We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 30th Birthday trip to Remember:)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W Barcelona to your Saves list
W Barcelona
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain (Barceloneta)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A 30th Birthday trip to Remember:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband took me to the W Barcelona for my 30th birthday and our experience was unreal! From the location, to the hotel service, to the unforgettable spa experience, to the handful of spot on restaurants, this place is where it’s at in Barcelona! The staff really cares about you needs and that is so important in my opinion. The hotel is located right on the beach, allowing for lounging in their chairs on the sand, or you can also spend the day lounging poolside with drink and food services. If you want to explore the city, you can take a walk along the boardwalk and check out all the nice little restaurants and bars. We took the hop on hop off bus and toured the city which is a great way to get around for cheap, and see all the famous sites and shopping districts. Barcelona is such a beautiful and romantic city, and the W complements it so well. The Bliss spa is a must! This was my first experience with a W hotel, and I am totally hooked!

Room Tip: Sea View or Harbour View rooms both offer amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,095
    911
    300
    138
    96
See reviews for
445
1,592
140
563
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had a great time at the W Barcelona, staff were friendly, the pool area was clean and had great views. The rooms were amazing and the bed was very comfy.

Breakfast was very expensive, but there are a number of bars close by if you just want something light.

Had a great time and Barcelona is a fantastic city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

W Barcelona is a striking building and in a wonderful location with the Mediterranean and port on one side and Barcelona City laid out on the other, our check in was slightly delayed, there was an hour delay for the room but we were given a complimentary drink, 1 beer and 1 Bacardi and Coke were ordered and then re-ordered as the complementary drink only allowed beer or wine!!!! As we sat in the bar area it was clear the W's market clientele is wealthy young go getters, we're in our early forties and I felt decidedly old, the young man from New York at the next table seemed to relish the negotiations regarding his new car "$70000 yes sir 70, not 17, 7 0 thousand dollars" we looked through the bar menu and decided €12 euro for a beer and €8 for a coffee was a little exuberant. Once our room on the 18th floor was ready we caught the lift up and can only describe the room as jaw dropping, ultra modern, in keeping with the exterior, one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in, hidden subtle lighting and purpose designed furniture, frosted glass toilet and shower doors ensure you feel closer as a couple when you leave than when you arrived!!! There were two complimentary bottles of water and then two with €4.50 price tags, one bathrobe hanging in the shower and one in the wardrobe with a €50 label on it, the cocktail tray was laid out with the ingredients to make 3 cocktails, the cost however would be €78 if you opened all three bottles, when you book a room as room only they weren't kidding, oh and WiFi is €19 a day, the only thing missing from the room was coffee making facilities, not uncommon on the continent I know, but at this level I'd have expected one. As breakfast in the W is €32 each we walked the short distance along the promenade to a little beach side restaurant which serves fantastic coffee at €1.80 and does a decent range of sandwiches, pastries etc for breakfast. We walked from the hotel into Barcelona old city, and along La Rambla, took about 45 minutes of ambling in the heat to get there but the walk is flat and easy to follow as there is very good signage. The beach was very busy during the day which I'd have expected at this time of year, my wife spotted several nude sunbathers of the middle aged male variety who were happy to bask in all there glory amongst the families on the beach, it would put us off bringing our kids here but it must be a British thing as the other beach goers weren't too fussed. In the evening we used the restaurants along the beach promenade, basing our choice on where the locals were eating, reasonable prices and great service Tapa Tapa being our favourite. The view from the room was interesting we overlooked the port side and watched the cruise ships coming and going.
Housekeeping was a bit hit and miss, two days out of the 4 we were there they didn't get to us until after 6pm and as we were getting showered and changed ready for dinner it was a bit awkward hanging about whilst they made the bed!!!

We had a wonderful time in Barcelona it's a fantastic city and the W is a stunning hotel but it doesn't match up to its promise and against other 4 and 5 star hotels I've stayed at is left wanting.

Pros
Location
Style
Design
Status

Cons
Prices for extras that should be included
Service

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible to enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBarcelona, Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear DNW1969,

thank you for your time and for shareing your experience with the resto of the travellers community. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was good, and of course we took good note of the areas where we can improve our service and failities. Rest assuered that we will take action where needed.

Thank you again for staying with us an I hope to have the chance to welcome you back to W Barcelona.

All the best,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the W Barcelona in May 2014 and had a fantastic experience. This was our 10th Starwood stay so the very welcoming person on the front desk upgraded us to a junior suite.. great customer service. Room was out of this world - wrap around sea views, huge tub in the bedroom (in the bedroom!!), and wonderful king size bed.

