We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Pinxtos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orio BCN Gotic

Orio BCN Gotic
C/ Ferran, 38, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)
+34 933 42 54 11
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Orio BCN Gotic is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #818 of 6,373 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $25 - $62
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Neighborhood: El Barri Gòtic
Description: A restaurant concept that has a space dedicated entirely to the tapas bar, with an extensive wine cellar, and another dedicated to the enjoyment of tasting the dishes on the menu with authentic products and references to tradicional Basque cuisine /
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Delicious Pinxtos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

A nice place for some tasty Pinxtos. They also sell fresh oysters! We found the service to be quite average, having to find our own menu and figure out how to eat on our own. If you're in the area it's worth a stop, but don't go out of your way to eat there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    205
    59
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommendable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This tapas bar literally took us out of a culinary nightmare. Having tried out several restaurants around La Rambla and the Gothic quarter before we were deeply disappointed about the food served there (avoid all the places at La Rambla!) but on our second last night we found this wonderful place coincidentally because we had lost track of where we were heading to.
The service was unique and friendly, the food surprisingly good and this place really made us fall in love with the Catalanian way to eat and drink. All happy about the experience we made that night we went back there on our last night and really did not regret our choice. The staff remembered us and prepared the most romantic table for the two of us. We had a glass of beer on the house and didn't have to pay for all the appetizers we ate. Unforgettable and truly recommendable!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Ελλάδα
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“pretty decent choice !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

an excellent choice of tapas for 2 euros each, plus a nice enviroment and friendlly stuff.
i cant think of anything more exciting after a long and exhausting walk in the area.
great find!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a great place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I happened across this place by accident... and boy am I glad that I did! The environment is classy, the staff is welcoming and the price point is fantastic!

The way it works is; once you're seated, they take your drink order, give you a plate... and kind of 'buffet style', you go to the food bar to pick your tapas which are each held together by a toothpick. In the end when it's time to pay, they count your toothpicks, add the drinks and that's your bill.

Long Story Short: Everything I ate here was fantastic!!!

If you're in Barcelona... You should defiantly try it out!

PS: They have a stores in Madrid & Valencia as well

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband is mad about food and suckling pig was a 'must have' item on our trip. Even though this dish is not native to this za we found it on the menu a Orio and it more than lived up to expectation!

From our arrival at the restaurant the waiting staff were attentive. They saw my husband was uncomfortable at the tapas bar and offered him a table n the restaurant downstairs. The one waitress was especially nice to me, explaining how to pronounce Pinxo to impress my waiter.

The food was extraordinary, fairly good value for money and the service was great!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orio BCN Gotic also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Orio BCN Gotic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orio BCN Gotic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.