We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong with W” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Barcelona

Save Saved
You added W Barcelona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Barcelona
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain (La Barceloneta)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #58 of 518 hotels in Barcelona
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong with W”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location of this hotel was great. It is right on the beach with beautiful views. The staff are very nice. The Pool is beautiful, but busy. Service was really high! Would go back again!

Only con was that check-in and out were busy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,863 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,659
    760
    249
    114
    81
See reviews for
368
1331
115
424
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Its a bit Ibiza trashy, kitschy, hip and trendy, a bit high-end Las Vegas, LA madness with a bit of new money bad taste mixed in. As the newest and shiniest hotel in Barcelona, my partner wanted to stay here. After a week of activity holiday in the Pyrenees I thought 3 nights of luxury would be a treat. The W is a seriously fun hotel, every day it is thronged with guests and general sightseers who walk from one end of the beach to the other. Its always busy and noisy in the lobby. Friday and Sunday night the place is packed and even though we were on the side away from the pool we could still hear the dance music. Only just and it was ok as the music is good. It is fun to people watch as the models file up to Eclipse ogled by sad men clutching beers in the lobby. It is a nocturnal hotel. The decor really works in the night. The red walls and carpeted corridors look bizarre in the daylight. There is piped music - sometimes minus bass everywhere. We had a fabulous room and the view was amazing. The room was very comfortable if a little contrived i.e. there is a light installation to change to suit your mood. Except when we walked into the room, the maintenance guy was fixing it and it never worked.
To get to the centre of Barcelona needs a taxi ride which is around 6/7 euros. You can walk it once if you really want and never do it again!
A little confusion at check-in we were told we had breakfast included and thought we should check again as we have been caught out before at other hotels and then over how many bottles of mineral water you are given free daily - is it one or three? Who knows?
We enjoyed the pool (finding a bed was tough) and beach.The pool is not heated which is annoying but I can see why they did that. Its a small and popular area. This is the hottest time of year and yet you could only stay in ten minutes maximum before shivering. The loungers by the pool get snapped up really early - we got there at 9.30 and all the towels were down, no beds or cabanas to be had. So the alleged "Germans" will make an early morning raid to make sure they get their towels and then arrive around "suits me o'clock" which is seriously uncool. There are more beds on the beach and its a private area just for guests.
The W is a big party hotel, where the beautiful people come out at night. Just don't expect to be next to one at the pool. It's the usual middle-aged people and small children. The pool staff are very attractive but they would be wouldn't they? In fact, all the staff are young and friendly and beautiful. Where do they hide the older management or do they get moved on to another part of the Starwood group. Does it use "Logans Run" as the hotel staffing model or do they just get partied out eventually?
The W Barcelona was good as it was really hot and we could escape to the beach after the city but not really us. We are more Intercontinental/Mandarin Oriental people, don't drink, have a 7 year-old so can't use the club but I can see the appeal for others. It is a lot of fun.
If you are the kind of person who needs to bring your LV or Hermes bag to the beach, book it Danno. Me, I am a Celine handbag kinda of girl. And I don't bring it to the beach.

Room Tip: Take the sea view side if you don't want to hear club music at the pool - there is a pool party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked and paid for a 'Cool Corner Suite' in advance. We requested a 'high floor' although it stipulated this couldn't be guaranteed. Upon arrival we were informed we had been given the first floor, we made it obvious immediately that this wouldn't be acceptable, unfortunately no higher floors were available, but was assured we would be moved the next day, which we were moved to the 16th floor at 16:00. Given that these suites are €900 per night there should have been some recompense as the first floor suite was far inferior to the 16th floor.

The 16th floor suite allocated smelt of smoke, but given we had already complained did nothing to report this and the views from this suite were by far superior to the first floor.

There was no table in this €900 per night suite as shown on the website photos, we used three small tables/stools to eat and drink on.

On the whole the housekeeping let this hotel down on almost every level, not replenishing the shoe cleaning kit (which had been used by the previous guests) or other 'personal' items. On Sunday 24th the room still had not been serviced by 15:30, not acceptable for a €900 suite.

