We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet tour highlight of Barcelona visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spanish Trails Day Tours and Events

Spanish Trails Day Tours and Events
Via Laietana 15, 4-3, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))
+34 935 00 16 16
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$108*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spanish Trails was born in 2001 as one of the first small group (max. 8 pers.) day tour companies and incoming travel agencies to experience the best of what Barcelona and all of Catalunya, Spain have to offer. Our year-round, regularly scheduled day tours are all-inclusive fully guided all day experiences, though guests are more than welcome to explore on their own. We cover the corners of Catalunya including the Costa Brava, Pyrenees, Girona, Montserrat and Penedes and Priorat wine regions, as well as half and full day Barcelona city tours and food & wine tours. We also specialize in customized family tours, private touring and small group events. We use comfortable touring vans and our staff are fun, experienced local guides with a deep love and knowledge of the regional history and culture. Average group size in 2011 was 5 clients/tour and we have now proudly served over 13,000 clients over the last 12 years. See you soon! The Spanish Trails team.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gourmet tour highlight of Barcelona visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Danny is a Renaissance man; he has an encyclopedic knowledge of food/cooking, history, Spanish wine, Catalan culture, language, you name it. He had painstakingly thought out every last detail of the tour, but executes it in a way that is so casual and fun it feels as though you're out on the town with a local friend. It was absolutely the highlight of my visit to Barcelona.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,027
    56
    12
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“5+ Stars! Priorat Private Wine Tour w/ Andrew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We scheduled a tour of the Priorat wine country only a couple of weeks before leaving for Barcelona. Planning the tour was a breeze. Danny sent me several different options for a day trip, and we chose the Priorat as we are wine lovers, and were told these were the best wines in Catalunya. Not only were the wines amazing (Paco's wines at Clos Dominic were excellent), the tour itself was unbelievable.
First of all, Andrew our tour guide/driver was absolutely wonderful and seemingly tireless. He holds two fine arts degrees and is beyond knowledgeable about Barcelona, wine country and any other subject you could think of. We enjoyed just having downtime in the car so we could ask him questions about art and history! He was on time picking us up at our apartment in a comfortable van, and provided snacks and water for us for the road. He even bought us some of the best cheese & hazelnuts for a snack in one of the small villages. What an amazing experience.
At the small wineries we visited, we were always the only customers, and received a private and intimate tasting experience. The grape-picking and tasting with Albert at Pasanau was so much fun and, again, with very nice wines. We also had a great lunch provided for us at Clos Figueres winery which I highly recommend.
The scenery for this tour is also beautiful. The small hillside villages and the wineries are incredibly scenic. Make sure to travel on a day with good weather and bring your camera.
Also, now that we are back in California, we have tried to order some of these wines again, and are unable to. Make sure if you love the wines, buy as much as possible. It will be difficult to find them when you get home (if you're in the US).
For the price, I could not believe the experience and the service we received. Thank you Spanish Trails and Andrew!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent tour to Montserrat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had a great tour to Montserrat with Andrew. He is a wonderful, knowledgeable person who guided us flawlessly through the entire day. He knew the best time to be at each point of interest, to avoid crowds, and to get the best views. His assessment of how to best see the Boys' Choir was spot on! He took us to a special place for a wonderful lunch, and afterward to a winery to do some tasting. He has a great sense of humor, and was a fabulous companion to our group of six. We highly recommend going on this day tour with Andrew. He is the best!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, California
1 review
“Costa Brava and Girona Day Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Costa Brava and Girona day tour was very enjoyable. It was a welcomed change to our hectic self-planned itinerary. It was nice to have someone else take the reins and our tour guide Dan did a great job. He provided our private party of four with interesting tidbits of history and was very personable and attentive.
The walk up Costa Brava was beautiful and full of picture opportunities. It was off season and several of the shops were closed, but we were able to stop for drinks at one of the cafes and enjoy the ocean scenery without the crowd.
Pals was our next stop and it was a very charming medieval village. We were allowed a 5 – 10 minute “shopping spree” at one of the shops. It was a good thing Dan directed us two shoppers to the basement where the pottery is displayed. We each purchased a nice ceramic plate, to remember the quaint little village, and we were surprisingly out within our allotted time.
Our visit to Girona began with a huge unrushed three course lunch that included a pre-appetizer of toast (best ever) and wine/beer. For each course, we were able to select from a nice variety of dishes. The assorted meat dish includes a very tasty sausage (the beef was a little too tough and the chicken was a bit over cooked ...but it was still very tasty cause of the charcoal grill). if you stuff yourself don't fret, the tour of Girona will help you walk it off. The city was very interesting.
On our way back to Barcelona, we found ourselves stuck in freeway traffic and not moving (people were getting out of their cars), yet our tour guide ever so calmly took it in stride and displayed a great deal of professionalism. It could have ended quite differently, but we’re happy it didn’t. Dan made our day tour an extremely memorable one from beginning to the absolute end. Thanks Dan and Spanish Trails!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
1 review
“Montserrat and Cava Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!! Our guide Dan was delightful. Small group of 6. Montserrat was so beautiful and I would encourage anyone going to Barcelona to take time out and visit using this tour. The luncheon was more than expected. The food quite wonderful and the surroundings unique and beautiful. I cannot say enough good things about the company and the tour. Thanks so much

Visited October 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spanish Trails Day Tours and Events also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Spanish Trails Day Tours and Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spanish Trails Day Tours and Events, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.