We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Outstanding"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig de Gracia, 38-40 | Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Palma de Mallorca, Islas Baleares, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“"Outstanding"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had a great stay in Barcelona and the superb service in the Oriental has completed the stay. Not only is the staff polite and always have a natural smile for you, they also really care and remember things you tell them. This is not unusual for Asian Luxury Hotels but here in Europe we have rarely received such an outstanding service.

Room Tip: Upper floors with a view to the courtyard. You do not notice that you are in THE city center of Barc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGPMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A very foot hotel. Top service. I was a bit nervous about going with my 6 year old as I've never stayed at this chain of hotels before. The staff made us very welcome and gave my daughter lots of attention. The concierge was a great help. We chose a junior suite as it has a kind of separate bit with a separate bed. You get a butler on suite level and the lady was superb.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmbSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Mandarin Oriental has a well deserved reputation for phenomenal service. Our plane was canceled about 12 hours before we were supposed to go to the airport and we had to stay in Spain for another 2.5 days.

I was pretty upset and worried about when we would get back. So the concierge's desk called the airline, stayed on hold for 2 hours and helped us re-book the best flight we could get. Then when we wanted to go to Madrid with the extra time, they booked us the transportation, a room at a modestly priced hotel in Madrid and held a room for us in Barcelona for the night before our new flight went out. When we arrived back late the night before leaving, we had a very warn welcome for the staff, and our bags were already in our rooms. (We had taken just small shoulder bags and left most of the luggage at the hotel.)

And besides that, this is a pretty new hotel, right in the middle of everything in Barcelona -- and easy walking or short cab distance from all the major sites.

We loved the place even before they helped out with our issues.

It is very expensive, but worth the price to us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvaS125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idf
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

stayed there first week early august . After a few (english language) dificulties in making myself understood during booking , turned out to be an excellent experience.
Very well located in the centre of town on passeig de gracia.
Suites benefit of the service of a butler who proved very full of attention in satisfying our queries of all kinds.
Excellent concierge desk also to help us find our way.
Also very good quality of equipment in the hotel and nice spa but staff service mindedness was really great.

Room Tip: terrace suites are not worth the price (long room with what is in fact a balcony) Try obtain Penthou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rktripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Superb location, very tasty decoration, best staff I've stayed with, but for 600 Eur/Night, the smallest and crampiest room I had to stay in, except for the Greek jailhouse back in Mytilini.

Bear in mind that there is a noisy construction going on right next-door for at least another year. Ask for a room facing the front facade (Pg. Gracia), much less noise that way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onurmeral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here a while back and loved it. I went back and it was just as great. The service and location as well as the concierge (who sorted me out with a barca ticket when I told them how badly I wanted to see the one and only Messi). All in all, fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Obi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

What a delightful hotel! Beautiful building in fantastic location to access the very best of Barcelona. Theatrical entrance and a lovely blend of new and old architecture. Impeccable service with a special mention to Maria on the front desk and the concierge who offered excellent advice all the way down to the recommendation of an espresso cocktail in the Dry Martini bar. The highlight was an afternoon sunbathing (in October!!) on the roof top with the occasional dip in the roof top pool and rounded off with a beautiful lunch on the sun beds!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#59 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 4,543 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#2 of 519 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#9 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#40 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 3,300 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Address: Passeig de Gracia, 38-40 | Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#16 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona is an elegant, contemporary hotel in the heart of the avant-garde city's celebrated Passeig de Gracia. Located in a renovated mid-20th century building, this 120-room hotel, offers exceptional services and facilities including an award-winning spa, innovative dining at BistrEau by Angel Leon and two Michelin-starred dining by Carme Ruscalleda, within an exquisite interior created by world renowned Spanish designer Patricia Urquiola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Mandarin Oriental, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#