We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Barcelona so far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fonda Gaig

Fonda Gaig
C/Corcega, 200 | 08036 Barcelona, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
+34 934 53 20 20
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Fonda Gaig is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,328 of 6,423 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $40 - $162
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best food in Barcelona so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I must say I was very much positively surprised of Fonda Gaig. Food was excellent, the simple but modern decoration was very minimalist and the staff was very helpful in different languages. the owner Carlos and his wife gave the guests special attention. The large selection of wines was another super thing. Highly recommendable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    52
    22
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very disappointing meal in a garishly, glaringly lighted decor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We arrived and were totally ignored from the time we were seated. We had to stand up and get someone to take our order. The food was ordinary and the service poor. The bread was stale. They acted like they were doing us a favor by feeding us in an almost empty restaurant. We had to ask for the check three times and saw another diner actually waving cash at the kitchen door in order to get his check.

Our worst dining experience!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Mediocre food and misleading prices ruined our evening”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I went with a friend, looking forward to a convivial meal. There was a paella appetizer listed for 21.50 Euros (or $27.00) for a minimum of two people--this is very highly priced for an appetizer but we figured we'd try it since it is a specialty item. I also asked for a fish recommendation and the waitress picked the most expensive fish (a sea bass) for 39 euros ($49.00). Because it was a special occasion with our friend, I decided what the heck. And things would have been fine if the food had been good and if there had not been deception involved. The fish turned out to be mealy (it did not look fresh), the sauce was way way oversalted--I was dying for water all night. Worst of all, when the bill came, they charged us 43 euros for the paella. That's a $54.00 appetizer for two! And the paella was mediocre at best (also oversalted). The menu lists the price at 21.50 euros--in fact no one would ever pay this price since the minimum amount charged would always be 43 euros. This is clearly deceptive advertising--bait and switch at it best. We contested the charge with two waiters and then the manager. The manager had no idea what customer service is. She insisted that no one had ever complained and that she would not budge, even when we suggested spitting the difference and paying a compromise of 33 euros-still $42.00 for an appetizer! She said no way. We left with a bad taste in our mouths. The meal ruined part of our Barcelona trip. We only felt slightly better after we had a good lunch at Alkimia the next day.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I wish I could recommend this restaurant, because it does have all the makings of being better than average, but there are some problems with the prices, food and service that require attention. First, although Spain is suffering serious economic problems, this restaurant is too expensive for what you get. The wine is just outrageously expensive, and the entrees are not economical either. But OK, it's not outrageous. Second and unfortunately, the food is too salty; at least three dishes with reduction or sauces at our table were too heavily salted. This wasn't just one palate, but three that made this assessment. On top of this, the restaurant lists a paella-like dry rice and prawns plate for €21.50, minimum two people to eat it. In the US this would mean that 2 people must order the plate, for this price. However at Fonda Gaig, despite two people at the table saying they would SHARE the one plate, when the bill came, they were charged €43.00! This is the case with a similar plate on the menu as well. Why not just list the full price instead of this game of giving half the price, only to surprise the customer when the bill arrives? Also unlike in the US there was no room for negotiation; it was pay it or else. Very unappealing behavior, and it ruined what otherwise would have been a good (if too salty) meal.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is a wonderful high end neigbourhood restaurant with great, attentive service , exceptional food and a fabulous decor. There are hardly any tourists to be seen and the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The meal was outstanding - from the delicious wines, to the memorable fish dishes and the BEST dessert ever - deconstructed creme brule. The slivered ham is out of this world. And the bread with tomatoes - traditional fare in Barcelona - is taken to a new level. We went twice - and were just sorry we wasted an evening for almost twice the price at the dreadful Botafumeiro - when we could have gone to a place like Fonda Gaig! We were with our two children - 16 and 13 - and we were all treated with gracious courtesy and big smiles. A wonderful place.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fonda Gaig also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Fonda Gaig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fonda Gaig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.