We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City break to de stress after moving - W Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added W Barcelona to your Saves list
W Barcelona
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain (Barceloneta)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“City break to de stress after moving - W Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I booked through a referred travel company "Winged Boots" (made everything very easy for us excellent company to deal with) who are in partnership with the W group world wide and I was asked if I wanted to take the VIP package (early check, late check, out, room upgrade all subject to availability and $100 towards spa treatments) so decided to take it thinking we may get some of it.
Arrived at the W Barcelona and were immediately greeted by very friendly front of house reception who informed us that we had been upgraded to a corner suite from a mega room (good start I thought). It was 11am and check in is not normally until 3pm so we went to the very cool pool area and were greeted by another friendly face (Sarah from Sweden) ordered some food (delicious) and then went to lay on a bed. 30 mins later Cesar Garcia introduced himself apologised that our room was not ready yet (no need it was 12.30pm) and 5 mins later a fruit platter turned up! By 1.30pm the room was ready (amazing panoramic views of the beach, city and Mediterranean) and it was immaculate. Throughout the next 4 days I can only comment that the service received and attitude shown to us by all at the W was fantastic (Bravo restaurant well worth a visit), we have stayed in many 5 star hotels / resorts but not all have shown 5 star service, the W in my view exceeded this! The staff are so friendly / helpful and their attention to detail regarding their guests is to be applauded! We very rarely visit the same place twice but will be back at the W next year in a heartbeat as the service will not be bettered anywhere else. The W is a very cool hotel with a perfect ambience and would recommend it anyone we know! PS: check out corner suite wicked room! Mickey and Dawn - London

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,139
    922
    301
    139
    97
See reviews for
453
1,617
144
570
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A beautiful, luxurious and superb hotel.

Everything about this hotel feels A* from the staff to the amazing views!

The rooms are packed with gadgets and posses a contemporary theme and not to mention the amazing walk in showers! You can literally have a party in there!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWBCN, Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Faisal!

Thanks for your great review!

We pride ourselves on delivering an electric vibe for our guests with the very best DJs and cocktails.

Please let me know if I can assist you with anything for a future stay.

See you next time!

All the best,

Badr Bennis
Hotel Manager
badr.bennis@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel lives up to its reputation as the place to stay in Barcelona.

Great to stay by the beach, away from the city centre, although the centre was easily accessible.

Hotel is first class, great restaurants and pool area. The highlight was the excellent service from all staff.

Special mention to Oscar in the Wave restaurant, who on hearing we were in Barcelona for the Grand Prix promptly arranged a lovely surprise for us - some aptly designed chocolates. Such a lovely and thoughtful touch.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWBCN, Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello -

Thanks for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. Glad you enjoyed the F1 weekend!

Oscar is a great asset to our team of W talent and will be excited to receive your recognition.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Badr Bennis
Hotel Manager
badr.bennis@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is undoubtedly the best I have ever experienced and I say that as a lifetime Platinum member. The hotel itself is beautiful and everyone bends over backwards to help with any request. The concierage, Natasja Grant, is helpful with finding anything and assisting with any request. She is the best!!! It is a short walk to the main part of the old city and the beach is literally beside the hotel. When I return to Barcelona, I will consider staying nowhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to enjoy the views of the city and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWBCN, Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hi there,

Thank you so much for recommending W Barcelona and for complimenting our talent! We take allot of pride in delivering a very high standard of service to our guests and nothing beats receiving fantastic feedback from an SPG lifetime platinum member!

Please let me know if I can assist you with anything for a future stay.

See you next time!

All the best,

Badr Bennis
Hotel Manager
badr.bennis@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel was very nice and we were well treated by all the staff. The big problem here is the crime happening around the hotel. The people walking in front of us were robbed by a gang of gypsies. Police seem helpless to cope with these thieving people. After our experience we did not feel safe walking outside this hotel. Don't let it happen to you. Travelers beware! The police regularly drive their cars along the beach, however this does nothing to stop the problem. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWBCN, Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We were glad to note that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel.

As you may be aware the hotel features 24-hour security to ensure the safety of our guests at all times.

Whilst theft does occur in Barcelona, please note that local police do make a concerted effort to ensure that it is controlled and kept to a minimum.

All the best,

Badr Bennis
Hotel Manager
badr.bennis@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Beautiful hotel, modern architecture, excellent service, close to everything, Restaurants, Beach, Museums. and historical places. It's quite a landmark for Barcelona.
Expensive but unbeatable in service and amenities.
Definitely a place to consider.

Room Tip: your have sea views all along the hotel, but the best it's the view to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWBCN, Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello Luis,

Thanks for your positive review!

Glad you enjoyed your stay at our "landmark" property.

See you next time!

All the best,

Badr Bennis
Hotel Manager
badr.bennis@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arrived at 8:00 a.m. Due to a red eye flight. They allowed us to check into our room right away! Thank you !!!! The room was amazing huge comfortable bed that looked out of a glass wall directly at the Caribbean Sea - nice touch !!! Directly on the beautiful beach , close to many restaraunts. Within walking distance to the overhead tram. Can't really think of anything negative - would recommend for sure!!!!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWBCN, Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hi there,

Thanks for your great review and for recommending W Barcelona!

We loved reading your description of our W Signature bed, they definitely are a heavenly experience!

We look forward to your next visit!

All the best,

Badr Bennis
Hotel Manager
badr.bennis@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#71 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.