We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food and fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orio BCN Gotic

Orio BCN Gotic
C/ Ferran, 38, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)
+34 933 42 54 11
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Orio BCN Gotic is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #815 of 6,406 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $25 - $61
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Neighborhood: El Barri Gòtic
Description: A restaurant concept that has a space dedicated entirely to the tapas bar, with an extensive wine cellar, and another dedicated to the enjoyment of tasting the dishes on the menu with authentic products and references to tradicional Basque cuisine /
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The best food and fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We visited for lunch, absolutely fantastic atmosphere, staff and food. We had 2 glasses of red each with 9 first class tapas (all served on bread) and the bill was €28 ..... We would have paid double!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    205
    59
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

So we passed by purely by chance and stopped about 6pm to be revives. Definitely sit at the bar and enjoy great tapas, the mackerel and the anchovies are especially good. And the wine was delicious. Was enough to keep us going until dinner at 10pm. The staff are also really fantastic. Great friendly service and patient even from what we saw with an American Tourist who was only brave enough to eat the ham after finding out what every single tapas was. Lovely modern environment in the old town with a positive atmosphere. Loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
1 review
“inspired and totally satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Loved our experience here, both with a tapa Walking tour and then again when we returned on our own merit. We were on a holiday after selling our cafe of 7 years. We came back inspired and named our new cafe Orio.....meaning "rise up and start again"

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“amazing tapas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Great variety of tapas and original setup - you go and pick whichever you like (buffet style) and pay per piece. The waiters come around with hot ones too to offer you. Atmosphere was very pleasant and casual, we did lunch there and seemed a better option than dinner (although it was really crowded at dinner time too) just because the place gets too noisy and there is not that much privacy (seating is on high benches and tables). Service was good, only in the beginning it was hard to find someone to explain to us how it all works but once we sat down, we got a lot of attention.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tip Toe Through the Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Last year we were referred to this tapas place by Alexandra from Orange Doughnut tours. Fantastic! We returned this year for a second and third visit. Unfailingly great tapas. You choose tapas and keep the toothpicks skewering each. The friendly waitress then counts them up and that's your charge. There is a huge cold selection then the servers circulate with hot choices. Sangria, beer, wine are available. Very lively atmosphere and it can be difficult to find a space during "rush hours". Who ever heard of hot black squid sausage with aioli? Mmmm good!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orio BCN Gotic also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Orio BCN Gotic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orio BCN Gotic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.