We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, lovely, Art Nouveau boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praktik Rambla

Save Saved
You added Hotel Praktik Rambla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Rambla de Catalunya 27, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #43 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“friendly, lovely, Art Nouveau boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Perfect in every respect. Fashionable shopping. Metro access. Near the gay scene. Ample neighborhood amenities. Central location. Safe.

Praktik is a lovely Art Nouveau hotel in the heart of the fashionable shopping district close to three metro stations and other transport options. Easy walking to Barri Gothic, Raval, Eixample and Gracia. Very near the Gaudi landmarks.

Of it's many excellent qualities, we would single out the helpful, courteous concierge services, particularly from Olivia and Arthur.. directions, tickets, advice, friendship.

Good looking room, french doors opening onto the roof top terraces. The beds were firm and clean, the bathrooms stylish and functional, the storage spacious.

With only 35 or so rooms, the Praktik is intimate, but large enough to have the services we needed for our two week stay. We will definitely recommend the Praktik to our friends and return there when we return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the remarkable review! We’re glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and the design of our hotel. The building was design by the architect Francesc de P. Villar i Carmona, and the result is one of the most emblematic buildings in the Eixample district.

Feel free to visit us again and we’ll be looking forward your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    386
    67
    20
    8
See reviews for
172
528
55
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This little hotel is a BIG gem! Full of a warm, inviting feeling. Location is great, too! Convenient to shopping, eateries and La Rambla. It's a good way to launch your visit in Barcelona!
Jean from Oregon

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
It’s good to know that you had a good time in Barcelona and in our hotel! Hope we can welcome you back again!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have been several times to Barcelona, stayed in different hotels which where all very good. But this one is just great! Perfect location, great rooms, friendly people, good price / quality.
In the 3-4 stars categorie, number 1 in Barcelona!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to write your kind review! We’re glad to hear that you had a good time with us. It is a pleasure to know that you appreciate the work of our staff, as well as the good location of the Hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a superior double room and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. It's small with great character. I'd stay here again.

Pros:
*Great location at the top of the Rambla
*Comfortable KING size bed in the superior room
*Beautiful balcony to people watch and view the street and multiple layers of doors to block out the sound. (We slept well even on a Saturday night!)
*Beautiful terrace

Cons
*The breakfast at Piscolabis was disappointing in selection and quality. Save your $ for somewhere else.
*The hot water seemed to run out by 9:30am. Shower in the offtimes.
*Staff seemed pleasant but not very friendly. We asked for a restaurant recommendation for something healthier (so sick of fried food) and they had no idea. (We found Woki Organic a few blocks away and ate there multiple times!)

Neutral
*We had to ask for the Metro pass that was included in our package. (I think they were training a new person). We were also not offered the complimentary water that their web site states as one of the 10 benefits for staying there and booking online.

Note: Request a first floor room if you want to skip waiting for the tiny elevator.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time in writing your review.

I would like to appologise for the water problem you had, as soon as we realised we tried to sort it out inmediately and take the actions in order it won't happen again. About the breakfast I will check out what happend and act in consecuence.

I am sorry about the reception comment also, we were training a new member of staff and sometimes they don't know very well the area as the receptionists who have been with us for a long time.

I look forward to see you again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Had a lovely 3 night stay in the Praktik with two friends. We shared one large room on the 4th floor at the back of the hotel so we had no noise from the street.. The beds were very comfortable. The double bed was huge and the single bed was extra wide. The location is perfect , in a pleasant area, with easy access to restaurants and Metro stations. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We did not have breakfast there. No kettle etc in the room which would have been good for that first morning cup of coffee!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your nice review!

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards fromo Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

the hotel praktik rambla is a really exceptionally beautiful hotel, from every point of view. the staircase, the beautifully designed rooms, everything is nice and chic. location is perfect as well.

the only shortcoming was that the room was freezing cold when we arrived and didn't heat up although the heating was on for several hours. fortunately we got another room where everything was fine. i think the problem is that the building is a very old one and the isolation bad. so, don't expect the rooms to be warm in winter....

one more thing i would like to mention is that breakfast has to be taken in the restaurant next to the hotel, which i didn't find very inspiring. it's a huge restaurant, just so different from the hotel, and they just don't go together. breakfast is as well simple, not much choice, not really good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time in writin your review about the hotel.

I am glad we could sort the problem with the Heater you were experiencing. As the hotel is an old palace, the ceilings are very high and usually takes a while to heat the room. In winter we use to leave the heater on in all the rooms that are going to be occupied.

Also the breakfast is served in the restaurant beside but is still the same building. As the walls are original, we cannot touch them and make a door from our hotel, that is why our guests need to go out and in again.

I will check the service and quality of the food in our breakfast to improve it.

Sorry for the inconveniences and Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

excellent hotel with perfect location - only few steps from Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas, definately it is a kind of boutique hotel, we had a nice, spacious and cosy room with quite big LCD and balcoon on the first floor, there is also o nice sun terrace. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpfull. The hotel is surrounded by many bars and restaurants. Only the breakfast should be better.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your nice review. We are working in providing always the best service to our guests and I will consider your comment about the breakfast and check if there is anything we can improve.

Thank you for choosing the Praktik Rambla for your stay and we look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Praktik Rambla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praktik Rambla

Address: Rambla de Catalunya 27, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#106 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praktik Rambla embodies a new boutique hotel concept, an excellent combination of exquisite design, chic comfort, authentic local architecture and the best possible location, all at a low price. A unique place, square in the middle of the Example district, where you will find everything you're looking for in Barcelona, at a modest cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Praktik Rambla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Praktik Rambla Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Praktik Rambla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.