We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Poblenou

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Poblenou
Save
You added Hostal Poblenou to your Saves list
Taulat, 30, 08005 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 303 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

If you want a place to stay where you automatically feel welcome and comfortable then this is it.
Although they call it a b and b, it's feels more like a personal little boutique hotel although offering just breakfast service, lovely little terrace to sit for breakfast or chilling out. A great place to hide from the hustle and bustle for a little tryst.


A good value place

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    41
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
62
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Hostal Poblenou is a really nice accommodation and probably a much better deal than many other hotels in Barcelona. The overwhelmingly good ratings made us book three nights there. We had a great time and I would most likely book the hotel again, there are just a few things one should be aware of prior to booking:

The breakfast that is included in the price is a very basic one (bread, butter, jam, cereals, juice, tea, coffee), so don't expect a fancy buffet or anything. You can order scrambled eggs and other things, but that costs extra.

The street in front of the hostal can be quite busy, especially on weekends. So if it says "little balcony" in the room description on the homepage, it most likely means that the room is facing the street and you have to expect quite an amount of noise at night. Earplugs do the job.

The big plus of the place is the service. The little team of three to four women are exceptionally friendly and caring. There are not very many hotels in the world where you are greeted with a handshake.

The overall atmosphere is very relaxed - more like in a guesthouse than in a hotel -, no one complained when we came too late to the breakfast room in the morning, and little issues (hot water did not work because of a boiler failure the first morning, bed was not stable and was shaking quite a bit - so we were offered another room) are addressed quickly and communicated openly.

Poblenou is a nice area, much quieter than the crazily overcrowded old town area, and the Bus 41 is stopping three minutes away. And the beach is five minutes away...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

For our trip to Barcelona we were looking at Trip Advisor and when we saw Hostal Poblenou, we immediately knew that it would be our stay in Barcelona. We were impressed by the charming style and all the details.

We stayed 5 days in Barcelona in November 2012. When we arrived at the Hostal Mercedes welcomed us in such a friendly way. She's so sincerely. She showed us our room and afterwards we looked together on the plan of Barcelona and she informed us about all the necessary details we needed to know during our stay.

Our room was very charming and we loved the clear colors. The location of the Hostal was perfect to us. Before starting our sight seeing, we went every morning to the beach which is only 300m from the Hostal. The Hostal is located directly to the Rambla of Poblenou which is also very charming. In the evening when we came back from our sightseeing tour it was great to have the possibility to drink or eat something in one of the bar and restaurants near the Hostal. The metro station is only 7-10 minutes from the Hostal and you need only four metro stations to reach the city centre.

It happended that we were in Barcelona during a national strike. During this time Mercedes gave us her upmost support which we highly appreciated.

All in all it was not the last time that we went to Barcelona and we will definitely stay at Hostal Poblenou again. The charming atmosphere, Mercedes and her team who were so frindly and warm-hearted, the great service, the perfect location. All these facts gave us such a nice feeling during our stay which is not comparable with a stay in a usual hotel. At hostal Poblenou you do not only get a room, you also get a big portion of hospitality and friendship.

We are already looking forward to our next trip to Barcelona.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed a week at Poblenou's, but within an hour you'll get the feeling of being at home! Mercedes always smiles and ask you if she can help. Ask for a subway line or bus and she'll give you top directions!
Johanna gives that same feeling at breakfast-time: there is a buffet, but every morning she'll ask if you want some juice or coffee and serves it with a smile.
The hostal is clean and look's like an old Spanish house. But inside your room there's a well equipped bathroom, flat screen TV and coffee-maker. And: good beds.
Poblenou may be called an hidden gem in a very interesting part of Barcelona!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the backside of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We chose this small and reasonably priced B&B on the strength of good reviews we had read, and were not at all disappointed. The room was clean, modern and comfortable. The ensuite was spacious with quality fittings. We particularly enjoyed taking our breakfast on the outside, first-floor terrace, which made for a lovely start to the day. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful: as soon as we mentioned the possibility of an open-top bus tour the waitress found us a leaflet with all the information! Other helpful tips made planning our stay easier to organise. There is a laptop in the reception area for guests use, making it easy to check weather forecasts and to get in touch with family back home. We appreciated the use of a fridge to keep our supermarket wine and water cool in the warm conditions. For us, the location was ideal, being close to the beach and also having easy Metro access to the city centre.

