We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig de Gracia, 38-40, 08007 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #26 of 519 hotels in Barcelona
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is the first time staying at a Mandarin Oriental hotel, which is why anytime I need a Five Star hotel it will be with the Mandarin Oriental chain. My wife and I were very impressed with the all of the staff, always there to help you and so knowledgable. Staff in restaurant were there for you if you even thought of something you needed. Dining was out of this world, as well as the decor in rooms and hotel. We stayed there 4 days and traveled north but altering our plans to go back and stay our last 2 days. We could mention names of special staff but would not because we'd leave someone out, what training by management. Beautiful hotel in a great shopping area in a great city.
JC, Gainesville, Florida

Room Tip: What showers they have in all the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    83
    35
    20
    9
See reviews for
77
244
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Great location, great service, great design. Just a shame that the double glazed windows don't seem to work. I stay in a boulevard side room and the window might as well have been open the noise was the same. Strange that a hotel that was quite recently built wouldn't use triple glazed window as the noise from the traffic is quite bad!

On another note Moments restaurant is fantastic. As are the concierge, every recommendation was perfect, just what we had asked for. All the staff were very friendly. Breakfast was also really good, really good Buffett and perfect cooked breakfast. I've stayed in a few MO hotels, Barcelona certainly has the best chefs and friendliest staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed for only 1 night in July, 2012.

I was pleased with this hotel choice. Of the several top-end options in Barcelona, the MO seems to be the clear winner if you want to be in the city (as opposed to being at or near the beach area.

The MO is situated right in the prime area on Passeig de Gracia, which is a huge asset. It is in the midst of all sorts of great shopping, restaurants and one fo the Gaudi houses. The location can't be beat.

The hotel is VERY contemporary, but well done (as compared, for e.g. a 'W', which generally feel cheap and Ikea-like to me). Out room was spacious and well appointed. Cocktail serviceright to the room was complimentary with our suite...a nice touch. The staff at the Concierge desk is very good. Suites also have butler service, which was quite helpful. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, and I have no complaints there.

the roof top pool deserves special mention. It is small, but designed in a very cool, contemporary, out-door space with very cool city views looking out beyond a gorgeous rooftop pool. Very nice spot.

My only complaint with the the MO is that the views to "the garden" are not all that desirable. Basically you are overlooking the outdoor space in the back of the hotel, which includes a somewhat unattractive collection of the backs of buildings. It's not terrible, but not a beautiful view to look at either.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This property is about location, location, location. There are building works now in November in the building next door, so ask when you check-in for a quiet room if that is of concern to you. The spa needs a refit in the pool area (or a good clean). Rooms to international standard and comfortable. Streetside rooms can be very noisy also at nighttime so ask for a garden room.

Room Tip: Take a garden view room, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Never stayed in Mandarin in my life before!! and this was my first time!! i got upgraded when i do the check in!!! everything is super fine the only things was little disappointment is room #102 is on the Passeig de Gràcia, so there was some noise

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I was excited to stay at this hotel. Then I arrived. We were met by a strangely rude front desk - possibly the rudest I have ever encountered. The room looked (to me) like a W (at MO prices). I found the view from our terrace depressing. We had just come from the club floor at the Hotel Arts -- where I will happily stay the next time I am in lovely Barcelona. Note: their signature restaurant is open for a little more than 2/3 of the week.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great hotel, great restaurant "Le Blanc", great spa where I surprised to find a PEDI:MANI:CURE Studio by Bastien Gonzalez ! a pedicure and a massage with a french podiatrist ... fantastic...
A beautiful hotel in the heart of the city, good location, ...

Hope come back soon !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Address: Passeig de Gracia, 38-40, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona is an elegant, contemporary hotel in the heart of the avant-garde city's celebrated Passeig de Gracia. Located in a renovated mid-20th century building, this 98-room hotel, offers exceptional services and facilities including an award-winning spa, innovative dining at Blanc Brasserie & Gastrobar and two Michelin-starred dining by Carme Ruscalleda, within an exquisite interior created by world renowned Spanish designer Patricia Urquiola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.