We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, small and modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praktik Rambla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Praktik Rambla to your Saves list
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Rambla de Catalunya 27, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #67 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location, small and modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The rooms were cute with a modern style. We upgraded to a Superior room, but I don’t feel we benefitted from the upgrade price. My father had a regular double room and the only difference between the two was space and a balcony with a view. If you are concerned about having a spacious bedroom and balcony then an upgrade would be fine. Nothing seemed more spacious about the bathrooms in the upgrade, but they were good. The only thing I would change is how open the shower is without a curtain because it splashed water outside onto the floor.
Some other details include:
- Bottles of water are available at the front desk on request and for a fee.
- Plenty of closet space in the Superior Double room
- Nice sized hair dryer available in bath
- Nice rain shower
- Flat Screen TV (we never used it)
- Very fluffy pillows, beds are firm
- Safe available
The staff was wonderful and very accommodating. We drove into town and it was VERY easy to park. Parking prices were very comparable to any major downtown city. This hotel is very small which makes it quiet and quaint. The location was PERFECT! It was just a block from the popular Las Ramblas and very easy for convenience. The restaurant next door had great tappas and wine. I would definitely stay at the Praktik again!
Some suggestions to the hotel for improvements would include:
Softer towels
Better protection from the shower splash
Coffee maker in room (a personal preference)

Room Tip: Regular Double if you're just looking for rest. Superior if you want a view and more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Luv_a_beach27

Thank you for your time in writing the review. I will consider all your suggestions as we are always working to improve our service.

I am glad yo hear that you enjoyed our hotel and location.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your stay.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    421
    80
    23
    8
See reviews for
185
584
60
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

The ONLY downside is a really slight one - the room was a bit small. Since it was a short stay it wasn't an issue, we lived out of our bags anyway and the bathroom was huge too.

After hooours of looking through reviews, locations and prices of hotels I genuinely think that this is the best hotel for the money in Barcelona. We got a glimpse at a few premier suites too and they were huge - so if room size is a big issue then get a premier room. The normal one was fine for us though.

It was a beautiful hotel, really nicely renovated and the location couldn't have been any better. It's just above the top of the ramblas, incredibly close to where the tour busses operate on the cities main square.

After trying many different resteraunts, we decided the best tapas was the one next door to the hotel. The ones on the ramblas charged us 12 euros for 2 cokes and the food was cheap and nasty - avoid any food places on las ramblas that have men tryin to persuade you to eat there - they rely on tourists eating there once and screwing them over.

Back to the hotel - the bed and pillows were incredibly comfy - I'm picky too. Being 6ft 3 I was surprised at how big the bed was, had looooads of room width and lengthways which was great after long nackering days. The staff were brilliant and recommended some great places to eat and some great bars too, providing us with directions and guiding us on typical prices etc. The room also had a free safe which was usefull.

If you are thinking of booking this hotel, just do it, it was brilliant!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Yorks
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The Hotel Praktik Rambla is an ideal hotel to use in this fantastic city. We had the most hassle free break ever. The trip from the airport on the Aerobus was simplicity itself (5.30 Euros) the end of the route is in Catalunya square which is a very gentle 5 minute stroll from the hotel. Check in was very quick and friendly especially as we had paid in advance. Check out was equally easy as there is none of the usual mini bar rubbish (There is no minibar). The room was small but very ergonomic and comfortable with a fantastic shower and bed. the decor is very Gaudi but very tastefully adapted to 21st century accommodation. The hotel could not be more central, with Los Ramblas a 10 minute stroll away.Incredible choice of restaurants as you step out of the door. Only slight downside is the lack of tea and coffee making facilities. Very good value and we would make it first choice when we return to this fabulous city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Since we arrived, we knew this was going to be a wonderful experience.. The entrance of the hotel is beautiful!

The reception, a little small but charming. We booked a standard room, but once there we were told that they had made a free upgrade to our reservation and a superior room was given! Absolutely no words for the room! It was HUGE, in the 4th floor with a balcony to the Ramblas, very modern bathroom with a potent shower and free wi-fi, but no mini bar.

It’s close to almost everything, few minutes walking to Plaza Catalunya and the ramblas. We specially loved the terrace! Very chic decoration which combined perfectly for a cup of wine in the afternoons..
It was our first time in Barcelona, and we want to thank the staff for all their help, especially Arthur, which every night asked about the things we were up to and recommended us the places to visit, restaurants and walks around the city! Thank you for your special care!

We would definitely come back to Barcelona and recommend this hotel to our friends!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

the room is clean, it has wifi, you can practically walk everywhere. The building was old but beautiful, nice terrace! it also has an elevator for those who can't climb the stairs.. The only downside I could think of was the size of the room which is small. BUT, I don't mind it at all, you practically spend most of your time outside anyway

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time in writing the review.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Praktik Rambla Hotel. As I see you enjoyed one of our standard rooms, which are smaller than the superior and with a king size bed.

On your next visit, please do not miss our Superior rooms with views and much bigger size.

Thank you again and Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Praktik Rambla is a small but very nice hotel. Small rooms, but very modern decoration and nice design, in old rooms.

Very nice location in the best district in Barcelona.

Very good service.

Only negative was the smell of old house in the second room we had.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Guest

I will investigate the smell you are talking about to sort it out, maybe it was coming from the building right beside, I will check it out.

Sorry for the inconvenience it may have caused you during your stay, and I am glad you enjoyed our hotel.

Thank you for coming to the Praktik Rambla in your visit to Barcelona.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Praktik Rambla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praktik Rambla

Address: Rambla de Catalunya 27, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#61 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#110 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praktik Rambla embodies a new boutique hotel concept, an excellent combination of exquisite design, chic comfort, authentic local architecture and the best possible location, all at a low price. A unique place, square in the middle of the Example district, where you will find everything you're looking for in Barcelona, at a modest cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Escapio, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Praktik Rambla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Praktik Rambla Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Praktik Rambla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.