Room Tip: We chose a small room at rear of second floor, thinking it would be quieter at night (the Hostal bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Hostel Poblenou. It was clean, comfortable and quiet - just what we wanted. Mercedes and her staff were delightful, so friendly and helpful. They made us feel really welcome. Breakfast on the verandah was a lovely start to the day, and it helped that the weather was fantastic. Mercedes recommended a really good eating place at 102 Rambla del Poblenou called Recasens. It's mainly salads, sandwiches and platters but very generous portions and excellent quality.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dali Room which overlooked the courtyard so was very quiet. The bathroom facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed here on a 4 night visit with my mum. The B&B is in Poblenou, a lovely area a 15/20 minute bus or metro journey from Barcelona city centre. Poblenou has it's own shops and restaurants and we ate here 3 of the 4 nights. It's not a touristy area, but filled with the locals, which was a nice change.The B&B is 2 doors a way from a great bar called Cafe Blue, with a great atmosphere, lovely cocktails and a the option of sitting inside or out, and we went here each night on the way back to the B&B. The beach is a 5 minutee walk, is immaculatley clean and has it's own beach bars, and outside gym equipment!

Local transport is cheap, the bus cost 2 euros each to the centre. However the taxi cost 45euro from the airport. So on the return journey we caught a bus into Barcelona and then caught the aerobus to the airport, which combined cost us about 15euro between us, so much cheaper, just as easy, and with aircon unlike our incoming taxi! Would recommend this option if you have the time, the buses leave every 15 minutes and you'll see them in the centre. The metro runs until midnight, so if you are visiting Barcelona for drinking and partying, you would have to be prepared to pay out for a taxi. We paid for the tour bus for 2 days, which has a stop near the beach in Poblenou so also acted as our transport in and out of the city for those 2 days. I'd recomend this as the areas of interest are too spaced out to walk to each of them and it was really interesting, and you're also provided with complimentary earphones and guide (24euros for 1 day or 31euros for 2 days).

The B&B was fantastic, spotlessly clean, comfy bed, great walk in shower, and nice decoration. We only met the owner Mercedes in passing, but the 2 staff we met were fantastic - Josie and Joanna. We stayed in the smallest double (No 7, Caballe), as when we booked this was the only room available for our complete stay. However the room was perfectly adequate, with a good sized bathroom, and the shower was nice and powerful and hot too. The room was surprisingly quiet, with good air con Breakfast was lovely! We ate outside on the terrace, and were able to help ourselves to baguette, jam, butter, toast, tea, coffee, fruit juice, fresh fruit, cornflakes and muesli. They were also extra options available for a small charge. The rooms are situated on the 1st and 2nd floors and Josie even helped me carry my suitcase up and down the stairs! On arrival she also explained the nearest metro and bus stops to us and provided us with a map.

On the last evening we went into Barcelona to eat and ate at Le Quinze de Nits in the Gothic Quarter, which I would really recommend.

Barcelona is a beautiful city and I would definitel stay at Hostal Poblenou if I was to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Poblenou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Poblenou

Address: Taulat, 30, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house was built in 1930 and has been completely refurbished. We’ve kept all the original elements that give it that special character and style, for example the ceiling’s heights, the coloured mosaic floors, etc… but of course, we given special care to the fact that a good rest is essential. In this sense, the rooms are cosy, the beds comfortable, and we provide eiderdowns in winter months, and fresh cotton sheets for the summer ones. To transmit a feeling of harmony, light colours predominate in all our rooms. The rooms are equipped with television, air conditioning and heating. For those travelling with their laptops we provide Wi-Fi area, but if you just want to check your e-mail, we have a shared terminal with internet connection... everything with no extra charge.The house was built in 1930 and has been completely refurbished. We’ve kept all the original elements that give it that special character and style, for example the ceiling’s heights, the coloured mosaic floors, etc… but of course, we given special care to the fact that a good rest is essential. In this sense, the rooms are cosy, the beds comfortable, and we provide eiderdowns in winter months, and fresh cotton sheets for the summer ones. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Poblenou Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Poblenou Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Poblenou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.