Location could put off some given that it's a 20 minute walk to the centre, but we had a couple days at this hotel and then a couple days at Le Meridien on La Rambla so we could have both a beach and city experience. Pool side bar is very cool.. lots of beautiful people hanging out. Rooftop bar offers great views of the sea and city.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is the second time we visited the W Hotel, and the stay this time was even better than last time! We were greeted at the reception and was kindly given a drinks voucher to enjoy some cocktails while we waited to check in which was a lovely treat! The room was just as wonderful as before and even better the hotel kindly treated us to complimentary prosecco in our room on the first evening which was a great way to start the night. Every meal we had was delicious especially the tapas at Bravo, and all the restaurants underneath the hotel. We were able to enjoy the pool and sunbathing area this time as we had such great weather, which was lovely and relaxing and all the waiters and waitresses were great, although you did have to get there fairly early to get a sunlounger! All in all it was a fantastic stay and we really did not want it to end! Hopefully we will be able to return again next year..!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at the W Barcelona in June 2014 as part of a family holiday in Barcelona. Though we have stayed at other W hotels before, this time was different because it was the first time we traveled with our baby daughter (only 5 months old)!

Overall, we loved our experience. It was truly memorable, and staying at the W definitely was a high point of our Barcelona trip.

Positives for this hotel:
1. Incredible architectural landmark, shaped like a giant glass sailboat
2. Excellent service from the W Insider concierge desk (thanks Nuria and Shane)!
3. Food and beverage was high quality with great service overall. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and this hotel achieved (in our opinion) a world record for fastest room service, despite being at full capacity!
4. Views from the room were INCREDIBLE. We received an upgrade to a Cool Corner suite which was ABSOLUTELY STUNNING. There was a view over the Barceloneta beach and the city from the sitting room, and a pristine quiet view over the Mediterranean Sea from the bedroom.
5. Bliss Spa provided excellent service and was a great quiet place to relax.
6. Even though many will view the W brand as being for young people looking for a party, we still thought it was a great experience with baby in tow. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Of course, we couldn't go to the rooftop bar "Eclipse", nor attend the famous weekly pool parties... but the vibe of the hotel is modern, sleek, and sophisticated and there are plenty of quiet spots to enjoy family time.

A few minuses:
1. Location, while great for the beach, is not very convenient for touring the city landmarks such as Sagrada Familia, etc. We stayed at a different hotel as a home base for city tours (Le Meridien Barcelona, also an excellent hotel).
2. The pool and deck is tiny compared to the size of the hotel - would be better if it were bigger.
3. The first room we checked into (Mega Room) looked a little tired - a couple of carpet stains, strange odor in the room
4. One morning we arrived for the breakfast buffet just a few mins before closing time. The curtains to the buffet area were still open. Once we were seated at our table, the staff closed the curtains to the buffet and we were firmly told it was closed. We had to order a la carte from a quite limited breakfast menu. This was disappointing, and seemed unaccommodating given that the buffet was open when we arrived.
5. The check-in process was a bit slow, and the front desk was chaotic - likely because the hotel was very busy when we visited. The staff appeared to be doing their best to handle the crowd though.

While there were a few tiny minuses, overall our experience was so "W"onderful that I would still rate it 5 stars. This is our favourite W hotel in the world, second only to W Hong Kong.

Room Tip: If you can afford the upgrade to a suite, go for it - the views are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is a nice hotel and I love it's beach location, but when I booked it, I knew nothing about W hotels. They are young, trendy, hip and loud! I'm 38 so don't think of myself as too old, but I won't be going back. Around the pool area, I felt like I was in a bar in Ibiza. Also the pool and bar waiters around the pool were not 5 star hotel standard. I asked one where the towels were, he pointed!! Then the pool bar waiters walked around constantly without making eye contact with guests, as if to avoid selling them drinks. It was very frustrating. Five star hotel guests get used to a certain standard and this place doesn't have it. The rooms are fresh, clean and modern, but maybe too modern as the toilet is a frosted glass door, so not too private. My final complaint was the top floor bar. We went in for the second time at about 7pm before dinner, when it was very quiet. We sat at the bar, as we prefer bar seating, only to be told by the barman we had to move!!! Why?? So we were moved to a bench, where we felt like we were waiting for a bus. After 60 seconds we decided to leave!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear andreaeatsall,

I am very sorry to read that W Barcelona was not to your expectations or the type of hotel you were looking for. However, the issues you mentioned about the service have already been forwarded to the Head of Departments so they can take the appropiate corrective actions immediately.

In the event that you decide to reconsider and stay with us again, I do encourage you to reach out to me directly at the Executive Office email address at elisabeth.vilardell@whotels.com.
All the best,

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#44 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#64 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.