On the days that were sunny there was a 'bun fight' for the sun loungers, clearly not enough for this five star hotel. The staff at the Wet Bar were friendly, but on every occasion we had to get our own drinks from the bar, on one occasion we had to wait for an ice bucket, as the staff were allowing people to use all the ice for the popular 'challenge' on facebook.

We had a constant problem with the key card, having to report this to reception which was always extremely busy.

After all the above we requested to speak to a Duty Manager on Sunday 24th but no senior management were on duty. We were offered a complimentary breakfast, which we accepted. However to reiterate this Five Star Hotel fell well short of our expectations bearing in mind we spent €900 per night for five nights and spent over €900 on extras.

Room Tip: Beware when booking a 'Cool Corner Suite' as the first floor fell well short of our expectat...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Located in the city of nightlife, this hotel is awesome!. When we check in it literally live up our holiday mood & the rest of our Europe destination. This hotel have 2 restaurant where you can have your breakfast, lunch & dinner. It have a W Lounge, W Lounge carnovsky graphics, eclipse bar north/ south & Club. The hotel is located at the beach! The view is magnificent from the restaurant & your room. You can take a walk from the hotel to the beach all the way to the other end where they have a Casino & Club.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Pros

1 - Gorgeous location. Try to get view facing the beach.
2 - local restaurants r actually very good. Make sure u try salt. Great food and great service.
3 room was great we had the harbor view room
4 did I mention location?

Cons
1 Lobby was crowded. Always. Some of the staff at the concierge where not as friendly as others
2 breakfast was lovely but within half hour of closing they were no longer replenishing some of the items
3 checkin was crowded with no distinction for spg good/platinum

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and truly one of the worse experiences ever. For a start, the hotel lobby was a complete mess, half an hour wait to get our keys in the lobby fit looking enough for a 3 star hotel and one that looks like a bad 70s discotheque. It was small,busy and unfit for a 5 star hotel foyer. The queue was painful, hotel guests on edge and frustrated. When we finally got to the staff, our rooms weren't ready and were told to come back or wait in the bar. We did just that, only returning a few hours later to face another queue, this time a circus.

It was also completely overpriced, apart from the views, there is nothing much to go for at this price. The red corridor was like 'hell', you could hardly see a thing and although the rooms are moderately ok, the lighting was just as bad. Worse of all, is the bed in our room, it was so uncomfortable and lumpy that you just sank into it. We hardly slept. For goodness sake, surely they would have gotten the bed right at least!!!!

The poolside was another blunder. No seats or beds were available from as early as 7am, towels left on the chairs to patrons that showed up much later. Staff at the beach too remained unattentive and it took us over 15 minutes to get a drink and salad ordered and another 20 minutes before it came.

Overall, it was dismal. It is not fitting in anyway for a 5 star hotel. We have travelled extensively staying at many 5 star hotels, other Ws included but this tops the list as the worse experience ever. For 350 euros a night, you would want to consider putting it into a nicer place elsewhere. Don't just pay for the views, it's really not
worth it!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I recently stayed in the W Hotel, Barcelona. It was an important trip for me as i intended to ask my girlfriend to marry me that weekend, so wanted everything to be perfect.

I had stayed in the W Hotel Barcelona once before (a few years ago) and whilst i was unfortunate with the rooms available, once i complained i got the room i had booked and everything was resolved.

This time i didn't want to risk anything going wrong, so i emailed customer services at W Barcelona first. That email triggered the best experience i have ever had from a hotel, ever.

I dealt with Pep Malla and Nuria Berdonces. Both of them were the consummate professionals. I had some requests (such as making sure i had the king bed that i had booked, hoping for a higher floor for better views etc.) and nothing was too much for them. Their email responses to me were very fast, very helpful and very friendly. When i arrived, they had clearly asked the check in staff to make sure that everything was perfect, and it was.

The hotel room itself was amazing and our entire stay was faultless. However i wanted to highlight the customer service that i received as this is what has guaranteed that i will visit the W Barcelona many times in the future.

Pep, Nuria, thank you so much i will never forget the service.

Regards,
Michael

p.s. sorry it has taken a few months to write this!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 7th floor. The sea and city view is the best (in my opinion) as staring out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#36 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#88 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.