We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the prices” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Namaste

Restaurante Namaste
C/ Villaroel 70, 08011 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
+34 934 51 40 27
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,512 of 6,966 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $16 - $27
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Eixample
Description: Namaste is traditional Hindu restaurant known for the quality of its food. It uses a traditional Hindu oven in which it roasts meat and fish, as well as baking its bread and poppadoms. It serves traditional Hindu food with a wide variety of dishes including meats, fish, vegetables and pulses. There are also daily specialities. The restaurant also offers a take-away service.
Padua, Veneto, Italy
1 review
“Not worth the prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We've found the restaurant and the staff a little sly... At first we wanted to take just a single menu (19€) to share between us, instead of 2 "menu del dia" (12,5€ each), because we were not that hungry, but the staff said that it was not possible and "forced" us to take the 2 separate menu...ok, not a big problem. The food was mediocre, nothing special, except for the fruit salad that was terrible, made of syrup fruits, not fresh ones. We eat just half of the food (was too much for us, as expected), than, as it was part of the menu we took, they offer us tea... We took the tea and drink just few sips, then we discovered that wasn't included.. 4€ completely wasted for a total of 30€ for a bad lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My favorite indian restaurante in barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Make shure you don't say hot please, because they really know how to make hot indian if you like it, if not they can also make milder. What ever you ask for, everything is delicious

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

nothing great. interiors are tacky and the staff and management try too hard to please you.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yummy Indian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Had nice evening there.. The aubergine dish was spectacular.. The chicken curry wasn't bad either! The wine selection wasn't bad n was good value for money!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
91 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

The food is not bad (the korma we had was too sweet but we also had a lamb that was quite good, I forget the name). It would be a good deal if the total price per person had worked out to 15 or 18 euros, but the truth is that it is hard to keep it under 25, and that is too much for a place like this. Besides, the waiters kept pestering us to buy more food than we wanted, which was very annoying, and when they brought the bill, they explicitly told us to leave a tip and write down the amount, something that is just not done in Spain and made us more uncomfortable. I'm not planning to return anytime soon.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Namaste also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurante Namaste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Namaste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.