We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do no stay there” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Windsor

Hostal Windsor
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Windsor
Save
You added Hostal Windsor to your Saves list
Rambla de Catalunya 84, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #281 of 303 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Do no stay there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This place is really terrible and I would not recommend it to anyone. The place was quite dirty and messy. The bathrooms and the toilets were also quite dirty. Unfortunately there was not any hot water and there were simply notes on doors apologizing about the problem.

However the staff was quite nice and friendly. The location is also good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    8
    4
    19
See reviews for
3
8
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I would never recommend this hostel to anyone. Itś a complete and utter dump!!

Room Tip: The book this hostel if you want to enjoy your trip holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santander, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I would never recommend a place like that. I made a reservation 4 months before my arrival and when I got there, my room was not what I had booked. The place is dirty, noisy and the breakfast wich is supposed to be included, is a pigs-meal in a dirty kitchen. Don't ever go there. There are so much better places in Barcelona.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mollina, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Absolute Dump. Do not visit. 3/4 showers did not work. Other shower had was blocked, and also had wee at the bottom. No pillows on arrival. Walls/floors disgraceful. Stayed in 10 hostels in the past few weeks. Worst so far. Not very expensive but not worth 50p a night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

There's not much to say about this hostel as the price/night says it all. Thin mattresses, grotty walls, missing floorboards... It was all as expected. The room smelled really damp and mouldy everytime we'd come back from a day out and had shut the windows to prevent theft, but opening them again solved the problem. As a room of 4, we shared one bathroom, and this bathroom exceeded expectations, apart from the water drainage that made a really loud, strange sound. The shower pressure was good, lighting was great, no mould in corners or on walls, clean.
The only negative about this hostel is the security. Our room was located on the 1st floor while the reception was located on the 2nd, thus misleading people to our room in the middle of the night thinking it was the reception. On one occasion, someone actually tried to force their way into our room at 2am, but thankfully we'd locked it.
Overall, the atmosphere is quite friendly but not overly so. Your privacy and personal space are respected. Breakfast is a bit of a joke, though. My advice: grab a pastry and coffee further down the road.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

When arrived in our room we found very dirty matresses. Blood and other undefined stains on it, it didn't feel very safe to lie on it. Next day we asked for another room, had to wait for one more day to get it. The other room also had stains on the matress but no blood this time, so a little better. But the bed itself was in poor condition, whenever my friend turned around in his sleep, I got launched to the ceiling. And you feel the bottom of the bed trough the matress.
Breakfast was poor. Cheap bread, only jam to put on it and only one toaster for 20-30 people.
The reception didn't speak english very well, especcially when you have a complaint, then they speak ever worse english. Communication between the different receptionists is bad. One said we could get another room next morning, next morning the colleague said we had to wait for another day. We asked if whe could stay a little longer on check out day, the evening receptionist said that was no problem, the morning receptionist said that was a big problem and we had to check out or pay a lot of money extra. And so on, and so on.
We never go back to this hostel again, rather pay a little more and sleep on a good, clean matress that is strong enough to actually carry adult people.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011 via mobile

The 1st room we stayed at was nOt great and the water in the shower was cold. Matresses were about to fall apart but it was the cheapest in the hostel. 2nd room we stayed at was less crowded and the matresses were not as old. It also had a balcony and the shower had hot water so it was way better than before. Overall I thought it was ok for the price and would stay there again if I'm still poor. :)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Windsor

Address: Rambla de Catalunya 84, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hostal Windsor Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.