of the hotel are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate your review about the decoration of the hotel and its location. All our staff always try to give to our guests the best service possible, to make their vacations unforgettable! According to your comment about a refrigerator, let me inform you we provide fresh water at the reception on demand. Hope to see you again in Barcelona!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Praktik Rambla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praktik Rambla

Address: Rambla de Catalunya 27, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#65 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#100 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praktik Rambla embodies a new boutique hotel concept, an excellent combination of exquisite design, chic comfort, authentic local architecture and the best possible location, all at a low price. A unique place, square in the middle of the Example district, where you will find everything you're looking for in Barcelona, at a modest cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Escapio and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Praktik Rambla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Praktik Rambla Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Praktik Rambla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.