We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added W Barcelona to your Saves list
W Barcelona
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #62 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

You can't beat this hotel for proximity to the beach and several good restaurants, and one of the best clubs in the city is on its top floor. Amazing view from my room. Very friendly staff. A convenient Bliss spa downstairs. Lots of outdoor space for drinks and dining. The reasons I can't give it 5 stars are my non-smoking room smelling strongly of smoke the entire time (which they unsuccessfully attempted to cover with a lava-lamp like deodorizing device), including the bath towels, and the room wasn't completely clean (food crumbs from prior guest, stains on furniture).

Room Tip: Higher floors are better for the views, but they put you closer to the top floor club and you can he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,880
    843
    277
    127
    87
See reviews for
408
1,476
127
495
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Fantastic hotel with classic W style - great location on the beach with stunning sea views from every room, but only 5 minutes by taxi to the centre of the city. Got to be the place to stay in Barcelona - which is an amazing place!

Room Tip: Ask for the beach side rather than the port side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

If anyone is worried about visiting Barcelona due to the high level of crime then might I suggest spending your money and a lot of it staying at the W hotel in Barcelona with its massive size and it’s impressive grounds and levels of entertainment and 5 star service and let’s not forget the WOW factor this Hotel is by far the best in Barcelona and very safe and has everything you need without going into that crap hole of a city. To avoid muggings and thefts on trains and metro systems I suggest spending the money you most likely will have stolen from you anyway on a driver and car service to and from the hotel. Always remember that if you’re not willing to spend the money for your own safety and pleasure then you should problem stay home and not become another victim of Barcelona. And yes everything is expensive in this town and when I say everything I mean everything. If it looks like fun or looks nice its expensive.

Room Tip: Get a high up floor and yes if its not that busy ask how much the upper floors (top floors) penthous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Our stay at the W Hotel was great. Stunning interior, a calm exclusive feel and excellent service. Most definitely one of the best hotels I've stayed in.The only negative I can find was the breakfast - brilliant staff, but somewhat boring (and expencive) food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I recently had the opportunity to stay at the W Barcelona before our honeymoon cruise on the Celebrity Solstice out of Barcelona. This place has it all: hip energy, excellent amenities, and very comfortable, extremely clean rooms, all of which have amazing views. If we had the means (we could only afford one night), we would have stayed longer, however, it is a good cab ride away from the typical tourist areas of Barcelona (Las Ramblas, the Barri Gotic, etc). It was very easy to get to the port, though; it was the perfect place to sleep off out jet lag, grab a delicious meal close by, and take a beautiful beachfront walk. We hope to return!!!

Room Tip: Worth the price if you want chic and young!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend recently, my second visit.

A super hotel, great rooms with fantastic views over the beach and beyond. Service is excellent and staff attentive but not overbearing.

The Eclipse bar is worth a visit for the cocktails.

Room Tip: The higher the better view, ask for beachside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The hotel definitely has a great location, fantastic views and maybe the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. Also the food in the Wave restaurant (both for breakfasts and lunch) was fresh and delicious.
The services I experienced unfortunately were not always 5stars - starting with mess-ups at reservation department and business center, ending with cleaning. Everybody of course apologized for the problems, but it definitely makes you think twice before coming to this expensive hotel again.
The toilet (as mentioned already by other travellers) is only divided from the room by a glass wall/doors, so I would think twice before choosing this hotel for a romantic getaway for freshly in-love people :)
To sum up - I recommend this hotel in case you get a great price deal.
I would love to be excited after an expensive stay in a 5star hotel in Barcelona - my impression was "good, but you should still work on it"

Room Tip: With my colleagues, we had 7 different rooms and all had excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#86 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.