We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Personal Service, Slow Internet Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added W Barcelona to your Saves list
W Barcelona
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #61 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Amazing Personal Service, Slow Internet Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the W this past Winter to celebrate our anniversary and it was everything we hoped it would be. The design and location of the hotel were great, but what made it that much more amazing was the attention of the staff. Galia from the Whatever/Whenever department was very kind and with her help, I was able to completely surprise my fiance. AND, for an unforgettable anniversary treat - she even gave us a better room with better views!

Only downside was the wireless internet - it was slow and expensive.

Otherwise, it was a great trip. Thank you, Galia!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,869
    841
    276
    127
    87
See reviews for
406
1,471
127
494
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bhopal, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Was there in October 2012 for a conference.
The rooms are quite well specious and with nice view of the sea.
The corridors are not that impressive.
Overall experience was excellent.
the courtyard attached to the hotel out side is amazing place to sit out and enjoy the evening

Room Tip: Higer floors are more scenic and would suggest to go with that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel operates very much at the top of the market, and so details that would be glossed over in a more modest hotel, caused some detraction from what otherwise would have been a wonderful stay. First the really good points. Every member of staff that we met was a credit to the hotel..charming, well trained, efficient, and clearly (and justifiably) proud of their hotel. The building itself is startling, and superbly equipped. Flying in, it was easy to spot a remarkable building. We did not eat in the hotel except for breakfasts, but those were excellent, fresh, but possibly a little expensive. The concerns that we had were, perhaps, a result of going for occupancy levels over maintenance. The shower head bracket was falling off, the carpets were stained, the soft furnishing was stained, the styled bed side shelves were worn through. But the most annoying and persistent problem was that we endured a day and a half of hammering as the room next door was refurbished. In a hotel at this level, they should have taken the adjoining rooms "off line"....it's what justifies the premium price.
And, PLEASE, stop trying to charge €4 for every bottle of mineral water that is left automatically in the room every day. We ended up with a tray full of full bottles which were reflected in the final invoice until we mentioned that we had not touched them. A silly bit of inertia marketing.
Would we go back....yes, for sure. But we would check the invoice!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in this hotel over Christmas 2012, I found the initial welcome very poor. The modern twist on the bathroom is interesting-might as well just remove the door altogether! Room service was poor. Very overpriced. Apart from the view I can't think of much else to recommend it. Don't waste your time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear barrie g,

I was very sorry to read that we were not able to meet your expectations on this occasion. Please accept my sincere apologies for that.

We would appreciate the opportunity to personally contact you in order to investigate further your comments concerning the welcoming experience and the In-room dinning. If you could send us a brief e-mail with more details to our Executive Office at elisabeth.vilardell@whotels.com, it will be very helpful for us.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel is just amazing!! no words about this!! so luxurious!!Beautiful and high class peoples inside!! good staff, friendly etc etc!!! view of barcelona is the best!!! recomendet to stay one night at least !!! Loung bar have so cool drinks and coctails and the view is so beautiful!!!

Room Tip: choose a room with view of barceloneta playa better not port of barcelona
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel had all the makings and trimmings, including amazing views of the port, which has made it worthy of a return visit. We found the spacious layout of the room and powerful shower two of the design highlights that were given extra consideration. Was a a bit of a long stroll to the town center though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the W for my 40th birthday and had an amazing time. Having read so much about the hotel in advance I was excited to see it first hand. We we're not disappointed. An upgrade saw us on the 5th floor with excellent views of the beach and port. The room was massive and very modern. Contrary to other reviews we found the layout to be superb and we spent a good 20 minutes checking out the facilities. We booked into Bravo24 for dinner which was incredible. Food, service & wine were all great. The staff had very kindly brought over a little cake and also we had 2 bottles of cava with a birthday greeting in the room. Very modern, very chic and would love to come back sometime soon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#46 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#86 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.